The Scoop

I wanted to provide a quick update to readers about the HobNob and This is LaVergne relationship.  You spoke, I listened.  This is LaVergne lives. I have offered to HobNob to syndicate our content because I still remain convinced that it will be a great opportunity for our local retailers to get positive information out about their food, merchandise, and services.  I believe that having an opportunity to advertise to our own community outside of the traditional print media will appeal to other retail businesses to come to our community and yes we do need retail.

After meeting last week with the HobNob staff and Mayor Erwin, along with Alderwoman Mosley and city administrator Mark Moshea, what the city is working hard to attract is a department-type anchor store.  I fully support their efforts and believe that once it’s proven that one can thrive, others will also come.

Bad Bad Ivy and I offered several other suggestions… who knows if they’ll implement any, but it gives me great hope to know our public officials are listening.  Coming away from the meeting, it’s clear that old habits are hard to break in this age of new media but the Mayor and Alderwoman definitely have their hearts in the right place.

If you can believe this, I think our greatest challenge may actually be to get them to harden their hearts a little more rather than to continue to say “Yes” to the lowest common denominator.   Wow… I feel like lightning is going to strike me now.  At the risk of sounding like a total cad, our city shouldn’t bear the full responsibility of housing and feeding everyone in middle Tennessee… that’s a job that should be shared equally among all of our communities.  But that’s another story for another time.

Meanwhile when HobNob does officially launch, I’ll let you know and encourage you to bookmark them and visit often.  I will continue to write here (and still welcome other writers!), but our posts are likely to also appear on HobNobLaVergne.com… just know we are okay with that.  We aren’t losing anything here and will continue to support any efforts that will help LaVergne grow in a positive, dynamic, exciting way.

UPDATE:  I did add a facebook page for This is LaVergne.  It’s right here… come on over!

7 Responses

  1. I appreciate the update Kathy. A few thoughts:

    – I think you hit the nail on the head – Let this curent continue to succeed, but also support other sites that are designed around our community.

    – I like the concept of bringing a department store to the city. If it wasn’t mentioned by the mayor, our friends over on the Smyrna blog noted that the Smyrna JC Penney store is currntly off the table; why not try to bring that to La Vergne? I’ve also said before that if we would widen Old Nashville highway, that area is primed for growth. Perhaps a Costco or Sams Club in La Vergne just behind the Lowes?

    – I think about 5-6 new hotes have gone up recently off Sam Ridley parkway behind Cracker Barrell, has the city thought about any recruiting efforts for hotels?

    – I totally agree with your comments about our M/A board being too soft. Is that really news? I support compassion, but when you are compassionate with a few to the fault of many, that’s where we have a problem. Parking is a perfect issue. The board has the ability with the stroke of a pen to eliminate front yard parking, but they don’t want to do this because people already own some of those tiny homes in LFE and have 3 cars and 1 parking spot. Compassion is allowing people to cover thier yards with gravel (if we’re lucky) and park anywhere they want. Unfortuantely the fault is that it drives down property values. I think we all see what type of effect dropping home values have on a neighborhood.

    – Lake Forest Estates remains the 1000 pound gorilla in the room. I bet if you surveyed homeowners in LFE, 80% or more of them probably regret buying a house in that area for all the reasons we’ve discussed before. Until that perception changes, I don’t see the ability to attract businesses to La Vergne (without pretending we’re in Smyrna which the developement next to Target was intended to do).

  2. Kathy,

    Just wondering since the reader’s of TiLav were opposed to the merger of HobNob, how did this affect you personally? Was it a good decision, only for the readers and possibly a loss for you?

    I know that it must take many hours a week to do this site and I’m sure it’s only a volunteer service to the community; I hope that at least the readers are referring you as a Real Estate Agent.

    We only heard the reader’s opinion, I wonder now if this was a good business decision for you.

  3. There is a financial impact on me to operate this site … I pay the cost of owning multiple domain names and keeping them renewed in order to keep cyber-squatters out.

    Business-wise, my hope is that readers would call me or refer me to people they know who need to buy or sell real estate. This surprisingly doesn’t happen often. Frankly it hurts that more local people don’t call… I promise I’m not so busy that I can’t provide lots of time and energy to helping them buy, or in selling their house.

    As in the rest of the country, it’s also an extremely tough economy here. If there is no improvement for me in the housing market in 2010 (and it’s looking pretty grim so far), well… dot dot dot…

    It would help tremendously if our readers would remember to refer me when it comes to housing … I don’t want to take business from your aunt, cousin, or family friend, but I don’t understand why people hire agents who live and operate one or two counties over. What’s wrong with using someone local?

    But I’m not here to whine. Yay for This is LaVergne.

  4. A department store would be great.I do not think we will see Costco do anything here soon,as they do not have locations in Knoxville and Chattanooga.I really think one or two restaurant franchises would thrive here.Given the traffic count on Murfressboro Road from the Davidson county line,a Westen Sizzler,Steak and Shake,Ryan’s or Golden Corral would prosper.They would also prosper with minimal effects to the already established restaurants in LaVergne.The real estate acquisition here should be at an excellent cost basis vs Sam Ridley Road and other areas.

  5. Kathy,
    HobNob La Vergne launches Monday, March 8th. The day will be full of activities starting with a special guest appearance on the Fox 17 Tennessee Morning Show at 6:45 AM. Set your televisions and watch La Vergne on display! Following the television show, the official launch celebration will take place at the New Apple Buffet starting at 6:30pm (5179 Murfreesboro Rd).

    Hope everyone can come and join in on the excitement!

    Sincerely,
    Mike Slinker

  6. I am so glad this site is staying this way. I have been over to Hob Nob and been looking around and found out that this site is just getting going across the country. Mnay states dont event have anything developed yet for their cities. It looks like to me that TN,KY, AND FL are the only states that HOBNOB. Hmmm. Will HOBNOB take off an become the site to be a member of? I honestly dont care and will be reading this site more! Thanks Kathy for having this site and if you do get advertisers I will make sure I do business with them.

  7. Was that the Big Apple on channel 4 news that was busted for selling alcohol to minors.
    Well that was a hobnob kick off to beat all hodnob kickoffs.
    The news reports on your restaurant being busted, then on where you can get the lowdown on it.
    That beats any paper that I have ever seen, if you cant find the news make it.
    Only in La Vergne.

Leave a Reply

