I Almost Cussed… and LOUD

Evil Wasp

Remember our post a couple of years ago about the giant mosquitoes (aka crane flies)?  I have another insect gripe this year…

WASPS.

I have been stung TWICE in the last 6 days by wasps and thankfully no really foul four-letter words came out of my mouth (though I assuredly screamed them in my brain).   The first time a red wasp nailed my pinky finger when I opened a storm door to show a home in Smyrna.  The second time I was listing a house and the one and only wasp inside (pictured on the right) nailed me on my ring finger.

Ironically, there was very little swelling with the first one, but the second one was bad enough that I had to move my wedding ring to my other hand.  A nurse friend said if you get stung enough that you can develop a sensitivity to the stings and get worse and worse each time.

Is it just me and my sweetness this year *cough* or are the wasps worse than years past?  UGH!

HATE. THEM.

By the way, I have photos from last night’s Board of Aldermen meeting.  Will post some meeting info when time permits… interesting stuff.

2 Responses

  1. It looks like Channel 4 covered last night’s meeting, but more from the quarry perspective, not the overlay perspective. I wasn’t able to make it last night and would love any feedback.

    Senna, if you’re reading this, you told Channel 4 that Codes could issue a citation today forcing the rock quarry to shut down. Who can force codes to issue that citation? If I call them because my neighbors grass is too tall, they’ll come out and look at it. Can I just call codes myself and say “by the way, there is an illegal quarry on Blair Road, please go shut it down?”

  2. I was driving home last night around 9:30. I immediately turned to channel 5 to wait to see if it was about the overlay. Unfortunately it was the quarry. But I still found it interesting. Especially when the reporter said that the residents feel like the city government will let matter go with a slap on the wrist but the residents are not going to let this go (those weren’t the exact words but that’s what I got from it).

    But I am interested to hear about the overlay so, any information would be great. Thinking about this overlay made me wonder. Even though I love the idea, I think they need to get waldron rd widened first(promised at least 4 years ago). Traffic on that road is bad enough so what new buildings would want to build there? Make sense?

    On another note, there is a new little restaurant (if you want to call it that) opening on m’boro road. On the sign it said something about $5 tacos. It’s in a cute red house not far from sonic heading towards smyrna.

    And yes, the wasp are horrible this year. I’m constantly ducking and weaving trying to away from them. No stings yet (knock on wood).

Leave a Reply

