$555 from My House

I filled out my census information online and the city made about $555 – or $111 per person.  LaVergne’s fire department was out over the weekend trying to count people who haven’t turned in forms or registered online so the city can earn more state-shared revenue.  It seems there are people who don’t want to be counted, according to the DNJ.  That makes my mind leap to several conclusions:

  1. They’re very private people paranoid about government intrusion.
  2. They don’t understand the importance of a census for the community.
  3. They have something to hide.

Have you been counted?  If not, you can do so online right here

5 Responses

  1. I’ve done mine, but if I’d forgotten, I can promise I wouldn’t have answered the door. If I’m not expecting someone I won’t even peak outside. I’m a single gal with no roommates. Gotta keep safe!

  2. I like the fact that they are using firefighters. I think its funny. Per Asst Chief McKormick, “They’re peeking out the window but not answering. Some are running out to see if their house is on fire and some have run out with money to give us a donation,”

    Soundsgood…firefighters knocking on your door may be a good thing for a single gal…haha.

  3. I’m so glad you posted this reminder. I totally forgot to do mine, and it’s in a pile of mail somewhere on my desk. So it took me less than 30 seconds to complete it from your link!!!

    :)

  4. I sent mine in months ago. I just can’t understand why the city would have the fire dept do this for them.

  5. It’s Government and the city is very lazy so they have someone else do the work for them so they wont have too!!!

Leave a Reply

