Open Thread: Let’s Talk Politics Here

I am smitten with the work Mike Rodgers is doing for the children of LaVergne. My daughter has started going to the boxing gym – she’s in the conditioning stage of the program.  Although she’s not there this week because of mandatory baton camp, she’ll be back.  I love that the coaches work with the kids to get them in shape, they pray together, they work hard, they have goals.  Kudos again for that.

However, the story of the LaVergne Boxing Club has turned into a political free-for-all.  Let’s move that discussion to this thread because it’s not fair that a post whose focus should be about a great organization is somewhat hijacked by local politics.  After the jump, I’ve posted the comments related to politics… please continue your discussion in this thread.  Thanks y’all.

michaelinLV, on May 28, 2010 at 8:10 am Said:

With all of the financial problems this city has, do we really need to subsidize boxing? Don’t get me wrong, anything that gives kids something to do after school other than playing video games or joining gangs is great in my book. But it sounds like this organization is doing a great job without a handout from us taxpayers. They’ve got parents volunteering and they are doing private fundraising and have support from members of this community.

If the city wants to spend money and help citizens out, how about eliminating the double charge on water and sewage? I spend about $60 a month in the summer watering my lawn because I have to pay for sewage when none of that lawn water goes in the sewer. Since sewage costs more than water, I could save $30-$40 a month by not having to pay for sewage treatment that I am not using. I know you can’t put a meter on sewage, but Metro has a policy where they don’t charge you extra on summer water increases, and Mt. Juliet averages your bills in the summer to compensate for pools and irrigation. I’m not sure what Smyrna does, but it seems like there is a good solution here, especially since Metro jacked up the rates on our sewage processing!

Ok, now that I’ve gone completely off topic, I’ll let someone else get this train back on the tracks :)

Alderman Senna Mosley, on May 28, 2010 at 9:37 am Said:

MichaelinLv,
I always love hearing from you!!!! The water and sewer is another full story that we need more time on!!!! I do understand what you are saying about the non-profits; however, I do beleive in taking care of our own. Yes there needs to be a stopping point, but the children are the ones who suffer when parents refuse to get involved. I have visited the boxing center on Buchanan and have personally seen what a positive enviroment the coaches are making for the children and are getting them off the street. The coaches have very high standards and expect the same from the children. I have not been to Mr. Rodger’s facility, but I do remember meeting him at the boxing place I was refering too. If memory serves me, he was helping them at the time.( We all know my memory is 50 now) lol I guess what got me started on this whole matter is the city gives the YMCA 10,000 a year and I really want to support these type of organizations that are right here in La Vergne. You know me when it comes to supporting my CITY.

Mike Rodgers, on May 28, 2010 at 10:19 am Said:

Mike Slinker – No, we are not funded by the city of LaVergne. Club KO is the other boxing gym in LaVergne and they are run by the F.O.P. Club KO received $10,900 in September of 2009 to run their program and whatever money they were budgeted for this year too.

Mrs. Mosley – No apologies are needed. It was a simple mistake that a lot of people in town have made. The LaVergne Boxing Club is a registered business that is a registered 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization. We operate from donations, fundraisers, parent’s money, volunteer’s help, and my own money.

I envisioned a boxing program where every child or young adult could learn to box and compete for free every weekend there was a bout somewhere, a program where children were held accountable for their grades and actions, a program for them to learn life skills, and a place for them to learn about God. I believe that an amateur boxing coach or anyone else in the program should not be paid, nor should any profits generated from any amateur boxing event be used for anything other than the children. If there is work to be done on the facility i.e. painting, carpentry, welding, etc. then the coaches, parents, and volunteers should freely give their time and resources to fix it without compensating themselves with taxpayer’s dollars. My personal belief is if that the F.O.P wanted a boxing program of it’s own then they should have funded it themselves out of the dues that they collect each month from the officers. But if using taxpayer dollars were the only way for Club KO to exist then I would have to support their funding because I believe it is worth it for the kids of LaVergne.

I have learned the hard way that great things can be accomplished on a shoestring budget. The most costly expense for us is our travel, and we do a lot of that. We travel every weekend to a bout somewhere and it usually takes 3-4 vehicles to get all of the kids there because we have so many boxers. No other boxing program has competed in as many bouts, won as many championships, provided all equipment and travel, all without charging the adults or using the taxpayer’s dollars. We are unique that way. No other boxing program within 100 miles or more of LaVergne can make that claim. We are very proud of that fact.

