Quiet – But Could Be Big – School News

A sweetheart of a friend of mine sent me an email she received from LHS PTO news.  This isn’t getting much press, but we both thought it to be hugely important – especially to our kids. 

The school board is considering Standard School Attire.
Parents can voice their opinion at a pair of public hearings:

 Dec. 2: Stewarts Creek Elementary at 6:30 p.m.

 Dec. 4: Siegel Middle at 6:30 p.m.

If you’re in favor or against standardized dress code for our students (e.g., everyone wears khakis and a shirt color or two determined by each school), you might want to go to one of these meetings.

4 Responses

  1. I didn’t think that I had dreamt about that! I’ve heard it too!

    Here’s my 2 cents worth…if the school board thinks that putting the high school kids in “uniforms” will decrease the violence in the schools, then I’d like to offer a shovel so they can resurrect their their heads from the proverbial sand pit!

    They need to get “on the ball” and make sure their students are REALLY from La Vergne!!! I’ve heard of too many kids getting bounced out of Davidson County schools only to land here because it’s close enough to Hispantioch…

    Grrr….

    Stepping off of soap box now….

  2. Cricket, I’m with you on this one. I heard it mentioned on Channel 5 last week, but I thought it was all county schools – not just the high schools. It may not have been widely publicized, but the LHS kids sure seem to be aware of it and needless to say, aren’t too enthused about the idea of uniforms (my daughter included). Suppose they actually watch the news?!

    I’m not sure how this works . . . is it a school board decision, with the parents’ support and/or blessing?

  3. School Board has the final say, but voters can certainly contact the board members with their opinions.

    My opinion? When I was in school I would have hated it, but now as a tax paying property owner, I say whatever shines the best light on our schools is what’s best for my property values. I don’t really care one way or another at this point about “standard school attire,” and plus I won’t have a school-age kid for another few years.

  4. wHAT ABOUT THE EAR RINGS IN THE NOSE THAT THE LAVERGNE HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS ARE WEARING.

Leave a Reply

