My Restaurant Review: Undecided

My family and I went to the new Ichiban Japanese restaurant in LaVergne this past weekend.  To be honest, I wanted to love it, but I didn’t.  Not yet.  I’m hoping it’s because they’ve just opened so are working through a couple of kinks.

They had a huge buffet, like the former Big Apple Restaurant.  They took out what used to be the party room and added a hot grill with a couple of chefs at your service.  You pick out what you want grilled – they had raw meat (chicken, beef, shrimp, crab), a selection of vegetables, and lo mein noodles.  I put together a combination of shrimp, crab, mushrooms, lo-mein noodles, zucchini and carrots.  The chef asked how I wanted it seasoned (I think) and I said mild (with a little hearing loss, it’s sometimes hard for me to understand the spoken word).  To be honest, I was a little paranoid about whether the chef was going to put it back on the same plate that had the raw meat. 

When I took it back to the table (and I didn’t see the plate he put it on),  I wasn’t crazy about it.  However, my oldest daughter loved it… except she didn’t eat the veggies (she never does, much to my chagrine).  I also tried the California roll sushi because someone finally told me that the California roll is not raw.  It was pretty good until my husband made a funny face which ultimately made me gag.  That ended my venture into sushi.

The buffet was also okay.  It basically filled me up, but nothing was so fantastic that I went for a second helping.  I’ll definitely go back – just to see if they’ve worked through the jitters of grand opening.  Let me know what you think if you go!

2 Responses

  1. My daughter and I went the other day and I agree with Kathy, it was just OK. I too was expecting more. I tried the grill and the cook put A1 sauce on my food. Instant turnoff when I tried it.

    The one area where they made the best improvement was in the sushi area. They had a wide assortment and from what I had, it was all fresh and good.

    I do feel their prices were high for the assortment of items on the different stations. It will take some more improvement before it will match Chef Wang’s in M’boro, which I feel is the best around at the moment.

  2. Kathy,

    I love sushi …now. I wasn’t even exposed to it until culinary school several years ago and one of my chefs made me eat raw salmon. Yes, raw salmon! Straight off the fish! I choked it down and now I love it. There is a GREAT sushi and Thai place in Brentwood called Peter’s. I am hoping to go to Ichiban’s soon and try it and I will report back.

    Will,
    I totally agree with your assessment of Chef Wang’s! They have a great variety and you get what you pay for.

    ChefEleni

Leave a Reply