This Saturday we are competing in Augusta, Arkansas where all of the winners will get championship belts. We have 10 boxers that are competing tomorrow. We would have boxed at Club KO’s event in LaVergne when they were having the bouts on the 22nd, but can’t now because we were already committed to the road date in Arkansas on the 29th. I encourage you all to go to the bouts at Club KO on Saturday night and root on their team as they compete.

Even though the F.O.P. Club KO and the LaVergne Boxing Club are two separate organizations, they are both good for all of LaVergne’s children.

Mike Rodgers, on May 28, 2010 at 10:27 am Said:

http://www.fox17.com/newsroom/fox_focus/vid_102.shtml

This was on Fox News – 17 in February. It highlighted the program in LaVergne on television.

Kids Learn Hard Hitting Lessons-Justin McFarland
A former professional boxer is using the sport he loves to teach structure and discipline to children in the mid-state. Two years ago, Mike “Honky Tonk Hitman” Rodgers opened up his garage to children who wanted to learn the craft.His students in La Vergne are learning some hard hitting lessons both in and out of the ring.

michaelinLV, on May 28, 2010 at 11:58 am Said:

Thank you Senna and Mike for your responses, you are both great assetts to our City!

I know $10,000 isn’t a whole lot of money to give out in the grand scheme of things, but one organization is doing fine without government funding. I’d rather see that $10,000 used on beautification projects that would increase the value of our property, thus increasing the tax base…

… of course the city could also give me some of that $10,000 for my own personal beautiication project – watering my lawn without paying for sewage!

Alderman Senna Mosley, on May 28, 2010 at 12:46 pm Said:

Thanks to all for good conversation on important issues. Mr. Rodgers thank you for your response and for the valuable info. Good luck Saturday. I would love to visit your place sometime and support your children as well. I am a great cheerleader. I know Alex and he is a great asset to our city. Thank you for forgiving me on my innocent mistake regarding the two different boxing programs.

blah blah, on May 28, 2010 at 7:57 pm Said:

Senna, or whoever else would know – how much does the city spend on all non-profits each year?? I had heard somewhere it was over 200K, but I don’t know for sure. 200K would help out in hiring more police officers and firefighters. Then my next question is how much does Murfreesboro and Smyrna spend on nonprofits? I bet it’s less than 200K.

Alderman Senna Mosley, on May 29, 2010 at 8:09 am Said:

The total for non-profits is 236,965. You make very valid points. I am going to party in the park right now, but when I get back I will post the list of no-profits that the city supports for your viewing.

Reply

Alderman Mosley,

I would really like to see the list and amount provided to each non for profit.

Thank you

Reply
Alderman Senna Mosley, on June 3, 2010 at 7:40 pm Said:

nclb,
I sent the list to Kathy via email as I could not get it to post. I do not know what I was doing wrong. I am sure she will post it as soon as she gets it.

Jack, on June 2, 2010 at 8:42 pm Said:

How about solving your own problem? Watering your lawn….. Want no sewer fees on THAT water… get an irrigation meter installed by any plumber or a separate irrigation tap. Call water billing for details. And remember WHEN the last time your sewer and water fees were EVER raised. You should remember to thank the board and alderman for the NO increases year after year. Consider yourself lucky.

michaelinLV, on June 3, 2010 at 7:39 am Said:

I believe it costs about $2000 to have a seperate irrigation-only meter installed, and that is just the city’s charge. I’m not a plumber, so I would also have to hire a plumber to come hook it up. Using my estimates it would take me about 9-10 years to recoup that investment. I may live in this house for 10 years, but I may not, so it’s not financially a good decision.

As for the last time my water/sewer bill went up? It was a few years ago (2006?) when they added the stormwater fee. I believe it has gone up since then but I could be wrong.

I believe you are making the point that many others have made – Metro jacked up our sewage costs and La Vergne has not passed that extra cost on to our water bills. While that sounds nice, La Vergne cannot print money. So you and I and every other tax payer in this city is paying the extra sewage cost one way or another, either through delayed projects (Waldron Road anyone??) or being overcharged in other area’s like irrigation.

