Committee Volunteer Speaks

This comment was made this evening… buried several pages deep.  But the writer’s experiences as a committee member were important enough that I thought everyone should read it.  So here goes:

I serve on one of the advisory boards, the Stormwater Advisory and Appeals board.  I have to say, it’s not that demanding.  So far, I think we’ve had 3 meetings and 1 banquet that I’ve attended…and I do have a perfect attendance record.  I’ve been on the board for 2 years now. 

Of course, some of the other citizens boards are a bit more demanding, but really, it all comes down to “It’s not what your City can do for you, but what you can do for your city.”

I hope to be able to continue to serve on this board as well as on some of the other boards since my work schedule has changed and I can get to meetings now.

If your kids are a bit older (and well behaved) give them an impromptu real life civics lesson and bring them to some of the meetings and workshops. 

But thanks to every one of you who shares concern about our city.  Officials can’t know what the problems are if we don’t make some noise about them.

Well said and thank you!  I still have my application but the original committee for which I wanted to volunteer no longer needs a member.  But according to Channel 3, members are still needed for Parks &  Rec, Senior Citizens Advisory, Economic Development, and another one or two that I’ve forgotten. 

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for reading my comments. I’m new to this blog, but I definitely will be a regular visitor. I do care about our city and where it is headed. It took a real smack to the head to realize that just maybe I could help do something positive. It’s nice to see the community of this blog where, while we may not always agree with one another, we all have the same goal – that of making La Vergne a great place to live.

    I only wish I’d discovered this place before the NNO and the August workshop so maybe I could have been one more body supporting the positive efforts here.

    Nice to meet all of you and browse your articles and comments.

    joebazots
    (a.k.a. Ernie Branson of Lake Forest)

  2. Channel 3 needs major updating! I applied for the parks and rec committe, but was told that the two positions that are coming open are by two people who want to stay on the board, so they will be re-nominated.

    I was asked that if I do want to serve, to serve on the Beer board, so I agreed. If nothing else, it gave me an opportunity to have a nice conversation with our mayor! Beer board is another board that doesn’t meet regularly, only when a liquor license is applied for. Typically they meet 2-4 times per year.

  3. Michael,

    Actually we do have an opening on the Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee because a member recently resigned. That’s why it is still listed on Channel 3. At the time you applied, there were only two openings and the current members both wanted to remain on the committee.

    Here is a list of boards that we currently need members for:

    – Beer Board (One position is vacant)
    – Economic Development Advisory Committee (One position is vacant)
    – Library Board (Two positions are vacant)
    – Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee (One position is vacant)

    If anyone wants to apply for any of these positions, please fill out an application and send it to me at city hall. Our next council workshop is on August 30th. I need applications before August 29th to be discussed at the workshop.

    If you have previously filled out an application and want to be considered for any of these openings, please contact me and I can put your application up for consideration.

    After every council meeting, I send Channel 3 an updated list of boards and committees that we need members for. I believe Mr. Jerry Davenport (Channel 3 coordinator) will soon be updating the list on Channel 3. I think the only change is the Senior Citizen’s Advisory Committee because someone was appointed last week.

    If anyone has any questions, please feel free to contact me.

    Thanks,

    Bruce Richardson
    City Recorder
    City of La Vergne
    brichardson@lavergne.org

  4. Thanks Bruce, glad to hear channel 3 isn’t that outdated. Any idea why it takes so long to get minutes from the M/A meetings posted to the website?

    Glad to see you on the site, your insight is always appreciated.

  5. Hi Michael,

    I don’t get a chance to visit this site very often, but I’ll try and check it a little more often. I think it is good that citizen’s are wanting to be more involved in the city. I don’t always agree with some of the comments that are made, but I guess that’s normal.

    As far as the minutes are concerned, I don’t post any meeting minutes to the website until after they have been approved by their respective board. I last updated the site about a week ago and at the time everything was up to date.

    The minutes from the June and July council meetings were just approved last Thursday. After I get them signed by the Mayor and scanned into the computer, I’ll get them uploaded as soon as I can.

    Providing minutes and other city documents on the city’s website is an optional service that we started back in the late 1990’s. We are not required by law to provide them on the website. We are required to make them available here at city hall as well as other records that are located here. There are a few types of documents that are not public record, but that’s not really part of this discussion.

    If anyone wants to get a copy of anything, all you have to do is come down to city hall and fill out a request for information form. We will pull the files that are requested and make a copy as soon as we can. We do have to charge a small fee to cover the costs of the copies, and that fee is .25 cents per page.

    Once again, if anyone has any questions, feel free to contact me.

    Bruce Richardson
    City Recorder
    City of La Vergne
    brichardson@lavergne.org

Leave a Reply

