Population Shift in LaVergne

An article was printed today in the Tennessean about the shifting population of Nashville suburbs

U.S. Census numbers released today echoed the suburban shift that Riley has witnessed firsthand. La Vergne has become dramatically more diverse in seven years, with the Asian and Hispanic populations more than tripling and the black population doubling.

It’s very easy to see that we’ve become more diverse – even in the five years I’ve lived here.  With this diversity comes more mixed school populations and I find it extraordinary that my daughter’s friends are black, white, Hispanic, and Asian.  To be color blind is a gift to the young that I hope they can hold onto as adults.

And hooray for the Noodle House.  I also heard the Mexican food stand next to C&C’s food market is amazing but I’ve never been there.  Any recommendations?

17 Responses

  1. LaVergne has grown more diverse, and it is awesome… but there is still a good amount of work to be done on anti-racism here. I’ve seen several things that really bothered me recently, and I don’t even really get to leave the house much.

    There is also a good bit of homophobia here… We’ve been harassed by neighbors who called animal welfare on us (no citations), and called the police to register a noise complaint. Funny thing on the latter is that my wife couldn’t hear him knocking on the door at first… because she was listening to a math lecture with her headphones on.

    Meh. At least the policeman was awesome enough to report our harassment and write the person a warning. And yes, when he confronted the caller, she responded by saying, “But… their … LESBIANS!#”

    **sighs**

  2. I found the article intersting in that many of the people said they moved here because of the low crime rate. Low Crime AND Lavergne in the same article???? And from a Gannett paper?? Wow, now I know why it’s so warm today, Hell apparently has frozen over.

    Many of the commenters on tennesseean.com really have the right answer though. People moved to La Vergne because it’s cheap. I don’t think it has anything to do with pursuing diversity (I’m white and I moved here because housing is less expensive than WilCo), it just happens to work out that way.

  3. Don’t know about others, but I moved here for three main reasons: more house for the money, newer schools, and to get closer to work (no commute). Greater diversity was a plus as far as I was concerned, but not a primary consideration.

  4. I moved here mainly because of the prices. Because everything I do (Preds, Titans, Sounds, concerts, work, etc) is downtown, I wanted to live closer. However, I wanted to buy a home and was able to find a nice, clean, well-maintained home in my price range and without the rushhour traffic, the drive isn’t THAT bad. :)

  5. We moved from Nashville to LaVergne back in 1989, mainly due to (1) the good reputation of the school system (and this was several years before we even had a kid); (2) decent commute times; and (3) reasonable housing costs. Back then, our builder was building our exact house in Bellevue for $20,000 more and in Franklin for $30,000 more. As cash-strapped newlyweds buying our first home, needless to say, LaVergne won out.

    Overall, I don’t regret the move out here, but if I had it to do over again, would I choose LaVergne? Probably not. I’m extremely unhappy with the school system, at least at the high school level. (You know it’s bad when your high-schooler is asking to move or transfer and leave all her friends just to get out of LHS.) Diversity is not the issue, as I’m not a racist and not homophobic either, but LaVergne has definitely gone downhill in the last 20 years or so, and we live in one of the so-called “nicer” parts of town.

    We’ve talked about moving, but with the housing and job markets right now, it’s just not feasible. However, once my daughter graduates and the economy stabilizes, we’re probably gonna be out of here unless things dramatically improve.

  6. I would probably agree with you on that point Sherry, and that’s what is unfortunate about this city. It was a good deal when we moved here, and the elementary and middle schools all sound great. But the high school really worries me as I often hear people like you who have kids at LHS talk about the problems. There will probably come a point where we will consider moving out of LV.

    Honestly I probably would not have bought a house on the west side of La Vergne except for the fact I thought a new HS was going to be built on the east side of town. Apparently RCS doesn’t care how big La Vergne is, this city will only ever have 1 high school. There were 7,000 residents when LHS was built, and now there are almost 30,000 residents. oh well

  7. We’ve been here since 1996 and I could not wait for my kids to get out of LHS!!

    I will say though, I don’t have any problems with my neighbors or our neighborhood. Overall, Lavergne has been good to us.

  8. We moved to TN a little over 5 years ago and moved from the Fastest growing city in the US for 20 years (Las Vegas). I was a former REALTOR, I was very particular on where we were going to buy and settle down.

