Friday News & Open Thread

These past two weeks have certainly been nothing short of interesting here in La Vergne (I put the space there especially for Angie!).  We’ve had some good news, bad news, and really bad news.  Here are the latest news links.

Judge says NO to quarry DNJ article

Injunction denied via Channel 4

New HR director departure DNJ article

The really bad news is – of course – about Amanda Dintelman and her traumatic injury.  Her family commented on our site that they really appreciate the prayers and support they are getting from our community, so please – again – remember Amanda, her family, her friends, as well as Christy Montes for how cloudy her future must seem right now.  I so want to hear good news about both young women… am hoping that there will be no permanent injury for Amanda and that she makes a full recovery.  Am also hoping that Christy will be able to find peace and that her future will be full of hope.

That said… let’s open the comments.  Any plans this weekend? Who’s applying for the HR job with LaV?  Think the quarry will ever have to pay their water and sewer bill?

16 Responses

  1. oh the comments on this article in the DNJ. All I can say DRAMA!!!

    • I copied and pasted the comments as they are truly lovely. I wanted to have time to read them later, and some of the hotter comment threads in the DNJ sometimes get removed and this one should be saved.

      • Gunner,

        The funny thing is the ex HR gr is probably right. There is so much going on at city hall it isnt funny. Curruption is very bad. The good ole boys just dont ant things known for it ill make them look bad. The rock quarry account still hasnt been created yet. I am so sick and tired of a certain person being picked on. I guess right now the silent treatment is going on with her at work.

        It’s election year and I truely hope that Mrs Mosley wins for mayor. I will be doing what I cn to help her with her election. Senna you will do great and I know you will win unless they fix the results. go get em girl show them that you can be the problem fixer!

      • The comments on the article are gone.

      • Gunner, after reading your post, I immediately went to the DNJ webite, and the comments were already gone, dang it. This was about 6:00 p.m. or so. Any chance you saved them and would be willing to e-mail them to me?

      • No problem Sherry, but I will need an email address.

      • Brain not in gear . . . an e-mail address would probably help. It’s predfan15@yahoo.com. Thanks!

  2. Its great that we know what is going on with the community but I’d hate to be an outsider looking in. All the drama would make me want to stay away from La Vergne.

  3. But then again drama is everywhere and in realization it is almost election time so drams is to be expected.

    In the meantime…Isn’t it lovely outside today? Birds chirpping, butterflies flying…such a nice peacful town :)

    • I know, I hate being seperated from my golf clubs on a day like this…

      • MichaelinLV. You should know that my column in the Smyrna AM for next week is based upon something you said. I did one on the perception of property taxes.

        Thanks for the initial idea.

      • Thanks Gunner! If there’s any money in it I’ll be happy to add my name to it :)

  4. yes it is beautiful outside. :)

  5. On a lighter note…

    An old man lived alone in Tennessee. He wanted to plant his annual tomato garden, but it was very difficult work, as the ground was hard (and ROCKY!)

    His only son, Bubba, who used to help him, was in prison. The old man wrote a letter to his son and described his predicament:

    Dear Bubba,
    I am feeling pretty sad, because it looks like I won’t be able to plant my tomato garden this year. I’m just getting too old to be digging up a garden plot. I know if you were here my troubles would be over.. I know you would be happy to dig the plot for me, like in the old days.
    Love, Papa

    A few days later he received a letter from his son.

    Dear Pop,
    Don’t dig up that garden. That’s where the bodies are buried..
    Love,
    Bubba

    At 4 a.m. the next morning, FBI agents and local police arrived and dug up the entire area without finding any bodies. They apologized to the old man and left.

    That same day the old man received another letter from his son.

    Dear Pop,
    Go ahead and plant the tomatoes now. That’s the best I could do under the circumstances.

    Love Bubba

    • A husband and wife are at the zoo. The wife is wearing a low cut shirt and tight pants as they pass the Gorilla cage the ape goes wild and shows signs of attraction to the wife. The husband says “honey shake around for him” she does and the ape begins pounding on the bars in a rage. Suddenly the husband opens the cage and shoves his wife in and yells. “NOW TELL HIM YOU HAVE A HEADACHE!!!

  6. I AM VERY UPSET RIGHT NOW…………

Leave a Reply

