I’m Not a Doctor, but…

I acknowledge that I’m not a medical expert and I have no degree of any type in any medical field or profession, but I have an observation to make.

My clock says it’s 2:29 a.m. right now.  I’m up because for the third night in a row, I’ve had to give my daughter a breathing treatment because of her asthma.  She hasn’t had any serious breathing treatments like this in three years.  I woke up Sunday morning at 3:00 a.m. and again at 6:00 a.m.  At 6 o’clock, her lips had turned blue and the nebulizer kept her from going to the E.R.

My friend who is a nurse said her sister’s childhood asthma is back this year.  As a far less serious side-effect, my own allergies this year have been crazy.  Constant sneezing, runny nose.  Has anyone else experienced these problems?  Is it because of our drought  causing pollens and dusts to stay in the air?

It’s 2:35 a.m. and I’m going back to bed now.  I hope I won’t be up again in a few hours to do another breathing treatment.

3 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness! I’ve been experiencing breathing difficulties myself. My asthma is really starting to act up. I’ve been stubborn about using my inhaler. I believe it is due to the lack of rain. All the pollen and dust in the air, not to mention how hot it’s been. We’ve been on an air quality alert for a few days now. I certainly hope she doesn’t have to attend an E. R. session!.!.!.

  2. I’ll be praying for you guys, Kathy. Living in the “dust bowl” can be hard in times like this. Hopefully with the rain the last few days we can all breathe a sigh of relief.

    My son and I are sneezing, watering, and coughing like crazy. Upped the antihistimines too, so look out on the road.

  3. Since I got back from San Francisco on Friday, my allergies have gone crazy. I could see the haze in the air as we descended into Nashville and I thought there might be trouble ahead. I feel horrible today. Hoping that the rain helps… please let the rain help!

Leave a Reply

