Hurricane Gustav: Can LaV Help?

Like the rest of the country, I’ve been following the progress of Hurricane Gustav with a knot of worry in my stomach.  My best friend from college and her husband – who live 30 miles east of New Orleans – evacuated today at 5:00 a.m.  What usually takes an hour and half to get ot Mobile took 6 hours.  I’ve invited them and their 3 cats to stay with us, but I’ll be surprised if she takes us up on it.

Meanwhile, what can LaV residents do to help?  I saw last night on the news that Second Harvest Food Bank is seeking monetary donations.  You can go to their web site to donate onlineThe Red Cross also needs donations.  Here’s the link to Nashville’s Chapter.

In our own backyard, the National Guard Training Center (is this the armory?) is set up to take evacuees.  When Hurricane Katrina hit volunteers helped at this Smyrna site.  I don’t know what kind of help (I saw clothing donations were being accepted) they need for this one, but I’m sure news will be all over the local news.

Meanwhile, I think anyone who prays should be doing this for the safety of our neighbors to the south.  Let’s hope their families, friends, homes, pets, and belongings stay safe.

9 Responses

  1. Luckily, Gustav hit west of the city. The unlucky part of that story is that now most people will ignore the next warning.

  2. Unfortunately, you’re probably correct. I was just thinking the same thing this morning.

    New Orleans will more than likely look at this and the next time around think “well, they were wrong about Gustav, and we moved out of the way for nothing.”

    I’m sure it’s difficult living in an area with hurricanes, but just as we have tornadoes here and must prepare for them, they too must prepare for their area’s natural disasters.

    I think the problem is that rather than people looking at potentially life saving measures they look at it as more of an inconvenience WHEN it turns out that their lives weren’t in danger. Just one huge problem with that…..nobody really knows when it will turn out to be life threatening or not. All they can go by is what is told to them, and they should act accordingly to what they have been told…no matter how it turns out.

    To me it’s just common sense that no matter what happened “last time” they should take each threat for what is told to them and then take the propper precautions for it. That means if the national hurricane center is advising to evacuate….they should evacuate.

    I think the weather forcasters also need to simmer down a bit when it comes to hurricanes. I swear, it’s almost as if they WISH a category 5 would hit so that they have something “exciting” to talk about, so they have “their story.”

    I could be wrong but (to me anyway) it seems that they want their story so much and all the career possibilities that it can lead to that they start sounding more severe with their warnings than may be needed. Once they do this too many times and the final result was nothing to the degree they were getting people all riled up about then it becomes a “boy that cried wolf” kind of issue.

  3. I wouldn’t mind volunteering at one of the evacuee places in Nashville. I’m sure they could use all the help they can get. Along with any sort of donations needed as well.

    Ya know, I heard something on the radio this morning. It was an evacuee from Cuba that is now in Nashville. She was telling people how grateful she was for all the support and help she has received. She ended it with how good they made her feel with hugs. It dawned on me…alot of these people could really use that kind of support as well.

    These are people who have lost their homes and are in some state they aren’t familiar with. They must be terrified. I think an excellent support would be just to listen to these people…talk to them and listen and offer just a hug.

  4. All journalists sound like that – wishing for a bigger story. It’s not that they actually enjoy people suffering, it’s just that people who are drawn to journalism want to find something important to share. They’re mental sky-divers.

    And you know, during tornado season half the people in my office want to run outside to “see if they can spot the tornado coming!” This while I’m trying to fight my way into the bathroom and arguing that no, we should NOT seek shelter in the hallway with the big glass cubicle. I think people everywhere are like this, unless they’ve been really well educated and trained.

    I heard a recent report stating that not all of the houses rebuilt in N.O. are including the required 9 foot flood height. It costs a whole lot more to include it, and a lot of folks can’t afford the cost. It’s short sighted to build on ground level, but what do you do? It’s like the Gift of the Magi. Or Psylla and Charibdis. Can’t afford the house you need, can’t be secure in the house you can afford.

