Special Meeting to Follow Closed Session of Board

I received this notice yesterday from the city of LaVergne.

The City Council will hold a special called meeting on Wednesday, January 20, 2010 following a closed executive session that begins at 4:00 p.m. at City Hall.  See article for agenda items.

NOTICE

The Board of Mayor and Aldermen will also hold a special called meeting on Wednesday, January 20, 2010, immediately following the closed executive session that begins at 4:00 p.m. at La Vergne City Hall, 5093 Murfreesboro Road, La Vergne, TN. This special meeting is being held to consider the following items: 1.) Motion to Enter into Conciliation and Settlement Discussions with the EEOC regarding the EEOC charge filed by Gary Dooley and 2.) Motion to Discipline a City Employee. This special meeting is open to the public. All Citizens and News Media are invited to attend.

This looks to be pretty interesting. Who’s going?

78 Responses

  1. HMMMM, INTERESTING!! I wonder whats going on…..lol……

  2. It’s really probably not anything. Just from my experience on the beer board, I know that sometimes meetings have to be changed due to court dates that pertain to actions the board is taking. Perhaps this Gary Dooley has a court date before the next M/A meeting, and so they need a special session to consider any motions that might pertain to his court case? Just a guess.

    The closed executive session is really not too exciting either. Typically it’s just a time for the city attorney to meet with the board members and bring them up to speed on pending court cases that pertain to motions that may be under consideration.

  3. […] This Is LaVergne reported earlier today that the city plans a “closed executive session” following tonight’s meeting to discuss a settlement in ongoing EEOC lawsuits against city employees as well as disciplining an unnamed city employee. The Board of Mayor and Aldermen will also hold a special called meeting on Wednesday, January 20, 2010, immediately following the closed executive session that begins at 4:00 p.m. at La Vergne City Hall, 5093 Murfreesboro Road, La Vergne, TN. This special meeting is being held to consider the following items: 1.) Motion to Enter into Conciliation and Settlement Discussions with the EEOC regarding the EEOC charge filed by Gary Dooley and 2.) Motion to Discipline a City Employee. This special meeting is open to the public. All Citizens and News Media are invited to attend. […]

  4. I’ve heard some huge rumors but without confirming them with anyone, I won’t write them here. It does appear, however, to be something pretty major and not just another lawsuit update.

  5. Mark Moshea’s resignation would be an answered prayer. I have been eternally frustrated by his lack of competence over an issue that was brought to his attention several years ago. The entire City could use a shake up and a cleaning out of incompetent, backwards-thinking, good ol’ boys who are only concerned with covering their own hides instead of listening to the citizens of La Vergne.

  6. wow… was I wrong.

  7. Mark Moshea should have been let go for he isnt doing his job and if any of us didn’t do our job we would be fired. I am finally glad the mayor is taking a stand and cleaning up the city. The good ole boys network should come to a stop. I am not the only one feeling this way and know that Senna is right by stating his punishment isnt strong enough. Clean house and start fresh. I know also, this is an election year and if the mayor wants to be reelected he better start doing his job and listen to his employees and citizens of La Vergne Tn. Can’t wait to see what develops!! I will be watching this blog for more info,

  8. Having this mayor stay and clean out the good ole boy network is liking having Hannibal Lector fix the public school lunch problems. Clean house? Heck they need a bulldozer and chainsaw crew to reduce it to the foundation and ‘totally’ start over.

  9. Looks like Senna may be the only one who’s not afraid of all the “skeltons in the closet” at City Hall — someone might talk if fired — my opinion! Something’s not right here . . .

  10. i have said there are many problems there and i have been told to keep my mouth shut…..now that hr is gone why not do an investigation and why out why she purged all employees files!!!

  11. Looks like ALL the Board would want that done, Mark, but you can bet that won’t happen. One against four! One would think purging city employee files would be very unwise if not illegal.

  12. I see Senna hasnt weighed in on this yet and I can’t wait until we hear from her if she is allowed to speak about this now!

  13. I heard that MIKE SLINKER will be running for MAYOR against Ronnie Erwin. We definitely need to clean out City Hall and we desperately need new talent!!

  14. As all of you know, it is very important to me to keep my citizens well informed on the happenings of our city. I have never hid anything from the public and do not intend to start now; however due to legalities revolving around this very serious EEOC case I can not discuss the case at this time. Believe me this is hard for me to do!!!! PLEASE continue to trust in me to do what is in the best interest of our city. I apologize to all media including this site for not being in a position at this time to devulge more information. When this case has been resolved I will answer your questions to the very best of my ability, and I WILL give you the proven facts.

  15. The other “Fred” message isn’t from the old Fred who posted. He has went into retirement. Just to clarify.

  16. I must be the only resident in LaVergne that is laying awake at night to mad to sleep.
    I am asking for everyone to call, write or e-mail asking the US Department of Justice for an Investigation looking into the city of LaVergne.
    This City and most not all of the elected officials have been corrupt for years and we have paid out enough.

