Are You Ready…

And I’m not talking about football either.  :)  I’m talking about another retail opportunity our community has wanted/needed.  I’m talking about retail that we all will benefit from.  It doesn’t matter  what your taste are, there will be something for everyone I am sure.(unless you just have to shop somewhere else).

Do you know what I’m talking about?

I’m talking about our Kroger!  Yes, that is right.  Our tiny town of 27,000 people have been seeing signs of construction.  We’ve seen the sign itself take it’s stand where the old BI-LO sign went.  We’ve seen it coming.  Now, it’s finally here!

ANNOUNCING THE GRAND OPENING OF THE LAVERGNE KROGER!

Kroger will hold it’s grand opening on Wednesday at 8 a.m.  They are offering a free flat iron steak boneless, usda choice to the first 500 people.

Come one, come all!  Let’s celebrate!

This is La Vergne welcomes you Kroger!

10 Responses

  1. I’m ready! I’m ready! YAY!!!!!!!

  2. finally…i can go grocery shopping again..YESSSS!!

  3. I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ready, I’ve been saving up my shopping needs just for their opening, except for a few necessities the other day. Kroger, WELCOME TO LA VERGNE! You will see me often.

  4. So, how long until Food Lion shuts down? Seriously, does anyone else see that as a good possibility?

  5. I believe we have a strong enough population to support three grocery stores. I do see the possibility of Food Lion closing, but it could also be a good opportunity to clean up, remodel, price their foods more competitively, get more involved in the community. All those things will go far in helping them stay in business.

  6. I agree that LV as a standalone could support 3 grocers. But I think Food Lion’s proximity to Kroger will greatly hurt their sales. You do have Kroger and Publix relatively close to each other in Smyrna (with Home Depot in the middle), but I think that Publix caters to a different crowd, and in fact most of Publix shoppers will freely admint they shop both Kroger and Publix. I don’t see Food Lion as catering to a different crowd than Kroger.

    I don’t know where Smith’s falls in all this. I’ve never once gone in that store so clearly I am not keeping them afloat.

    Itwill be interesting to see what might pop up on Waldron Road when they finish widening it in the year 3014

  7. LOL. “In the year 3014.” That made me snicker.

    I think – again – it’s how the store cleans up and markets itself. I seriously think that our town needs a chamber of commerce (or whatever) to teach our retailers how put their best foot forward. But people just fall into the grind of a job and stop thinking ahead and planning for how customer’s needs change.

    I don’t know. I’m not an MBA with a ton of retail or grocery experience. I just know what I like. Maybe Food Lion needs to start a focus group to find out from their consumers what they want.

  8. I shop at the Kroger’s on Sam Ridley only because it’s closer to me. I hate going in Food Lion because it is so nasty and only has an average of one checkout line open at a time. Smith’s has the best price/quality on meat of any of the three. It’s a typical small town grocer, but you may want to check them out sometime.

  9. While I’m not a fan of Kroger, I AM happy to have a grocery store close to my house that I will visit when I need to. Food Lion is dirty. I’ve only been in Smith’s once and that was to buy pickles. $4 for the same size jar that was $2 at Wal-Mart. Overall, I don’t like any grocery store, but having a Kroger in LaVergne is a step in the right direction.

  10. If Food Lion didn’t totally and completely suck, I would shop there way more often because its location is very convenient to me. But it sucks. It’s filthy. They don’t carry half of what I’m looking for. Their meat is crappy and is usually pretty expensive. There’s only 1 or 2 cash registers open at a time and their cashiers are teenagers who are usually talking to their friends. The service sucks there.

    It’s sad that it’s by far the closest store to me, yet I shop there once or twice a year at most because it just sucks so badly.

    I will probably shop at the Kroger more often though, as long as it doesn’t suck like Food Lion does.

Leave a Reply

