Have I Missed Anything?

Right Now! Won First!Sorry it’s been slow here on This is LaVergne.  I just came home from a week in Orlando where my daughter and the other team members of the Tennessee Twirlers competed in the US Twirling Association Southeast Regional Finals.  Her team won first place!

The twirlers used to have a class in LaVergne on Tuesday nights, but we didn’t have enough girls (and boys) join this year so the class was cancelled.  However, if you’re interested in keeping your kids busy with something that’s fairly inexpensive (compared to other sports), you might consider it.  The cost is about $90 p/semester for 12 classes and you buy a baton (we have enough where we could loan one with a deposit).  Classes will resume in September…

It starts costing  more money when the girls join the Parade Corps or Teams, but there are fundraising opportunities to help offset the cost.  If you’re interested in learning more, let me know!

13 Responses

  1. Welcome Home!

  2. Welcome home, Kathy . . . hope you had a fabulous time!

    Got a quick question (and I wasn’t sure where to post this, but you know EVERYTHING!). Do you know anything about a new business called Main Stage, opening up in the strip center next to Mapco on Waldron Road? I’ve been trying to get some details, but no luck so far.

    • As far as I can tell it’s going to be a much needed replacement of a performing arts school… if it’s anywhere near as good as the original school, it should be AMAZING!!!

      • By “original school,” do you mean when Step Ahead was there (about 1996-98) or when it was Dance Machine (about 1999-2001)? My daughter took at both studios until we moved to her to DC Dance Factory when Dance Machine closed with no notice whatsoever.

    • My name is Gail Johnson and Cheryl Chunn and I are opening the Main Stage in LaVergne. Our number is 793-7777 and 481-9174. Just call with any questions and we will be happy to answer them. We are teaching lessons in music instruments and all types of dance.

  3. Wow, congratulations on the competition win!!

  4. I mean “A Step Ahead”… Marin was fabulous and is very much missed. “Dance Machine” bought a successful school and killed it – much like Gaylord did to Opryland, but I digress…

    I wish the new school much success!!!

    • Marin was absolutely wonderful! We have her to thank for Kelly’s love of dance, (even though it’s cost us some major bucks for the last 13 years!). We kept in touch with Marin and Wes for many years, but have lost touch. Last I knew, they were performing on a cruise ship, but they’ve probably settled down somewhere by now since their kids would be in school.

      The lady that owned Dance Machine was working at Starbucks in Brentwood as of two years ago, when her Brentwood studio went under!

  5. Oh I hope Main Stage offers dance! I would love to see if I could teach clogging there. I have looked everywhere to offer clogging lessons and so far no luck.

    • KC, check out http://www.themainstage.net. I think the new place here is another branch of the Springfield studio. At least, it appears that way from the sign on the new studio, and they do offer clogging. Good luck! (And if you get hired, I get a referral fee, right?) :)

  6. Thanks Sherry I will check into it or maybe stop by. Yes! Refferal fee sounds great!

  7. i’m looking for people to clog with and a good teacher . could you tell your experience etc.?

Leave a Reply