    PLEASE START TAKING BACK OUR CITY

    http://www.justice.gov/contact-us.html

    By Mail
    Correspondence to the Department, including the Attorney General, may be sent to:
    U.S. Department of Justice
    950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
    Washington, DC 20530-0001

    By Phone
    Department of Justice Main Switchboard – 202-514-2000
    Office of the Attorney General Public Comment Line – 202-353-1555
    To call component officials, see the Directory of Department Officials

    By E-mail
    E-mails to the Department of Justice, including the Attorney General, may be sent to AskDOJ@usdoj.gov. E-mails will be forwarded to the responsible Department of Justice component for appropriate handling.
    Please note:
    * Before sending e-mail, please read our Privacy Policy for details about how we handle personal information.
    * E-mail accounts are not available for service of official, case-related or legal documents and is not monitored for such submissions or for other time-sensitive communications.
    * E-mails with attachments will be deleted as a precaution as they may contain viruses.
    * Please include your mailing address in the event that the Department replies via United States Postal Service.
    If you know the specific organization or official you wish to contact, please indicate such in your message or check the Component Contact Information Page to contact them directly.
    In some instances, however, the volume of e-mail traffic on a particular issue is such that we cannot respond to each message individually. We would like you to know, however, that all incoming messages are forwarded to the appropriate organization within the Department of Justice and you can be assured that your voices and views are being heard.

    Thank You

    • Justin, I know there’s problems, but what specifically is so corrupt that you feel the feds need to be brought in? Just curious as to what you are so upset about that you can’t sleep at night.

      Please be specific. General comments won’t do any good, especially when you are asking the feds to do an investigation.

  17. Justin,
    I think alot of LaVergne residents are having a hard time sleeping at night with our city leadership. Just a thought — you may want to consider starting at the top and voting for a new mayor. Personally, I think this is the year we need to get Mike Slinker elected as Mayor during the upcoming November election. As I mentioned earlier, alot of people in LaVergne is wanting new leadership and a chance to start cleaning house. And, his name is already out from the last election (I think he received over 3,000 votes and finished well in his first time out).

    I’ve spoken to several people who know Mike Slinker and he is well educated, strong business minded, knows LaVergne and has a huge power of influence. Apparently, some of his friends say that he spends alot of time watching Channel 3 as he has been carefully planning a strong election run for the Mayor of LaVergne position for quite some time. I also heard he has served on the federal government affairs committee during the last 3 years with his profession as well. Evidently, government processes, robert’s rules of order, council meetings, knowing how to bring in commercial / retail, etc..are nothing new for this guy. He’s going to be a huge change for our city!

    • If Mr. Slinker has so much good to bring to our city why doesn’t he come to the meetings and possibly get on the planning committee and help get new businesses in here? (OH, I forgot Mr. Slinker was put on the Planning Committee by past Mayor Sherri Green, and he resigned from that position within a month, because he didn’t have any time to devote to the city of lavergne’s business, he was such a busy individual). I’m am pretty up on the city meetings, and I can asure you that I have only seen him at 1(ONE) city meeting in well over 8 years. Lavergne does not need an individual trying to run this city from there t.v. at home. Lavergne needs someone who is willing too tell the “good ole boys” there days are over….No more cash under the tables, (dang if this happened some people wouldn’t have to worry about buying anymore knee pads….). We need a mayor that has the guts to stand up and say; Sorry Mr. Moshea you have not done your job since being hired for this position, so I have made the decision to let you go back to Smyrna. I wonder what has changed in Mr. Slinker’s life that he has so much time on his hands now. With all the problems and lawsuits that Mr. Moshea has helped create for our wonderful city, anybody in there right mind should start running like Forrest Gump and never look back. Who in there right mind would want to walk into nothing but problems??????

  18. Mike Slinker, boy is that a blast from the past.
    Let me see, wasn’t he Sherry Green’s Campaign manager, and backed all the good old boys and girl that have keep me up at night? By the way, they also backed him in his bid for alderman, and he came in a poor third place out of three. I heard that he was in Texas building a bridge or something, he must have come back.
    He was the guy that win, loose or draw would make changes in LaVergne. We haven’t herd from him until election time. Not only is he in with the good ole boys, they are part of his club. How do I know this you ask, well he came to my home and saw a Mosley sign in my yard and preceded to inform my wife and I that he was supporting Waldron and himself and wanted us to remove her sign. Watching the TV is not getting it done. I watch those meeting as well, and believe me you can not understand what is going on during a vote unless Alderman Mosley is speaking!!! She is the only one up there that you can understand. Wow, he must be psychic. I also watch ER, but I don’t claim to be a Doctor. I personally hope Mosley runs for Mayor.

