Green LaVergne Schedules Clean Up

A group of citizens within the community of LaVergne have organized a group to address keeping La Vergne (The Green) green.  Green La Vergne has scheduled its first clean-up day for Saturday, May 10th at 10:00 a.m.  Anyone interested in helping should meet at the Hurrican Creek Boat Ramp off of Stones River Road.  Bring gloves, trash bags, and water.  In case of rain, the clean-up will be postponed until next weekend.

If you’d like more information or you’d like to join the Green LaVergne group, click here!

11 Responses

  1. Make LaVergne greener let’s start at city hall…..lol

  2. bearroller – you do have a valid point, however, the idea being that we must be the change we want to see. If we start keeping our neighborhoods cleaner, maybe city hall will see that we mean business and make some meaningful changes accordingly as well. I’m thinking I’d like to see curbside recycling in LaVergne. This is the first time in 15 years that I’ve lived in a city that didn’t have it. Maybe you have some ideas on how to get city hall on board with that?

  3. they wont do it for tey dont want to spend any money…they are hiring someone to cut grass for them instead of using the employees they have which that is what they get paid to do. and get paid well. I know most governemnt jobs cushion jobs from what I have been told many yrs now but there is a point. I wish I could sit online all day or drive around in the city trucks and get paid for this. I couldnt live with myself and not do the best job that I could. I work hard at my job and if I have a lazy night then I feel really bad about it.

  4. I hear yah! So can we count you in to help pick up some garbage from the roads in LaVergne and make our neighborhood a nice place to live? nudge, nudge : )

  5. I’ll be there for an hour and a half or so on Saturday. As if I dont’ have enough to do! But I’ll definitely put my volunteerism where my mouth is.

  6. I think we might also need a MySpace account… don’t y’all?

  7. I would love to attend but I am going to work over here on my part of town there are certain reasons I wont be joining you’ll. wish i could but hey that’s life!!

  8. I’ll be there, with bells on! Okay, maybe not the bells. ;)

  9. If I don’t have to go to St. Louis, I’ll join in. Ya’ll call me once in a while, how ’bout it?

    Fact of the matter is that a proactive approach is always better than a reactive approach. What is wrong with taking the beautification of your town into your own hands? Either way, we pay for it through sweat or we pay for it through taxes. Same difference to me only I benefit from being outdoors and among friends the first way. We should form a group that does random acts of beautification. In the middle of the night, of course, because that is way more hilarious.

    But on a serious note, think of how life would be if Bill Gates waited for someone to build a pc?

    Ivy, would those be hells bells?

  10. Ivy, would those be hells bells?

    Natch! :D

  11. yay! I’m so excited over this, yall – and, did you see, on the yahoo group, you can promote the group by copying and pasting the html for a “sign up ” banner! I posted it at the top of my blog!

Leave a Reply