  5. HAaaaaaaa!!! What you just said took me back to the year downtown Nashville was hit by that tornado.

    At the time I was working in an office in Lebanon. We had a tornado that had been spotted right off of the interstate that our office sat on and coming our way. Well, wouldn’t you know we ALL went out there to watch it.

    It was an amazing and mesmerizing sight. This one very large funnel had babies right in front of us. 3 other smaller funnels sprouted out of this thing and then the “babies” grew and all FOUR of them were headed straight for us.

    We all stood there muttering and the only audible words were “oooooh” and “ahhhhhh” ……until, FINALLY one of the more intelligent of us (a woman who had just moved here from California, where they do not have many tornadoes) snaps out of it and yells “Ummm! I really think it would be a good idea if we went INSIDE…NOW!”

  6. Oh wow! So, I gather all of you lived through it? Did you lose any windows?

    I grew up in Indiana where tornados are – well, you just can’t talk to anyone in central Indiana (i.e. “America’s pancake”) who hasn’t lived through several big tornados. Their stories will make your hair stand up and hula.

  7. We all lived through it. We had some small damage to our building but nothing major. There were a few homes in the area that got wiped out from it though.

    Once we gathered all of our senses and decided to come in out of the storm we hid in a center room under a huge executive table, one of those large heavy wood tables. I can honestly remember thinking “I just don’t feel all that safe under this large exposed table. I mean…it’s large but…..it’s a table.”

    After all that they just sent everyone home. My husband and I spent the rest of the day hiding out. I can’t remember the exact amount of tornados we had that day but it was far more than I cared for.

    It wasn’t the first one I had been through and not the last one since either. The first large one I was in was when I was about 7 or 8 yrs old. I was visiting my cousin and my aunt in Kentucky.

    My cousin had this large picture window in her room, and there was this field right across the street from her window. My aunt had just put us to bed and then a few minutes later she comes in and gets us out of bed and informs us we have to take cover immediately. Well…as we got out of bed we could see out of her window. There was this massive funnel barreling through the field headed our way.

    My cousin had this heavy desk in her room and my aunt put us under the desk and then placed a bean bag over the opening. She told us not to come out no matter what until she said so.

    A few seconds later I couldn’t even tell you what happened. All I know is we were tumbling around like lottery tickets in one of those wheels. I remember it hurting but it wasn’t excrutiating or anything…just uncomfortable.

    After what seemed like an eternity, I remember it getting very quite. I mean it had went from the loudest sound I had ever heard to just quiet.

    We heard my aunt yelling and when we crawled out of this area we were in we were no longer “inside.”

    We got a little banged up but nothing more than some cuts and bruises. Amazingly nobody was seriously injured……but my aunt’s house was gone. What was even more amazing is my grandmother’s house was next door to theirs and her house wasn’t touched.

    To this day I am terrified of them and that day at work I was scared silly but I just couldn’t stop staring at it. It was like I had been hypnotized.

  8. Come to think of it that was the worst summer of my life. Not only had I had the sense scared right out of me from that stupid tornado, but a few nights before that I had an even more horrifying encounter with my aunt.

    My aunt had a glass eye and I always knew her eye looked weird but until that day I didn’t know it was glass. I got up in the middle of the night to use her bathroom. I sat down to do my business and before my business took place I looked over and in a glass filled with clear solution was …..her eyeball…just sitting there….in a glass…..staring back at me.

    I did what what any normal child that age would do when faced with an eyeball in a glass staring at them….I scareamed bloody murder, tore out of their like a bat out of hell with my undies still around my ankles…..then….I bumped into my aunt who came running to see what was wrong…..my aunt….whose eyeball was not in her head….because it was in a glass in the BATHROOM…so there was my aunt….with a large empty socket in her head where her eye SHOULD HAVE BEEN! Keep in mind I had never succeeded in doing my “business.” I still had to tinkle. I wasn’t about to go back into the “eyeball bathroom”…so I opted to pee my pants. I think anyone would have done the same in my position. My dear GOD that was the summer from hell.

  9. Your glass eyeball story is priceless. Absolutely priceless.

Leave a Reply