  19. I dont live in La Verne but hope Senna does run because I know she is for the people and when she does something she does her homework and digs deep to find the problems so she can fix them. I know there are several at city hall that don’t like her but do they have something to hide? Probably so. I consider Senna a dear friend of mine and I hope she runs and wins for mayor.

  20. I won’t criticize Slinker, because I don’t know what he has been invovled with recently. I will say I remember what Justin is saying, where Mike said he was going to go to every M/A meeting whether he won or lost. Has he been going? Is he on any of our cities boards?

    Mike may very well be a good candidate for public office in La Vergne, but I certainly won’t say for certain he is what we need. You guys know how I feel, we don’t need to reinvent the wheel, we just need to look at the best wheel and make our wheel look like that one. If we hire a new city manager, we need to look to places like Mt Juliet, Franklin, Hendersonville, or some other Nashville suburbs that have been able to attract a larger tax base for their community. We need to pick an up-and-comer from one of those cities staff.

  21. Ronnie Erwin wants the salary that Mark Moshea’s position earns. We needs some leadership in our City. This is an outrage andthe people need to start speaking up. I encourage Senna Mosely and Mike Slinker to run for office. Ronnie Erwin is as clueless as a blind nascar fan watching the races.

    • Don’t know why hw would won’t Mark Moshea’s pay, unless maybe his used car lot is not doing to good because of the economy. By the way does anybody know where his car lot is located? Last time I heard it was in Lebanon. Maybe the reason he put it there instead of Lavergne, was their city needed the tax revenue?

    • TG, I haven’t heard anything about the position of Mayor absorbing all the duties of city administrator. Where did you hear this?

      I would be opposed to that move regardless of how you feel about the current or any future mayors. The reasons we have for electing a mayor (bringing in new business, directing developement in the city are a couplethat come to mind) are different skills than what we need a city administrator for (to oversee the departments). Perhaps if we elected a mayor with an MBA that would be one thing, but it’s not a requirement.

  22. Mike Slinker! I guess things could get worse! Too close & entwined with the “good ole boys & girl” that have been messing up the city — in my opinion. If you were the campaign mgr for the woman who became mayor (LOL) and you are actively campaigning for the other 3 stoogies on the the board, then what will change or become better? I would think you have the same lack of vision as the ones you are supporting. I’ve only noticed one on that board that actually takes the time to talk to citizens & act on their concerns. The other 4 run out of the meetings & out the back door as soon as the gavel goes down so they don’t have to talk to anyone!! Something fishing with that goup I’m thinking. We need someone who actually does something instead of making promises of “building bridges” to Washington (as Slinker did during the last election). We need to mend the bridges here in La Vergne — that should be the focus — too many problems here that need attention.

  23. Cee Dee,

    You know that’s true in the last election when Mike Slinker said he was going to build all the way to Washington, this city don’t need a dang bridge built, it just needs the “POT HOLES” filled with concrete instead of water, so we can get back to a firm foundation!!!

    To me, the aspect of building a bridge is to go over something, the new mayor doesn’t need to travel over a bridge, she or he need to put a haz mat suit on and get deep down into this mess and start claning and clearing this mess up. Believe me it will take time, on the other hand, you have to start somewhere.

  24. I am just sitting here reading what everyone is saying and enjoying this. I would love to chime in again but going to let this rest for I dont want to be hunted down and hurt, from the good ole boys and girl!

  25. I believe our elected officials are working to the best of their abilities, but that big city problems have landed and perhaps need a stronger hand to deal with them.

    I would like our mayor – whether it’s Mr. Erwin, Mike Slinker, or Senna Mosley – to take a long hard look at what other communities have done to address the problems. Now I know this is a BIG example, but I remember New York City had a horrible reputation for gangs and crime back in the 1980s. The city has turned its image around by more police, etc. Are there nearby communities who’ve had the same problems? What did they do right to resolve them? What did they do wrong so the problems are still there? Inglewood area of Nashville is a good example… it’s turning around and becoming popular again.

    I also would like to see the city get some grant money to buy the foreclosed homes and turn them into eventually self-sustaining community centers… maybe an art studio, dance studio, etc. And I STILL WANT A CITY POOL. (kicking that dead horse again).

    The PERFECT location is the wooded area at the corner of Hollandale and Bill Stewart/Fergus. Amnon once tried to get more dense housing there and it was defeated. I’d be glad to name the pool after him if he donated the land for a city swimming pool.

    So yes off topic, but I do think all of the people mentioned have their hearts in the right place… they just might not have the ability to get us where we need to be yet. Let’s learn from other cities and/or become the GOOD EXAMPLE for others to learn from us.

