LMS Principal Moving to LHS

The kids are shaking in their boots at the specter of Mr. Ash moving from LaVergne Middle School to LaVergne High.  Mr. Ash was very strict at LMS so students who’ve had him are a little nervous to see if he’ll be the same when he moves to the high school next month.  According to the DNJ via school board press release, the change comes because of academic concerns,

La Vergne High Principal Melvin Daniels will be reassigned next school year because of “continued academic concerns” at the school, the school system announced Tuesday.

Daniels will be replaced by Dirk Ash, the principal of La Vergne Middle, according to a school system press release.

Rutherford County Schools Director Harry Gill Jr. also announced Tuesday that Sandra Eaton will lead new Oakland Middle; Avy Seymore will head new Whitworth-Buchanan; and Central Middle Principal Cary Holman will become the principal at La Vergne Middle in August.

This will be an interesting few months for students and faculty alike!

10 Responses

  1. I’m trying to be tactful here, but hallelujah!! I’ve never dealt with Mr. Ash, but I’ve been extremely unhappy with Mr. Daniels and his performance during his tenure at LHS, and I know many other parents that feel the same way.

  2. I am happy to hear this also – I have never met Mr. Ash – but it sounds as if he is hell-bent on order and being in control in the system – and I am thankful for that! Sounds like there is a horrible gang issue at the high school – we need to get away from that!!

  3. My father in law used to teach at LMS and I beleive he had good things to say about Mr. Ash. All I can say is that it’s good to see that any prooblems at LHS are being addressed. I’m sorry for Mr. Daniels losing his job, but if he couldn’t deal with the issues, replacing him will be best for everyone’s interests.

  4. I work for Mr. Ash. He’s a great person, teacher, mentor, administrator, and leader!
    If you’ve ever met him, you’d know quickly that you either don’t like him, or you do. There is no gray area when it comes down to it.
    For five years, he has led LMS to the top as far as scores go in academic achievement. For the 2008-2009 school year, LMS was ranked #1 in the county middle schools and the top 15 in the state.
    I really do believe this is a good decision. Daniels probably did the best he could with what he had, but that just wasn’t enough. Ash will push every educator, and staff member to do their very best.
    Although, he will be missed at LMS, I wish him the best of luck! We all know he’s going to need it.

  5. I have a confession!! When Mr. Ash first came to La Vergne Middle we had some differences in opinions!!! Since that time, I sat by and watched and came to realize that could it be that I, me ……could I have been wrong. The answer was yes I was. Mr. Ash has stepped up to the plate and has shown this community he cares about our children. This is a proven fact when he stepped up to the plate and had a GANG awareness meeting at his school. He complelely won me over. It is going to take someone like Mr. Ash to regain our high school. He will probably make some mad, but we as a communtiy MUST get behind him and help him do what MUST be done. We must give him time and our patience. I love LHS and look forward to our future. I will certainly help Mr. Ash in anyway that I can because I know the potenial this school has and our children have to give. Wecome Mr. Ash!!!!

    • I’m excited to watch as our HS becomes the school everyone deserves. Recently, Smyrna Home Depot finished a “face lift” of the Band Room. Hopefully, with the power of this blog and our actions as citizens, our community can become what each of us desire.

      Oh the times, they are a changing.

      Senna, any reason why I don’t see the Mayor comment on here, or have I just missed it?

  6. From what I hear, many of the students and teachers at LHS aren’t at all happy about the change. Apparently Mr. Ash is quite the disciplinarian (especially about the dress code, which isn’t enforced at all at the moment). That’s fine by me, as the kids have pretty much done whatever they pleased over the last few years and that’s going to come to a screeching halt. A couple of teachers have also said they won’t come back next year, but you know how that goes – we’ll just have to wait and see.

    I sure would have loved to be a fly on the LHS wall yesterday when this came out!

    • Sherry, I know what you are saying. At one time, I was concerned that all the school was worried about was how the children were dressing rather than what they were being taught. With that said, I am so tired of seeing back ends and trashy dressing!!!! I am not saying I do not want children to express themselves. Everyone knows how opinionated I am and have always been, but I was never allowed to show my back side or anyother side Literally that is!!! lol I sure did express myself, but I also had respect for myself and we respected authority.(teachers still remember me) Just ask Sen. Jim Tracy. He was a student teacher at my old high school. Dang, he made me write off everyday for talking. I know that is hard to believe. Change is always scarey for everyone!!! I think the first year will be very hard, but I am praying that the change will be positive and with ALL our help in can be. He will have to be hard noised to let these children know he means business and that they are his major concern. Hey, I feel for him. I know a lot of teachers have been very unhappy for a long time and probably are just disgusted with the reputation that LHS has accquired. I have had children at LHS from the beginning until 2007. We have some very good outstanding teachers. LHS will always be dear to my heart and I am willing to help out in any way I can to make this the school I KNOW it was and can be again.

      • You’re right . . . the first year will probably be the toughest. Of course, my daughter will be a senior next year . . . that figures!

  7. My daughter might be mad about it because he IS strict, but given how loosey-goosey kids are on lunch breaks, etc. I say BRING IT! Congratulations to Mr. Ash on his newest headache! LOL…

Leave a Reply