Reply
MIKE SLINKER, on June 3, 2010 at 11:01 pm Said:

MichaelinLV,
You bring up a very good point about the delayed projects in the city (specifically Waldron Road). This is one of the biggest hurdles the last few boards of Mayor/Alderman have had on their plates to complete; yet it seems that there is no one taking full ownership of overseeing the entire project from an elected official standpoint. There has definitely been alot of “sleeping at the wheel” going on…Where are those that say they want to make elected officials accountable and are available 24/7? This is the type of leadership LaVergne needs — someone who can finish the job!

As most of you may have heard through several outside conversations, various media outlets and network social sites, I have been asked to give serious consideration to run for the office of Mayor in LaVergne. You will be pleased to know that all speculations will come to an end within the next several weeks, I plan to host an official media press conference at LaVergne City Hall confirming whether or not I will pursue the Mayoral office. I have completed a 4 year city plan, a complete financial review and analysis of the current budget as well as list goals in which the citizens of LaVergne may hold me accountable. I am well prepared to deliver a solid, competitive and intense campaign journey for the 2010 Mayoral race; however, I have one more confirmation to get before that occurs. As a courtesy and out of respect for the people in this town, I beleive I truly owe everyone the final word and decision. In the meantime, I continue working hard on wrapping up several community projects I have been working on as well as continuing helping LaVergne yield its first ever Community Garden harvest located behind the Senior Citizens Center. I’ll continue to keep everyone aprised of next steps. Be on the lookout for an announcement on Fox 17 News, ABC and Channel 4 for more details.

PS: Below are some of the past highlights and successes in LaVergne I have had the privilege to help with and bring closure to:

*Roy Waldron School Pepsi Palyground Grant: School awarded $25,000.00 Grant (HobNob website drove a voting results) School made the Top 10 voting list Nationally
*HobNob La Vergne launches its first weekly newsletter — Ongoing articles delivered throughout every school system in LaVergne and beyond. Local Businesses continue to be added to electronic distribution list.
*Rotary/DARE Car & Truck Show Event: July 24th
*Coordinating TWRA Partnership for Old Timers Day in September
*Facilitating $10,000 grant for the Rutherford County Anti-Drug Coalition (Money to be used for LaVergne High School and LaVergne Middle School)
*Rotary donations awarded to local schools
*Ribbon Cutting Ceremony to be held at Miracle Baptist Church this Sunday (June 6th): Served as Chairman of Building Project Committee to construct a 2,880 sq ft addition to the church

_________________________________________

Good night everyone and I look forward to seeing each of you around town!

Mike Slinker

Reply
Cricket123
, on June 4, 2010 at 1:07 am Said:

The “community garden” is slated to replace the old PeeWee Ballpark?!?

I thought that the land was being considered for a Dog Park.

I have no problem with either idea, as long as the drainage issues are dealt with…just like the fields at Veteran’s Park, those fields flooded too!

Reply
SENNA FAN, on June 4, 2010 at 5:52 am Said:

Dude you wont win because you havent served on the board of alderman or any other board full term. people want someone they know and can TRUST.

Reply
SENNA FAN, on June 4, 2010 at 5:52 am Said:

Senna has a better chance of winning because she fights for the city and will work hard but you arent ever at any functions around town, i.e. party in the park, OTD, AND SO ON.

If i remember right you came in 3rd on the last election and Senna had alot more voted than you!!

SENNA FOR MAYOR 2010!!!!!!

Reply
SENNA FAN, on June 4, 2010 at 6:56 am Said:

another thing too Mike,

HobNob isnt what everyone thought it was going to be….its really showing us online that HobNon doesnt work for La Vergne. People will remember alot when they go to the polls!

I am glad Kathy didnt change this blog to HobNob because many of us don’t like HobNob but love This Is La Vergne Tn!

Reply
SENNA FAN
, on June 4, 2010 at 7:15 am Said:
Mike,  where were you during the floods? did you go to the auditorium to help? I think not. The people of La Vergne needed help for those that are going to run for this election and I know of 3 that were there sun up to sun down. Senna and Chris and Candy. This makes a difference to people when the ones that want to run the city get out and get dirty to help them!

