La Chamber for La Vergne

Local resident Josh Estes has started a newsletter for LaVergne businesses.  Called La Chamber, the newsletter features business news for our fair city. Josh says,

I love La Vergne, and I want to see her grow and prosper.  It brings me great joy to be a part of such a safe, strong, caring, and closely-knit community.  I was born and raised in Antioch before becoming a La Vergne  homeowner in 2005, directly following my marriage and graduation from MTSU.

I developed La Chamber in an attempt to give back to my community.  I am also hoping to make a great deal of new friends and contacts through the project.  Furthermore, I pray that La Chamber will help combat the recent economic downturn that has adversely affected us all in one way or another.  I truly believe that if we commit as a community to shop locally and promote the gifts and talents of the very individuals that make up our community, then we will be substantially better equipped to turn things around.

Here’s a link to the La Chamber site.  You’ll be amazed at the site index to see how many businesses there are in town.  Go visit the site, explore the businesses we have in LaVergne, and be sure to partronize those businesses! 

December 2008 La Chamber Newsletter

5 Responses

  1. Dear La Vergne Business Owners & Operators:

    As your neighbor (and hopefully one day your friend) I’d like to share my vision with you…

    Earlier this year, I decided to design and build a website that will eventually revolutionize the way La Vergne merchants buy, sell, and market their products. This site is dedicated to (and catered exclusively toward) La Vergne businesses. The project is a work in progress that will evolve at a consistent and expedient rate. My plan is to absorb as much feedback as possible from local merchants in order to effectively provide a networking venue that will allow its patrons to communicate ideas and perform transactions with optimal efficiency.

    I guarantee that you will be amazed upon first glance at just how many businesses are operating in our quaint little city. What I ultimately hope to achieve is a better quality of life for all La Vergne citizens by keeping taxes low through strengthening our local economy. For example, instead of ordering your office supplies from a company overseas; La Chamber will make it easier to find a better deal on a higher quality product just minutes away from where you live and work.

    However, there is no way that I can complete this task on my own. I need your help (not to mention the help of any contacts you have that may also be La Vergne business owners or operators). All I ask is that you check the site out (http://lcoc.web.officelive.com/contactus.aspx), and if you’re intrigued by what you see; please forward this message on to anyone whom you think it may appeal to. Please also feel free to respond with comments or suggestions. Thank you for your time, consideration, and support.

    Sincerely,
    Joshua Timothy Estes

  2. I think the site looks great, and wow, look at all the businesses! The only thing I don’t like is the name. La Chamber sounds like a mexican restaurant. Taco Salad anyone?

    I understand the logic (LA chamber in LA Vergne), but maybe something else would be better. How about – LOCAL:

    Lavergne
    Organizing to
    Compete
    Against
    Loserswhospendtheirmoneyinssmyrna?

    Ok, that’s bad too.

  3. Just wanted to check in and thank everyone for stopping by La Chamber this week to check it out. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Kathy Tyson for plugging my site on “This Is La Vergne”. I recorded the most hits ever in one day (250!) thanks to her support.

    If you’d like to learn more about this project, please read the following excerpt from an email response that I recently sent to a La Chamber patron:

    “…I greatly appreciate the feedback. Unfortunately, my design experience is indeed limited. I just started getting into site building a couple of months ago. Since then, I’ve basically used templates provided by MSN and Google (along with a few HTML tricks that I’ve picked up here and there) to construct simple sites for family and friends. In fact, La Chamber actually started out as a “practice project” that I could use in an attempt to sharpen my skills.

    Since it’s inception about six weeks ago, however, it’s become a living and breathing organization. As more and more people visited the site and responded enthusiastically to it; I realized that I could possibly make a real difference within the community by providing an exclusive venue that would allow for local merchants to advertise their products and services directly to the very public they serve. Furthermore, ever since the economic downturn, I have realized that the most important action that we can take as residents of La Vergne to reverse the current state of affairs; is through shopping locally and committing to place the fiscal health of our own community first before investing our time and money elsewhere.

    My current goal is to obtain and distribute as much information about each and every La Vergne business as possible. That way, La Chamber patrons will hopefully one day be able to find anything that they are in need of obtaining or promoting through the simple utilization of an optimally effective and efficient website. I am specifically passionate about incubating local small businesses.

    At this point in time, La Chamber is a non-profit venture. That’s another reason why the design and interactivity of the site are limited. I am presently employed as a restaurant operations consultant, so whatever free time and resources I come by are invested into the project. I have many aspirations for La Chamber (ie: a weekly newspaper or magazine in print form) that I would love to see materialize; but at this juncture, I simply do not have the time or money to make it happen…”

    I hope this email clarifies things for you as they pertain to my intentions for La Chamber. If you have any further questions, comments, or suggestions; please feel free to respond at your convenience.

    Thank you for your time and support,
    Joshua Timothy Estes
    joshua.timothy.estes@gmail.com

  4. Have you changed the name to LaVergne Life? I love it! I posted about a get-together next Thursday, Joshua. I hope you can come. I may have to splurge and buy some nametags, though!

  5. Kathy:

    Yes, La Chamber is no more. I’ve decided to go in a different direction with the website; so now it’s official moniker is La Vergne Life.

    I am still committed to doing all that I can to promote our local businesses, and I also plan to continue the newsletter; however, I am feeling convicted to use the site in a more Christian and God-Glorifying manner.

    I am planning to incorporate links and personal suggestions to help our friends and neighbors live more productive and rewarding lives. Far too many of our brothers and sisters are discouraged and suffering right now because of the recession that our country and world have found themselves in.; and unfortunately, I personally feel that things will have to get a little worse before they get better.

    With that being said, I want to do whatever I can to help our neighbors in need; and because I do not possess the resources to assist them financially, I’m going to do all that I can to at least offer them a sense of ultimate encouragement through the strength, courage, and hope that can best be provided by the Word of God and Teachings of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

    I appreciate the invite for Thursday’s gathering; however, I have to work 11:00 to 9:00 at my “real” job that day. I hope everything goes terrifically and that everyone has a wonderful time at the get together. I’m sure that a great deal of time and effort on your part went into the organization and preparation of this event. I pray that you receive ten-fold what you put into it.

    Talk to you soon,
    Joshua Timothy Estes
    joshua.timothy.estes@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