    We rented in Nashville the first 6 months and I diligently searched for our prospective home. There were days when I would drop off my 2 older girls at school and I would drive all day long looking at areas and comparing prices, schools, neighborhoods, amenities, etc. But when it all came down to it, LaVergne won out for several reasons.

    1. Close proximity to Nashville Airport (hubby works for airline).

    2. Small town feel, 30 mins from downtown Nashville.

    3. School locations. We are zoned for both LMS & LLE and are not in Lake Forest. LHS is close enough. My kids are 4,7,14,17 so I have them in all 3 schools. And LOVE them all….. in LV they had to go thru metal detectors to get to thier Kindergarten class!! Sure there are some issues here but….. nothing compared to what I have seen/experienced in LV.

    4. The price was alot better than the other areas I was looking such as Mt. JuIiet, Nolensville, & Hendersonville. I am also a common sense kinda gal, why pay 20-30K more for an identical house on a smaller lot just to live in a more “foo foo” neighborhood. Lets face it, crime and bad neighbors are everywhere. I lived in Las Vegas for 31 years in Really nice neighborhoods and yet, there were meth labs and gang bangers next door.

    5. The People….. for the most part…. the people of La Vergne are very welcoming and friendly. The only kind of waving we had in Las Vegas was the 1 fingered kind.

    Now don’t get me wrong, Las Vegas was not ALL bad, just not where I wanted to continue to raise my kids.

    When looking at La Vergne one of the things that stuck out to me in the negative was the size of the Lake Forest Estates subdivision compared to the size of the city. While 2500-4000 homesites in one subdivision was not new to me, I was not sure that a city of our size could properly serve a single community that large AND still be able to serve the rest of the city. And that is why we chose to not purchase IN Lake Forest, but by no means did it mean that it was a Bad place to buy a home.

    I feel that as will all neighborhoods, it is the people who live in them that ultimately that make up a good neighborhood. It is up to the homeowners to make sure that the homes are being maintained well, that they are safe to those living there and those visiting. Including Rental homes, the owners should be making sure that their home, their investment, is maintained well to protect not only the neighborhood but their investment as well. And the rental owners are the ones that the rest in the neighborhood should hold accountable. Sure the city has an obligation to enforce the laws/codes, but so does the owner.

    Someone had mentioned on another thread that Lake Forest needs a Homeowners Association. But I really do not think that anyone here in La Vergne really wants the neighborhoods to be as strict as they are in the neighborhoods that have Homeowners Associations with such strict covenants, codes and restrictions that they can tell you what and where you plant, where and how many cars you can have and where they need to be parked, what color your house can be, what type of Holiday decorations are allowed, if any, and if you can fly the American Flag or not……. Not to mention that they can legally foreclose on your home if you do not pay the ridiculous monthly fee or you get too many violation/fines. I know I don’t want one and that is WHY I bought where I did.

    My subdivision does have some restrictions but no ridiculous monthly fee and my neighborhood for the most part looks good. There are of course a few houses in that could look better, (especially now that the market has been down) but then again they could look worse. Mine didnt look the best when we were in the midst of converting our garage/building a new garage/fencing/re-landscaping etc. BUT it was my home, and out of respect for my neighbors we made sure they were all aware that it would be a temporary situation and all would be much better soon. And it was.

    Wow…. I surely didn’t mean to make this so lengthy, maybe I should have written in my journal first and then commented on here…LOL.

    All i am trying to say is…….. I love La Vergne….. the people, the community, the neighborhoods, and yes….. even…no, especially the schools…… and I have had my kids at LaVergne Primary, Roy Waldron, LMS, LaVergne Lake and LHS….. and honestly, I love them all.

    And I WOULD buy here again, if I had to do it all over again.

  9. Wow, great perspective!

  10. Yeah, I have to say I’m surprised by all the people who hate LHS. My kid goes there and he has no problems there at all. Practically the only reason we’re staying in LaV is because of my son wanting to continue to go to LHS. The band director, Edward Freytag, is *amazing*. He has his own Wikipedia page, I doubt any of the other band directors in Rutherford County or even the state can say that. The music they are playing is college and higher level. The jazz band is an amazing opportunity for people who want to go on to college and major in music.

    I suppose since my kid is a musician, things are different, but that said- not all is bad about LaVergne High school, not at all.

  11. My daughter has done very well at LHS. I have no complaints at all… it’ll be interesting to see if my youngest does as well starting next year.

