Volunteers Available

From our email, a request:

Does anyone know of any volunteer opportunities for a couple of LHS juniors over Christmas break?  They’re 16 and 17 and really want to do something with animals, if at all possible.  Every place I’ve contacted either requires the volunteers to be 18, or the organization wants more of a time commitment than a couple of weeks in December.  I figured finding something would be a no-brainer and can’t believe how much difficulty I’m having, but perhaps I’m just not looking in the right place.  I will admit that the girls’ intentions aren’t totally altruistic (they want to show some volunteer work on college applications), but I still thought I’d have no trouble finding an organization that could use their help for a few weeks.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

I know the Salvation Army is looking for volunteer bell-ringers through the holidays … in fact if my daughter’s parade schedule permits, I’d like to do this myself.  Also one year I took my Girl Scout troop to Second Harvest Food Bank for about four or five hours of food sorting.  We went through a couple of tons in that short time and the pallets kept coming.  I *know* they can always use help!
Good luck, Sherry!
8 Responses

  1. do they know anything about raising pigs? haha!

  2. Here are some websites to help you find volunteer opportunities.

    hon.org
    volunteermatch.org
    christianvolunteering.org

    The Hand’s on Nashville site has a teen volunteer section and they do have listings in Rutherford County.

    • Wonderful . . . I’ll definitely check out those sites for local opportunities. I really would prefer to find something close to home. My newly-licensed teenager is not quite ready to drive to Nashville yet! Thanks for the info.

  3. Sherry,

    Have you checked with any of the local churches? My daughter got tons of volunteer credit through hers. And also the town “clean-up” effort will be on Halloween, maybe they can help.

  4. This isn’t over Christmas Break, but could be a good opportunity right here in La Vergne from the Parks and Rec. news feed:

    On Oct 31 the La Vergne Parks and Recreation Dept will host a Community Clean-up Day at Hurricane Creek Boat Ramp. Registration will begin at 9 a.m. in the parking lot and the Clean-up will begin at 9:30. Lunch will be provided after the Clean-up. This is a great opportunity for organizations and clubs to get service hours.

    • I did see that in the paper, but my daughter is on a competition dance team and has a full rehearsal schedule that day. That’s why we’re targeting Christmas break – it’s the only time she has any kind of break from dance.

      I do appreciate your suggestion, though!

Leave a Reply

