LaV Growth Update in DNJ

I missed this in Tuesday’s newspaper, but the Mayor answered why development of LaV’s shiny new mall seems to be stalling,

Plans for a 195,000-square-foot shopping center on a 20-acre site on Industrial Boulevard off Interstate 24 were announced in January, but only site preparation has taken place. Developers are still looking for a major tenant to commit to the project, Erwin said.

Build it and they will come (nah, I wouldn’t build it either unless I knew I could fill it with retail).  Other LaV news is encapsulated here.

Ready for Fall break?  Watch tomorrow for some inexpensive ways to spend some time off with your kids … if you 1.) have kids, 2.) they go to Rutherford County Schools, and 3.) you get ot take time off with them.

5 Responses

  1. That’s too bad it’s on hold for now. I heard on the news awhile back that the “potential” anchor had backed out and the developer was in some financial trouble, but for the life of me, I can’t remember any more details. Any ideas?

    And Ms. Real Estate Guru, what do you know or hear about the apartment complex on Blair Road and Sam Ridley? Any details or scheduled completion date?

  2. They have recently re-started the work on that site. Maybe that’s positive, but still, I would be surprised to see a major retail outlet open there anytime soon.

    I hate to say it, but La Vergne could really make Smyrna regret not partnering with LV to include that site in the Target developement. If the reatil doesn’t come to that spot and the overall retail market slows down, you’re probably going to see that spot turned into light industrial or a truck dealership like every other part of Industrial Blvd. I’m sure that’s exactly what Target wants behind their store…

  3. I’m just going to throw this out there..I could get a lot (beep) for it. So, here it goes?

    Can LaVergne and Smyrna merge and just become one big city?

  4. Sherry – I’m asking around about the apartment complex. I think the people were here at our meeting a few weeks ago, but I didn’t take notes / not even the mental ones. Will keep asking!

    Smiles for miles – I’ve wondered that aloud a time or two, as well. It would make sense, but the fight would be whether to name it LaVergne, Smyrna, or LaSmyrna. :)

  5. I don’t know about merging, but I do often refer to this area as SmyVergne!

Leave a Reply