  26. WELL SAID KATHY!!! How about you running for Alderman? I think you would do a great job!!!!!! We all know how you love this city and we need people who can get the job done for all the right reasons!!! Thanks to everyone who thinks I should run for Mayor. I appreciate your trust in me!!!! Remember it takes all of us working together for this city!!!!!

  27. My comments are this….Senna for Mayor, Kathy for Alderman, Michelle M for Alderman. this city might run better!!!

  28. Oh, Kathy — don’t we have enough named after Amnon????

  29. I typed up a long post but decided I could address it in a much shorter manner.

    The officials who are currently in office have all been elected in the past few years, the longest serving members last re-elected in 2006. The point is regardless of how fit or unfit you view any of these individuals to be, WE ELECTED ALL OF THEM! If you think you can do better, show me what you can do and run for office this fall!

    I’ve seen a lot of criticism of Mike Slinker on here, what about Matt Church? I met Matt when he was running for alderman, I think he’s an intelligent guy and seemingly would have been an asset to the city. But WE did not elect him, we elected Ronnie Erwin and Sherry Green.

    The one person we did not elect who has as great an impact as the mayor is our City Administrator. I’m not saying we need to can Moshea, I don’t know if we do or not. But that’s where our attention should be focused.

  30. The mayor and our City Administrator Mr. Moshea, have our attention. We should be focused on the crime in our neighborhoods and schools. The shabby roadsides, the trash in our ditches, and yes under staffed police and fire departments. We have one of the news channels in LaVergne every day. Channel 5 reported on the rock quarry tonight and the mayor stated that he was unaware of it. Please give me a break the Waldrons are his family. Dennis Waldron was his step daddy.

  31. I too have a hard time believing someone at City Hall was unaware of the rock quarry, but certain builders & developers have seemingly been running this city for decades — and some even have bragged about owning this city & can do whatever they want to — this from a “former” city planner.

  32. Justin,
    Have you graduated high school yet? How can you say Mike Slinker came in a poor third place? He received over 3,000 votes in an election where Mosely and Waldron ran together — the proof is in the pudding when they both celebrated at the Civic Auditorium during the night of the election (and the results showed). Mike Slinker was left by himself and he still received over 3,000 votes. Tell me, Justin — how can you say it was a poor 3rd place finish? Nothing poor about that one…

    Also remember: I am HOPING Mike Slinker runs for Mayor…he hasn’t told me one way or the other. I just think he would be perfect for our city. We need more educated people in office — currently, there is NO ONE on the Board who has a college degree and most if not all have very limited knowledge of “Robert’s Rules of Order” and how parliamentary procedure works. Mike has experience working with the federal government as well and if you remember your time in Social Studies — the local government reports to the state and the state to federal. Mike has experience serving on a federal government affairs committee (if I remember correctly in his debate speech in 2008). I also remember him being very cordial to both Mosely and Waldron — no mudd slinging. He’s very professional.

    Think of this — if this guy can get over 3,000 votes in his first time out with limited work at the polls due to work obligations, how do you think he couldn’t be a strong candidate in this next election against Ronnie? Evidently, this guy has alot of influence in the community and alot of people like him because of his professionalism, his education, his government experience with his current job and the community involvement he has in LaVergne, Smyrna, Murfreesboro and the entire Rutherford County.

    PS: Let’s not forget how professional he was during the last election as well. He didn’t have to campaign dirty either. There never was any mudd slinging during the last election against 2 of the strongest incumbents we have in our city and yet he still got over 3,000 votes. Justin — can you help me understand this? Maybe you should run against Mike Slinker and see how your chances fair?

    Let me know something about you and who knows, I might vote for you.

    • L C,
      Yes, I did graduate high school. I am very well educated, but not all people have had the opportunities along the way that others have had. Some of us have had to work and raise families along the way. If a poll were taken in LaVergne at any given time, I think that you would find most of LaVergne residents were in my shoes just hard working folks. Everyone in LaVergne remembers the election in question and who ran with whom. Remember I am uneducated not STUPID. LC, I am a working man, and I have gained the education that comes with a job well done over the years. I have worked hard to become top in my profession, and I have. (Yea, I am a professional) surprised! I also have obligations I don’t have the time nor desire to commit to the city of LaVergne, but I know this.
      I will say this; Mr. Slinker would be out if I were looking to hire, without at least a Bachelors Degree he would not be qualified to work for me.
      I have met Mr. Slinker and he reminded me of that car salesman trying so hard to sell the last lemon on the lot, most of the people that I know think that he has the want to be “somebody syndrome”. The few boards and committees that he has joined or been appointed to do not impress most people and would go on without him. His low degree of education should be left in the closet along with his other small achievements.
      My suggestions to Mr. Slinker would be: Always treat people with respect you never know who you are talking to, Get a hobby, take this time to be with your family and friends, your life will be full and have meaning. LC, my entire career has involved with some type of elected official. Some are friends and some are not, but I have the respect of all. LaVergne is a diverse community, we moved here to get out into the country (years ago) we love our little part of the world. If I ever decide to run Mr. Slinker would be embarrassed to compare bridges Federal and or State to mine.

