Inauguration Day: Are You Going?

UPDATE:  POLL IS CLOSED See results below.

With attendance expected in the millions, the inauguration of President-Elect Barack Obama will be all over the news probably on every channel.  Are you going?  If you are, we’d love to hear your story!

Please let me know if you’d like to be added as a guest writer during this upcoming week to give our site live updates with a local point-of-view.  Of course, if you’re going you’re probably on the way or already there but we’d still love to hear from you.  Since I don’t expect we’ll score gold on finding someone there, I plan to write an open thread post on Tuesday (maybe Monday night) so you can share your thoughts on this moment in history.

8 Responses

  1. You should add a third choice – I have to work because Obama needs more people to work hard and earn more money so he can take their money away to “spread it around” and give money to people who don’t want to work.

    ok, maybe that’s a little long. Even though I didn’t vote for the guy, I would love to be at any presidential inauguration as it is a historic moment.

  2. You know… I was very disappointed when I saw on the schedule that I have to work tomorrow also.

    By the way… we do have a category to write all that under “Other”. :)

  3. michaelinLV: you make over 2k? I know I don’t, and I definitely worked today. :P

  4. Do I make over 2k? 2k per what? per day? month? year?

    Are you saying only people who make more than $2,000 (a month?) have to pay federal income taxes? I got news for you, the more taxes my bosses pay, the less they can pay me. My tax rate is irrelevant. If Obama makes my bosses pay $10,000 more per year in taxes because they are “rich,” am I supposed to believe that is going to have no negative impact on my future income?

    However, my income aside, I do have federal income taxes deducted from my paycheck and I usually do not get any overpayment refund from the gov’t. When I do get a refund, it’s usually less than $200.

  5. Sorry, that was a typo. It should have read 200k, and I was referring to yearly salary.

    Your future income may be affected, but the money has to come from somewhere. As much as people rail (in some cases very justifiably) against wasteful government spending, it is necessary to fund government services in some manner. From your stances on other issues, I would hazard a guess that you are a supporter of free market economics, if I’m wrong please let me know. In this case however I would say that you are relying not on market principles (which is the world we live in, regardless of desirability), and more on the goodwill of your boss.

    Your employer does not pay you more simply because they have more money. While their cash flow and after tax profit certainly has an effect, they are in the business of making more money for themselves, not for you. Your salary is much more closely related to the average wage of that position, competitiveness of the market for that job, and how much impact your employer things increasing the pay from that average will have on the things the employer values from their worker(s). You need look no further than your local Wal-mart for a good example of this.

    Simply saying “They won’t have that extra $10,000” is a gross oversimplification of the issue that approaches obfuscation of the actual effects of a tax increase or decrease.

  6. Thanks for clarifying. No, I don’t make $200,000 a year. I don’t disagree that taxes need to be paid, but why should taxes unfairly be burdened on those we deem as rich? Why can we not all pay a fair share of, say, 10%? Your guy would pay $20,000 in taxes, an average person would pay $5,000. The wealthier you are, the more you would pay. I do not disagree with the need for taxation, I just feel that progressive taxation is akin to taxation without representation (after all, you don’t get more votes if you pay more of the tax load1).

    In regards to wages, yes, my employer has to pay me a fair wage or else I will work elsewhere. But the problem with your argument is that you think they have to pay me. If they cannot afford to keep me, they would just fire me. Using your argument, every company could employ their own personal physician as long as they paid thema fair wage.

    You see, here’s the problem. My math is not oversimplification. The problem is quite simple – raise taxes on employers and you will hurt employment. More importantly, Tax CUTS historically result in greater tax revenue because business create jobs and employees spend money. And I won’t be surprised if Obama actually cuts taxes because he understands this.

  7. I have two friends who travelled to D.C. for the inauguration. They had a grand time, got to attend the Sunday concert and were invited to a ball, as well.

    I listened on the radio; well, it was live streaming of NPR’s broadcast.

  8. MichaelinLV: sorry I haven’t been back. I think this is a theory debate that we have both had many times. I’d much rather continue the discussion in the other thread as I think there is some hide left on that horse. I’ll leave it at I disagree and have stats to back it up, and you’ll disagree with me and have stats to back it up. ;)

Leave a Reply

