We Build People: YMCA

At our office meeting this week, we had visitors from the Smyrna North Rutherford YMCA.  Right now there are 11,000 members and at least 31% of these receive some form of financial assistance.  Membership rates are on a sliding scale based on income.

Here are some upcoming programs that your family might be interested in:

  • Healthy Kids Day- April 12th 10-2pm all ages welcome
  • Summer Blitz- May 10th 2-6pm Youth ages 11-17

Perhaps one of my favorite programs that I saw was the YMCA Teen Room where kids can get together  to participate in activites.  Teen nights are held quarterly for ages 13-18 at the Y.  Free soft drinks, pizza, dancing, music and fun… like a floating movie. I can’t remember the cute name they had for it, but kids sit in the floats in the swimming pool and watch movies.  The floating movie!

In addition, I learned the Y is readying the youth soccer league for LaVergne. The cost will be $45 to $50 for non-members.  You can contact Katye Hendricks at 220-9622 for more information about these programs. 

Off the beaten path, though, did you know counseling is offered at the YMCA for as low as $10 p/session.  Outside counseling can run from $100 to $200 p/session. 

Another program called “Journey to Freedom” will begin on April 22 for a cost of $65 p/person.  According to the brochure it is an 8-week study group on how to change.

Journey to Freedom uses inspiring stories of how people overcame life-controlling obstacles to create a better life. It teaches methods that anyoen can use to improve any aspect of their spirit, mind, and body!”

If you have a chance, stop by for a visit!  Since they’ve put in the light on Sam Ridley, it’s a lot easier to reach!

2 Responses

  1. they need an outdoor pool…. but other than that, i love the Y here.

  2. hello,
    i was wondering if you could issue a guest pass for my 2 cousins, more like sisters to me really, from Calahoo Alberta Canada. We were raised together in the 50s, 60s, and 70s and they are gracing me with a weeks visit. I wish to not miss my 2 yoga classes that week though, and thought it would be a thrill for them to be able to look around and have a steam bath while I do my class. (There are no such things as Y’s in Calahoo), It sure would be great. Let me know.
    Many Thanks,
    Sharon Anderson

Leave a comment