  33. LC,

    I don’t understand why you think Slinker didnt come in 3rd. There were only 3 running for mayor and Ronnie was first,Senna was second so that leaves Slinker 3rd. DUH!!! Everyone I jave talked to lately feels that you must be related to Slinker because you are certainly defeanding him like you might be his wife. We all have talked and we do know we need a bhange for the city but we need someone that isnt friends with the good ole boy network! This will never change if Slinker is hired.

    On another note I heard the supervisors today all had a training class held by the mayor for Harrassment and other topics. This is a start Mr. Mayor but I feel it is alittle too late to try to help yourself in the election year. You cant cover your fanny now for lawsuits have already happened and its all over the news. The training classes should have been held right as someone came and complained. this goes back to the management of the city.

  34. For your information LC, I was not the one going around the neighborhoods with anyones signs but my own. Mike’s signs were on Waldron’s porch NOT mine!! Second, the city set up the Civic auditorium for ALL to come. MY GROUP went to my HOME 149 Greewood Drive. Get your facts straight. Third, the election was the city’s first held during a presidental election SOOO votes were going to be higher than the regular city election that was held on previous years during October.Check percentages on the last election 3000 votes were about 20%. Fourth, I attended the University of Tenn at Martin for 3 years. No, I did not graduate, but I am educated and attend classes with FEMA, MTAS and any others I can find. ( If memory serves me I believe Mike graduated from a 2 year tech school) If that is the case who has more college? Just asking. I do not know who you are nor who Justin is, but I must say Justin has more facts straight than you. I am not against anyone , but I am not going to sit here and watch my name be thrown around when you do not have a clue as to what you are talking about. I work very hard for this city and I am out a lot of nights when all of you are snug in your warm bed because I dearly love what I do. If you do not like me OH WELL. There are a lot who don’t , but what you see with me is what you get. I have ONLY run with one person in my life and trust me it was not Dennis. I WILL NEVER make that mistake again. I am not perfect and don’t claim to be, and I don’t hide behind a fake name. I suggest you give me a call. I will be happy to prove my points 793-2469.
    P.S. I have never threw mudd in a n election and have made many new friends while running, but I will not stand by and say nothing while people are telling lies. Stupid is and Stupid does!!

    • I would like to elaborate on the second fact that I listed above. Mayor Ewrin set up the civic auditorium for all three candidates for the 2008 alderman race. All three of us went to a different location. I hope that each of us thanked him for trying to show that the city was honored by all three of us wanting to work for this city. If I did not I am embarrassed for myself because this was a good faith effort by our Mayor to thank ALL who ran.

  35. P.S. Yes I realize that I used an incorrect verb in my previous P.S. statement. I should have used thrown rather than threw.

  36. BearRoller9640,
    You may want to get your facts straight — can you tell me when Mike Slinker ever came in 3rd when running against Ronnie Erwin?

    Might want to get the facts straight!

    I hope Mike Slinker does run for Mayor against Ronnie…he definitely can beat him! Otherwise, LaVergne will be in the same shape it has been in. Like Kathy said last year after the election — the more things change…the more they stay the same! You might as well support Mike Slinker who can beat Ronnie Erwin!

    Here’s what I suggest…let’s do a poll of everyone. I wonder if Kathy can put something out to see what the numbers are. How about those facts?

    Takers anyone? Let the election begin…should be fun!

  37. Senna,
    20% of votes in a LaVergne election will win a local election. Get YOUR facts straight sister.

    I’ve been in LaVergne a long time and can remember only one time when a Mayor received that many votes.

    Most of those votes Mike received were from those who knew him well. They will be back to beat Ronnie Erwin (if he chooses to run). Let’s all hope he does!

    Might want to get your facts straight too…You and your family as well as Waldron had to work the polls all day for 15 days in a row to get yours and Waldron’s %’s.

    Something tells me that most of this site might have either single voted for you or voted for you and Waldron. Interesting huh?

    Want to talk facts now?

  38. Ronnie Erwin vs MIKE SLINKER

    Let’s do a poll….and you choose!

  39. Wait I am laughing so hard, I can not write……………….. OK …………..still laughing……………LC the local election is on a primary now!!!!! IN November with the president or govenor’s races. No more city elections in October. I got this changed the first year I was elected because it saved money. I would think our percentages were high because people want to know that you are willing to work for their vote, and will have the time to work for the city if elected. If you don’t have time to work the polls then maybe the people realize you don’t have the time for the city!!!!!! Hey sister got my facts straight!!!!!!

  40. I think the citizens of La Vergne know who will do the job for them becuase they voted this ear in the Ruthies for Senna! We love you, Senna!!

