Dur Dur Dur …

When my daughter wants to emphasize to me that I’ve asked a stupid question, she’ll say “Dur Dur Dur…”

Maybe this is a stupid question, but whatever happened to that new shopping center that was supposed to go up in LaVergne behind the Target in Smyrna?  Was it the economy?  Timing?  Still coming?  Anyone know?  Anyone?  Bueller?

Also my friend Mark just told me about a post on Craigslist regarding people dumping animals in LaVergne.  I don’t know how long the link will live on Craigslist (10 days? 2 weeks?), so here’ s the full text:

I have never seen people dump animals like they do in La Vergne TN. I have found over 50 dead animals near my home due to letting run and getting hit by cars. I also have seen animals dumped off!

FOR THE PEOPLE WHO DUMPED OFF TWO YOUNG BLACK LAB/SHEPHERD MIXES, THESE TWO DOGS HAVE BEEN ON THE STREET THROUGHOUT THIS COLD WINTER AND I SEE THEM DAILY. THEY EAT WHAT THEY CAN FIND. THEY ARE SCARED TO DEATH! TODAY I GOT THE CLOSEST I HAVE EVER BEEN TO THEM. I GOT ABOUT 10 FEET AWAY. THEY ARE NOT MEAN. THEY HAND OUT NEAR MURF. RD. AT CORNER OF PARTHENON BLVD. IN FRONT OF THE PARTHENON BUSINESS. THEY ARE ABOUT 4 MO’S OLD. I WISH SOMEONE WOULD TRAP AND TAKE HOME THESE TWO AND GIVE THEM A CHANCE FOR LIFE!

Sad, I know (especially how my eyes now feel from the all upper-case rant).  BUT my question is this:  Is it really just LaVergne?  Are animals being dumped everywhere?  Does anyone who reads here work or volunteer at any local animal shelters and can answer this?  I’d be very interested in hearing more.

Speaking of animal shelters, a Girl Scout troop in our Service Unit is collecting old (clean) towels for the animal shelter.  If you have any you’d like to donate to this cause, please feel welcome to drop them off at my office in the next two weeks and I’ll take them to the troop that’s collecting.  My office is at Bob Parks Realty on Sam Ridley Parkway.  Leave them for Kathy T.  We’re open 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. M-F and 9:00 a.m. – 12 noon Saturday.

Speaking of Girl Scouts, cookies are coming in this Saturday!  Watch for delivery next week and cookie booths throughout the area.  You heard it from me so know it’s true.  :)

5 Responses

  1. Kathy

    It really is sad that people are just dropping dogs and cats off anywhere. there are animal lovers out there That would love to have a sweet kind dog or cat. These people should post on Craigslist first before they just drop off the animals. Posting is free so why not use it? I for one have been looking for a dog that can be mostly outside. One that also is housetrained and needs love from someone that can give them love! I really enjoy your post because they seem to make me smile and sometime laugh from the bottom of my big ole belly!

  2. Abandonment. It shall be unlawful for any person owning or having possession,
    charge, custody or control of an animal to abandoned that animal on a street, road,
    highway, public place, animal shelter, or private property

    Tennessee Cruelty to Animals Statutes
    39-14-202 Cruelty to animals.
    (a) A person commits an offense who intentionally or knowingly:
    (1) Tortures, maims or grossly overworks an animal;
    (2) Fails unreasonably to provide necessary food, water, care or shelter for an animal in the person’s custody;
    (3) Abandons unreasonably an animal in the person’s custody;
    (4) Transports or confines an animal in a cruel manner; or
    (5) Inflicts burns, cuts, lacerations, or other injuries or pain, by any method, including blistering compounds, to the legs or hooves of horses in order to make them sore for any purpose including, but not limited to, competition in horse shows and similar events.

    We have a local rescue shelter, you may also file a complaint or report a dog in need of rescuing on their website. http://www.rnapetrescue.com/index.html

    I don’t know which is worse, the one who abandons or the one whom just stands by and doesn’t report it to the authorities or a shelter. They are both cruel to animals.

  3. I was thinking about that shopping center the other day as I was on the Torrid website. (The rumor is they were going in there…that would end my online shopping and trips to cincy!) I haven’t heard anything about it recently, but I sure hope it’s still going to happen.

  4. In regards to the shopping center, there was an article in the DNJ indiciating that the plans had been indefiniately put on hold. The article implied that the issue was they didn’t sign an anchor tenant before the credit markets fell apart in September, and no credit means no developement.

    Once I get rich I’m going to buy that property and build one of these: http://www.dixielandfunpark.com. Don’t worry, I’ll include a free day for TILAV bloggers :)

  5. Im guessing that was also the fate of the Best Buy, and the Books a Million that was suppose to pop up over by Lowes?

Leave a Reply