  12. Definitely some good comments on here and I’m always interested in other folks’ perspectives. BadBadIvy, I do agree with you 100% on Mr. Freytag and the music department at LHS. My daughter’s in Choraliers, dates one of the guys in jazz band, and runs around almost exclusively with music department kids, so I’d bet she knows your son, too.

    My biggest gripe is with the other teachers and their apathy in general. My daughter has chosen to stay in all honors classes, even with the extra homework load, because several of her friends (and their parents) have said they don’t feel like they’re learning much in the standard classes. I have enough problems getting questions answered, phone calls returned, etc. from the honors teachers and have had some serious issues with a couple of them. Escalating things to counselors or vice principals has been a complete waste of time as well. I’m honestly not an overbearing parent, or a troublemaker either, but I get a bit irritated when it takes a week to respond to an e-mail or return a phone call, if I get any response at all, when the teachers stress the importance of parental involvement and communication.

    I know are some good teachers at LHS, but I get the impression that a lot of them just don’t give a damn. In fact, one of my daughter’s teachers stated a couple of months ago that she didn’t care if the kids passed her class or not, since she got paid either way. The kids got together later and figured out that 17 out of 22 had gotten an “F” that six weeks . . . and this is an honors class?! To me, that indicates a problem with the teacher. Several of us tried to get our kids moved, but they only agreed to move the seniors that needed the class in order to graduate. The rest of us had our requests denied due to no room in the other classes. Needless to say, I was not a happy camper over that little incident.

    Sorry to rant and rave, but this is just one of several issues I’ve had with LHS. We absolutely loved both Rock Springs Elementary and Middle Schools, but I’m completely disgusted with the high school. However, unless I win the lottery and can put her in private school, it looks like we’re stuck there. :(

  13. Looks like we have juicy stuff to talk about next week, huh?

    I adored RSE for the most part… RSM was my daughter’s version of Pink Floyd’s “The Wall”. That is THE only school that I’ve ever heard of get awarded by “breaking a child’s spirit”! They got away with calling the kids “stupid”, “worthless”, and worse. Sherry, you are the only parent who I’ve heard had anything good to say about RSM… but I’m certain it can’t be all bad if they are the “pride of the county”.

  14. Man, Sherry, we have a TON to talk about when we meet up next week. My son told me 18 of the students in his Algebra class failed. I didn’t believe him because my mom’s a teacher, and if she turned in numbers like that, she’d be fired. Now I’m beginning to wonder if he wasn’t telling me the truth. And my son’s science teacher never responded to my emails, either- so I know what you’re talking about there. This is really interesting. Thanks for the further details.

  15. BadBadIvy, when you have a minute, shoot me an e-mail at predfan15@yahoo.com. I have a very good idea of who the two teachers are (and my daughter had both of them), but I don’t really want to name names in this forum. Thanks.

  16. I moved to LaVergne in February 1993, when Sam Ridley was a 2 lane road surrounded by woods.

    My first home in LaVergne was chosen because the builder chose to leave original trees standing when they developed the neighborhood. There is something magical about looking out a window and seeing 40 foot tall trees waving in the wind, populated by squirrels and birds, shading the ground and, well, hiding some of the electrical, cable and phone wires that populate our skies. And I planted more than a dozen trees and shrubs in that yard while I was there.

    My second home here was chosen for price, location and neighborhood…as well as trees! I’m almost walking distance from downtown, which means a pop to the store is quick and easy. I love my neighbors, I live on a dead-end street so there’s no thru-traffic, and I paid less for it than I’d even hoped to find. Plus, the yard was already fenced in. My dogs love that. And oh yes, it’s a dog-friendly neighborhood!! Extra love and security.

    As an Army brat, diversity is something I expect and appreciate. So, as the diversity of our city grows, I feel more and more at home. I am glad my daughter knows people who speak other languages, who look different than she does. Everyone has things that make them different, and I think it’s healthy when there are people who look different living nearby.

    Would I do-over again? Yes!

  17. If someone is thinking the diversity is based on people BUYING property here in LaVergne then I have some ocean front property for you in North Dakota.SInce the local zoning has allowed everything including cardboard boxes and teepees to be constructed in Lake Forest and people who had mortgage companies fradulently qualify them for loans have now walked away:you have what is known as r-e-n-t-e-r-s.This means the diversity statistics will change from month to month.

Leave a Reply