  41. here ya go people the results of the election…enjoy!!!

    VOTES= 14,810
    Alderman City of Lavergne VOTE FOR
    2 4193 1563 0 5756 38.87% SENNA MOSLEY
    2288 845 0 3133 21.15% MIKE SLINKER
    4064 1813 0 5877 39.68%DENNIS R. WALDRON
    26 9 0 35 0.24% WRITE-IN
    6 3 0 9 0.06% WRITE-IN

  42. LC — So Mr. Slinker couldn’t devote much time to his campaign because of his “job obligations” — how would he have the time for the city of La Vergne? I believe the other two that ran during the last election spent their time going door to door and talking to the people because they wanted to meet the public, state their qualifications, listen to the concerns, and show the voters that they want to serve the citizens. It may be considered old fashion to campaign that way, but it certainly makes an impression on me. They made the time! Also I recall that Senna had her supporters at her own home the night of the election — not at the Civic Auditorium — which as she stated was open to “all” election night. Seems you are confused. As I recall during the debate which was televised, Mr. Slinker never addressed the actual question he was asked, but kept talking about his connections to “build a bridge” to Washington. Not very impressive to me when we have so many issues here that need immediate attention to avoid more negative publicity. Don’t need more puppets — we’ve had enough of them. The group that plays together . . . We need someone who stands on their own ground & listens to the citizens & acts accordingly. Too many good ole boys sitting already!

  43. Now THIS is some interesting stuff!

    In thinking back to the last election, I cannot remember exactly how I voted. I know I voted for Senna (and I’m not just saying that because she reads this board). That left 1 vote for either Slinker or Waldron. I’ve spoken with Dennis on a few occassions, I like him and I believe in his heart he truly wants what is best for this city. That said, I felt it might be time for some new blood like Mike Slinker, who is also a local business executive. I’m disappointed that I cannot remember whom I voted for.

    LC, I have to tell you I don’t really think you’re helping Mike’s case here. If Slinker was too busy to campaign for election, how will he find time to do the actual job? I understand being to busy with work trying to provide for your family. That is honorable and right. But I’m also not campaigning for a job as time consuming as city alderman, much less mayor. I’m not sure that Slinker’s problem was the fact that he didn’t campaign enough. He contacted me and took time to address my conerns. I think the problem is that we have 27,000 people in this city and only 14,000 votes?

    In fact, since each voter got 2 votes, doesn’t that mean that technically only 7,405 people voted???

    The people who voted are those who care about this community, the people on this board and the people who have lived here for much of their lives. Our biggest problem doens’t involve who is alderman, our biggest problem is that apparently 15,000 people who live here don’t care enough about what happens at city hall, or at least only care to complain.

  44. Senna,
    Can you explain the following?

    The DNJ noted : “Senna Mosley, who voted against the suspension, said she thought a suspension wasn’t serious enough and indicated that she wanted him to be fired.”

    If you are such a fighter for the citizens of LaVergne, why didn’t make a motion for Mark Moshea to be fired? Sounds like you have more “bark” than you do power of influence to get things done and make a motion.

    Indicating you want someone to get fired, doesn’t get the job done. You have to make a motion. Are you sure you can handle the TRUTH?

  45. LC,

    The motion was made for “suspension” and was passed by all voting “yes” except Senna — what’s the point of making a motion for firing when the other passed! You must not have been there or didn’t watch the news story — Senna did mention on TV at the special meeting that she did not feel this was strong enough punishment & that she felt the citizens deserves better — facts. Her voice was overruled by the good ole boys. Truth!

  46. LC,
    I do not what your beef is with me except for the fact that I beat your pick for alderman in the last election.Get over it!! If you have such an issue, why are you not person enough to call me, I have given you my numbers and also my email? Can’t handle the truth? With that said, the Mayor made the motion immediatly asking for Mark’s suspenion and a second was made. That motion passed!! Do you know Robert’s Rules? You can not make another motion. DUH!! I did ask for his resignation a few years back and that motion did fail. You must not know much about the last 6 years. Do you attend the city meetings? If you did you would know the answers to your own dumb questions.

  47. LC, you mentioned Mike Slinker was an expert on Roberts Rules of Order, so he can explain to you why Senna did not make a motion for Moshea to be fired.

    You cannot have two open motions at the same time, and Senna did the appropriate thing, deferring the right to set the first motion to the mayor (or vice mayor). The first motion made was to suspend Moshea. The only way Senna could have made a motion would be if that motion did not receive a second, or if it did not have a majority vote (it met both criteria, therefore Senna could not make a motion to fire Moshea).

  48. Cee Dee,
    If Senna’s voice was overruled by the good ole’ boys, why keep Senna in office? That’s my point! She has no power or influence on this board of Mayor and Alderman. She may be the best thing since sliced bread, but if she has not power of influence — why promote her?

