Sky Lights + Rain = Bad Mix

rainWe’ve had a leak in our skylight for some time now and have reached the point where it really needs to be fixed before major damage occurs.  In the past both skylights leaked, but a friend of mine was able to fix one of them.  We really don’t want to go to the expense of replacing the whole window if we’re able to simply make the repair.

So my question …. can anyone here recommend an honest, skilled person to repair a skylight?

I love home ownership except for when things go wrong.  We did finally find the leak in our water line and had that repaired for $230 rather than the $1500 it would’ve cost to replace the entire line.  I’ll be trotting my repair receipt to the water department soon to see how much of an adjustment they can make on our outrageous water bill.

In my dream world, I want vinyl soffits put up around the entire house, I need the columns replaced on my front porch, new gutters, and WANT vinyl replacement windows (double sashed so I can clean the tops too).  In reality, we’re doing just one little thing at a time and hoping nothing else falls apart in the interim.

So if you’re thinking about buying a home, the good part is this year (if you’re a first time buyer or haven’t owned a home in 3 years), you get an $8000 tax credit that you won’t have to repay (and interest rates are fantastic).  the bad part is when repairs need to be made, you’re responsible.

Photo by Tapio Hurme via flickr creative commons.

2 Responses

  1. Can’t really recommend anybody to repair your skylight (are they past the point of just being recaulked?), but whenever you’re ready to replace your front porch columns, let me know . . . that’s right up my husband’s alley.

    And I’m so glad you got your water leak taken care of for what seems to be a pretty good price!

    Aaah . . . the joys of owning a home!!

  2. I am going through one of those joys myself. I found out Friday that just about everything in my central heat and air unit needs to be replaced. It is only 3 years old. Get this, its the manufacturers fault and they didn’t tell anyone. I have a Weather King unit. Apparently a lot of people had the same problem that I am having. A tube breaks off in the unit and lets all of the coolant leak out which burns up the compressor. Its going to be a $1,100.00 repair. Joy Joy. Please reply if you have one of these units and had the same problem. I am trying to find out if the manufacturer is offering any assistance on the labor charges.

Leave a Reply