    76 Responses

    1. Kathy, did you get the email from Senna with the list of non-profits our city is funding?

    2. La Vergne Rescue $40,000
      Rutherford County Civil Defense Coord. $ 8,000
      Rutherford County Health Department $ 4,000
      Rutherford County Rabies Control $ 15,000
      Mid-Cumberland Human Resource Agency $ 6,656
      Smyrna/La Vergne Assist Coalition(SLAC) $ 2,500
      Smyrna/La Vergne Food Bank $ 3,500
      CASA of Rutherford County $ 3,000
      Child Advocacy Center of RC $ 3,500
      Greater Nashville Regional Council $ 5,808
      Tenn Rehab Center $ 2,000
      Exchange Club Family Center $ 1,000
      Box 100 $ 24,000
      Read to Succeed $ 2,500
      YMCA of North Rutherford County $ 10,000
      Regional Transportation Authority $ 9,775
      Chamber of Commerce Econ Development $ 23,000
      Chamber of Commerce Conven and Tour $15,000
      Chamber of Comm Destination Ruther $34,200
      Rutherford/Cannon County Drug Court $ 3,000
      Crime Stoppers $ 2,500
      Mid Cumberland Resource Agency-Urban
      Transport $ 7,026
      La Vergne Police Athletic League $ 7,000
      La Vergne Boxing $ 3,000
      Second Harvest Food $ 1,000
      Total $236,965
      This is all of of our Non-Profits.

    3. Mr. Slinker — I, too, helped RW school get their grant — all one had to do is vote — votes were done thru TIL as well as DNJ, too. That’s where my vote was cast. Also if you attended the M/A meetings you would learn about the hold up on the Waldron Road project. Most things are not the way they appear IF you are willing to become involved and seek the answers. Patting yourself on your back won’t get the job done — hard work will.

      • cee dee,

        very well said! People can pat themselfs on their back all day long but what gets the job done is hard work and dedication. there is really only one from the city that will be there for anyone 24/7 and we all that she doesnt mind helping out her fellow citizens of La Vergne. I know if I called her with a problem at 2am she would probably get up and come to smyrna to my aide. I am going to promote this lady that had dignity and love for her city!

        senna you better work girl!!!

      • Cee Dee,
        With all due respect, you may want to watch the video in which Dr. Pewitt did with HobNobLaVergne regarding the Pepsi grant. Angie Mayes with the city may have access to the video link. If not, you can contact Jeff Brown (CFO at HobNob) for the recorded video link. His direct # is 615-962-4892.

    4. Mike, while I appreciate the work of a Pepsi grant. I would like to “hear” for myself where you were during the floods, party in the park, Old Timers Day, other city functions or being present at the mayor and alderman meetings as has been asked in the previous thread postings.

      • Leeanne,
        During the recent flood, Miracle Baptist Church was one of the locations in LaVergne that was set up as a shelter for the flood victims. I was with Box 100 staff members (Bobby and June Escue) and helped them get set up in the church. The Escue family is a very hard working family and we are actually trying to work out details for a couples retreat conference between both of our churches in LaVergne. Party In the Park — my contribution was to help secure the band (Twelve South) since I was out of town with family. During Old Timer’s Day, I was on the “Ark” float which won one of the trophies last year during the parade. As for the last Mayor and Alderman workshops, I have attended the last several months (most recently on Thursday, May 27th and sat behind Deb Edwards).

        I’m heading into a meeting, but will return shortly.

    5. It is truly sad when you have to point out “your” own personal a
      ccomplishments for us to take note of. I was raised a little differently I guess. I have done many things in my life and have NEVER had to point any of them out trying to call attention to myself. Most people know when you have done something good for the community without you having to tell them! And as far as felling like you “owe” the people of La Vergne anything I am 1 of the people of La Vergne and u personally don’t owe me anything.

    6. I just went back over to HobNob to see if they had done anything new but when I got over there it looks to me that not much is taking place……i went to see some resturants and the ones I found are from the Boro or Nashville. why not La Vergne? this is hobnob lavergne isnt it? went to the real estate page and not much there either but a bunch of videos from other cites tv stations. Hmmmmm is this site a flop? not sure. I also went to see what blogs were listed and none were found. I am not going to join the site for its seems really boring over there. at least this blog keeps everyone informed about the goings on in town. sometimes it creates some drama but hey life is full of drama!

    7. Walron road expansion is being held up by TDS. This was told in the meetings at city hall so who ever went to these meetings know this and should have said something already about them. Also this building at the church is a portable which i was just told this too. Meetings are very informable if people would go to them and listen. you cant make a meeting them most of the topics are online on the city website!