    Do you get what I mean? I’m trying to help out and offer suggestions and think CHANGE needs to be made — regardless who gets in office. We need NEW LEADERSHIP!!!

    • But we don’t need any more of the good ole boys — they are the ones that need to go & it looks like La Vergne may be waking up to that fact.

  49. MichaelinLV,
    Remember, I’m not Mike Slinker…however, I do know one thing — this is NOT the first time a discrimination lawsuit has been filed against the city!

    Senna has had several years to MAKE A MOTION!

    AND SHE HAS NOT — FACT!

  50. Senna,
    WHY DON’T YOU EXPLAIN WHY YOU HAVE NEVER MADE A MOTION TO FIRE MARK MOSHEA SINCE YOU HAVE BEEN IN OFFICE?

    YOU, yourself, KNOW THAT THERE HAVE BEEN PROBLEMS WITH THIS PERSON FROM DAY 1.

    Senna – Is now your time to come clean???

  51. Go to City of La Vergne.org look up the minutes from 2004 thru 2009. Read carefully. You can also look up my motion on the DNJ. There was several articles regarding my motion. You really don’t know anything about La Vergne.

  52. Senna,
    Whether I know anything about LaVergne or not, I’m not the one in office. I’m not an Alderman or Mayor.

    You definitely are digging a big hole for yourself, because NOW you are saying that you have made a motion and it did not pass — SOUNDS LIKE POOR LEADERSHIP AND LACK OF INFLUENCE.

    Just Admit — You cannot get the job done for us hard working folks in LaVergne! You have no influence. For the sake of the people, Get out of Office Yourself If you CANNOT MAKE A DIFFERENCE…you can only “bark”. A dog can do that.

  53. LC,
    I have worked very hard for this city, and will continue to do so as long as the citizens want me. I stand behind everything I have done. I am not the one digging a hole for me. You are digging it for Mike Slinker for whom you want in office. LOOKS like you are getting a little angry. From the last election, it looks like people of La Vergne know what I am trying to do and have done. Guess I don’t have your vote!! lol

  54. LC,

    I know one thing and that is I did hear Senna say that she didnt vote for Mark to take 4 weeks off but she did tell the media this wasnt a strong enough punishment and she wants him to be fired. She has been trying to get things done with the city for several years now because she has dug up alot of facts and has been working hard to change things but you cant change things when the “GOOD OLE BOY” network is in place. More of them then there are of her so she doesnt have a change in hell to change things. It would be the same way for Skinner if he was in her shoes so dont be starting crap with Senns because she is very well Loved in the city.

  55. bearroller9640,
    Do you hear the sound of the violin? Woe is me…Senna has no chance to make a difference but we LOVE her.

    Get over it…sounds like SENNA has her own “GOOD OLE’ GIRL NETWORK.

    Get Real. Just because someone is well loved in a city doesn’t mean they could LEAD our CITY! Remember, that’s the problem… Or is there is so much going online that you got that mixed up too.

    I SUPPORT ANYONE WHO WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE…I WANT CHANGE — REGARDLESS WHO IT IS!

  56. “…I WANT CHANGE — REGARDLESS WHO IT IS!”

    I could make a comment about the last time we elected someone just for the sake of change… but I won’t :)

    BTW Ivy, we miss you here, where’d you go??

  57. LC
    Your claim to fame is your close friendship with Mr. Slinker. You have been his voice for so long that sometimes I forget whom I am talking to. All the comments for the last few days are just speculations without his input. At first, I respected your views but now I have heard enough from you, your ranting and ravings are making no sense and the crazy lies are making Mike’s “NETWORK look really bad.
    Personally, I would like to hear from Mr. Slinker. Did not know Mosley had a “NETWORK”. I came to this site only to hear the news in and around LaVergne. I must tell you that I have read your material and Mosley’s material and personally she has won me over even more. Mrs. Mosley is a class act; she has tried to give out information while being kind and forthcoming. I am sorry for the sarcasm and criticism she is receiving from you! By the way the German people wanted change in the 30’s regardless of who it was.

  58. Don’t judge Mike Slinker by my comments. I’m my own person – a citizen of LaVergne. I’m trying to get someone in office who WILL make a difference. Senna has proven that she is one voice among the others on the Board and none of them LISTEN to her. I’m sorry to hear that the “FEW” of you on this site do not understand that important fact. Remember, even if Senna has the best ideas in the world, if she can’t get anything passed — what good is Senna Mosely doing in office?

    Michaelin LV — You mentioned that you voted for Senna in the last election. Do you like wasting your vote on a person you know good and well that she has proven she cannot get past the good ole’ boy system and get things done for us! Can you answer that question? Please help me here. I’m trying to understand your logic?

    Also, I asked for us to do a poll and see who the people on this site would vote for if the election were held today. There has only be a hand full of people who responded which tells me that either people don’t care or they are still considering WHO should be our next MAYOR?

  59. BTW, MichaelinLV — when I mentioned “I SUPPORT ANYONE WHO WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE…I WANT CHANGE — REGARDLESS WHO IT IS!”….that is a figure of speech young man. LOL…

    Come on guys…let’s try and get along with each other. I apologize if I am coming off too strong — I’m sure if Mike knew I was doing this for him, he would not approve of my actions. I’m just upset at the current mindset of a certain few on this site who seem to have blinders on.

    Senna needs to realize she needs help on the board if she wants to remain. To have a majority, we need to get 3 more people in there to help her; otherwise, why not MIKE SLINKER since we all know he CAN work with Senna. Unfortunately, he even told me that he can work with anyone on the board to make a difference. I just know that Senna isn’t Mayor material and she has no power of influence by herself!

    And it truth be told, I have read a number of your responses (including Senna’s) and she has admitted to this fact herself…she feels like the only one standing up and speaking out!

    Help me here, guys and gals. Where are all of you? I want to hear what you think? I’m smart enough to know that it’s going to take a lot of work and STRONG LEADERSHIP (with INFLUENCE of other board members) to get our city back on track, but it starts with the VOTERS! We have to elect people who can work together.

  60. As a summary of all that I have said…We all know that Senna cannot do it by herself. She’s proven that. Can we atleast agree on that one point?

    I’m going to try and reach Mike Slinker tomorrow and apologize for getting his name out like this on my behalf. I was the one saying he should run for Mayor. He shouldn’t be criticized. I want to meet all of you sometime. I’m a widow and want the best for LaVergne — just like all of you.

    Does anyone have his number? I can’t find his cell # he gave me during the last election.

    Thanks!

  61. LC
    Please have someone proofread what you send out for the world to read. You seem to be rambling around in your own mind and putting it out into space for the entire world to read. Evidently, my part of the world doesn’t seem to understand you. I started reading This is La Vergne because the people are friendly and intelligent and even when they seem to disagree it’s all in fun. LC, you have basically stated that the people on this site are not intelligent because they all do not agree with you regarding the elected officials or future elected officials. Looks like you are the only one that feels this way. I feel that you have missed out on the meaning of This is La Vergne. I am embarrassed for you. If anyone on this site knows Mr. Slinker, would you please inform him that someone is running his name through the mud!!!!

  62. Apologies ahead of time if there are typos, incomplete or run-on sentences, or garbled thoughts. It’s late, y’all.

    Senna may be a lone voice, but you have to start somewhere. Because my daughter has a class on the night the board meets, I’m not able to come to meetings but did manage one. At that one meeting I attended, I witnessed one person who spoke up and questioned what exactly extra money in the budget was being allocated to pay for because she knew she’d have to answer to her constituents about it. The budget discussion was tabled until it could be clarified.

    That a budget wasn’t willy-nilly passed without a good explanation of where the taxpayer moneys were being spent was pretty effective, in my opinion.

    I’ve watched Senna ask for more funding for emergency personnel and equipment, specifically the police. I’ve seen her lobby to get the Box 100 group to LaVergne so the firefighters and others who answer emergency calls have a backup of community support to provide fresh water and meet other needs while in the field.

    That’s pretty effective, in my opinion.

    Working with other members of the board and the police, Senna helped bring a haz-mat emergency trailer to our town. We do have several manufacturers who use chemicals in their production facilities, we have a major interstate that goes through LaVergne with trucks hauling God knows what, so you never know when a Haz-Mat team is necessary.

    Again, pretty effective leadership in my opinion.

    Finally, Senna is ALWAYS available to city employees and the people who live here. She’s not afraid to speak up on their behalf, on our behalf. Being a city worker is a pretty ungrateful job (low pay, angry citizens) so these people deserve all the support they can get … whether through training or having an elected official speak on their behalf.

    I do agree with LC that it IS up to VOTERS to influence the board… because we can’t expect that one lone voice to be the cure-all. I think this starts by opening the meetings to ALLOW CITIZENS TO SPEAK without having to have advance reservations to approach the microphone. That’s shocking in my opinion that there’s no open floor period during the public meetings.

    Maybe that’s where our phone calls need to start… let Mayor Erwin and Ms. Mosley, and Mr. Waldron and Ms. Green and Mr. Gann know that we want the ability to speak at the meetings without having to file our own paperwork in advance. And we want our elected officials to SPEAK INTO MICROPHONES when the do meet so we can hear what’s said, including the workshops.

    I have more to say, but staring 12:30 in the face and knowing I have to be at the office at 8:00 a.m. … time to stop. By the way for any of you who’ve read this to the end, there will be a few housekeeping announcements coming in the next few days for This is LaVergne… You may or may not like them.

Leave a Reply