      • I was at the meeting when the engineer spoke about what happened and I was also at the meeting stating that the city may have to enter into a lawsuit with TDS to get it fixed because no one was truly overseeing the project like they should have.

    8. I’ve noticed some work being done on waldron rd. What’s going on there?

      • I think they were getting ready to start work but what I hear is that TDS Telecom is holding things up and I just confirmed this again from someone at the city and this was told in the last few meetings at city hall. Maybe soon they can start to widen Waldron Rd for all to use without the traffic.

        • Were you not at the last workshop? This will be held up for a while until resolution can be made with TDS through legal challenges.

      • Jennifer,
        Unfortunately, the city is in a mess with TDS and are having to engage legal counsel from both sides to resolve. It all stems from not having a true elected official overseeing the entire project from a high level. It doesn’t take much for problems to occur when the board takes its eyes off the road.

    9. I see online that in 2004 out of 2.491 votes Senna got 998 votes or 21.9% while Dennis came in second place with 965 votes or 21.2% of the votes. Sherry Green won the mayors race back then with 637 votes or 25.8% of the votes. this does include all absent voting as well. this could be a very interesting race this year since there has been so much bad things about the city going on.

    10. I think part of the challenge is that we still have small town mentality for problems that are regular city-sized. Yes the road widening project has gone on for years, but these *are* part-time officials with very little compensation. AND since the widening of Waldron Road is not the only problem that LaVergne is faced with, naturally our elected leadership have to be in a hundred places at once.

      Flooding, HR v. Police Chief problems, Administrator problems, how many lawsuits do we have problems, water department problems, quarry problems, overgrowth of Lake Forest problems, public image problems…

      You can’t address all of these at once with 100 percent attention and still be expected to work a regular 40-hour p/week full time job. And if you don’t have a 40-hour p/week job, then you’re either independently wealthy, have some old money, or are fortunate enough to have a spouse who works somewhere and supports your household.

      Maybe it is time we have a full-time mayor.

      • amen sister….

        people want to throw blame at those in office but i still dont see what they have done to help the city!

        getting a band secured for the party in the park really isnt doing much in my opinion.

    11. Election 2010 will definitely be a great time for LaVergne to take a stand and make a statement and I am confident that the people in this town will do just that!

      Let’s all celebrate the fact that we live in a country in which people can offer themselves to public office and serve the community in which they work, live and play. Regardless, the outcome — may we all remember that we are fellow neighbors with one another. At the end of the day, may the best person win!

    12. Good afternoon Leanne,
      I sent a response to your inquiry earlier today and just wanted to confirm that you received it. Just let me know!

      Thanks,
      Mike Slinker

    13. I’ve been thinking again about the role of our elected officials. I made the point three or four comments above this one that I don’t expect our elected officials to have to give up their day jobs in order to dog every single project there is here in this town. They are the lawmakers for our city, responsible for passing a budget and setting administrative standards that employees must follow.

      I’m not trying to make any employees angry here, but shouldn’t the responsibilities of overseeing projects be theirs? Here’s where that possibly fails: city employees do not have a clear definition of what their jobs are, what their expectations are, and what their annual goals are. Why? Because (and I’ve banged this drum before) THEY DO NOT HAVE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE APPRAISALS so they are essentially not accountable for their job performance. They *probably* also don’t have to review their goals on an annual basis (which is where these responsibilities would be defined) because that typically goes hand-in-hand with a performance appraisal.

      I think it’s time city employees are held just as accountable for their work as elected officials. In every other government job, in every other company, in any other kind of business, they are.

      How will this get done? It should be ordered by the mayor and/or alderman, OR by the city administrator, and conducted by the HR director. I do hope this employee accountability will take place, starting this year.

      But that’s just my opinion.

      • And I do think the majority of employees are trying really hard, but the lack of guidance by their supervisors or their supervisors supervisor is problematic.

        Note: a performance appraisal can work both to recognize an employees hard work (which is great because many city workers probably don’t get the recognition for the fantastic work they do) and to weed out the slackers. Not that I know anyone specific who is a slacker, but they *are* everywhere!

      • Performance appraisals would be good, but the biggest problem is the lack of planning. Every successful business has at least a 1 year, 5 year, and 10 year plan. There is no such thing at the City of La Vergne. I think only one department has done an extensive plan – that being the Parks & Rec. Dept, but it’s hard to follow a plan when you don’t have the budget to fund it. Lack of planning for the future falls to the Board of Mayor and Aldermen, not the city employees. You’ve got to have someone to steer the boat. The city used to have a yearly “retreat” and some plans were made, but when it came time to put those projects into action (in the budget), the votes by the people who made the plans (the city council) were not there. What a waste of time and energy to have planning conferences and then not do what you plan to do.

        All I’m trying to say is that you have to plan for the future, not just 1 year at a time during the budget process. You also have to have qualified, professional people to run the city, not just someone who has name recognition. There are no 4-year college graduates on the city council and you have an engineer for a city manager that can’t even do the hiring and firing. I think a full-time Mayor is a mistake. It’s too political. Anybody can win an election whether you are qualified to run the city or not.

        The city needs to hire a professional, qualified city manager to run the day to day operations and the city council needs to stick to setting policies and procedures.

    14. Mike,
      I didnt know a response was necessary being you addressed the questions I had but, thanks.

    15. Let me start with that I am new to this website, and think that this is an awesome site to be able to go to find out what is going on in our city. Thank you Kathy for the good job that you have done on here.

      I have been reading and looking at all the comments made on here and I have some concerns with some of them. First of all i agree with MichaelinLv, why do we have to pay for outrageous water bills in order to make our yards look beautiful. Next we do need to take care of our children in OUR own city, so why do we give the YMCA of N. Rutherford County $10,000.00 dollars a year when it is in Smyrna, when we could be giving it to the La Vergne Boxing Club which is right here in La Vergne. I have visited the boxing club and think that it is a great thing that we have this facility in order to help keep our children off the streets. Let me say to Mr. Rodgers, my hat is off to you for your dedication to OUR La Vergne children.

      Mr Slinker you say you are waiting on a confirmation before you can say that you are running for Mayor, may i ask why? And why do you want to hold a press conference? Is it to TOOT your own horn of the things that you have done and accomplished. I think you have done that here on this website already. You see I work in an enviroment where we are a TEAM, and the Mayor along with the Aldermen and Alderwomen are a TEAM. But all I have heard out of you is I,I,I, when you should be saying OUR TEAM has accomplished these things for OUR city.

      You see I am really a nobody who lives here in La Vergne, but I AM A REGISTERED VOTER, and i can see by the comments here that you are not a very well liked man, and one that likes to pat himself on the back. Is it because no one else will!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Mr. Slinker is waiting for his money man to return from Israel.
        If He gives again he can run, if not well you guessed it.

    16. Your question is very fair. In public life, I understand that many folks want to know everything about your personal life; thus the reason I am taking the decision to run for the Mayor of La Vergne very seriously. I am a devout family man. Husband to a wonderful wife and a father to 2 great children (age 14 and 10). In response to your first question: My last confirmation needed is to allow my immediate family members an opportunity to express any concerns or fears they may have in having me run for the Mayor position. I take this very seriously and want what is best for everyone. After all, like my wife says — she’s a voter too and I need to make sure I get her full support first. If I don’t have my wife support, I wouldn’t be very successful in any endeavor. I am well aware of the toll it takes on a family when a member is in the public light. My father was an elected official and I can relate from a child’s perspective. In regards to the media press conference, I have been able to make friends with several media outlets and I have let them know of my desire of putting La Vergne in a place where folks are proud to live here because it’s safe and clean, companies want to relocate here, school kids excited about the programs offered and senior citizens able to celebrate a community filled with activities, compassion and a sense of true philanthropic opportunities. Back in 2008, there was a total of 3,331 people who shared in a vote of confidence in me and the commitment was made that win or lose, I would continue activity that promotes and encourages community spirit — both financially as well as time dedicated in serving our schools, churches, civic organizations as well as important city projects.

      I will lay out a clear plan for the city, set goals for each dept and introduce a new “pay for performance” annual review process with the city employees. The infamous Waldron Road Project will be completed under my administration team and last, but definitely not least — the people of La Vergne will be given the right to speak at any Board Meeting and Council Workshop and will not have to make an appointment to do so. We will keep everything professional, but will not forget the ultimate purpose in why we serve: “By the people, For the people”….

      • Mr. Slinker would you be for keeping Mr. Moshea or letting him go if elected Mayor.
        This is a yes or no answer .

    17. Kathy and Blah blah have some good points. It would be good to weed out bad employees by using a performance evaluation.

      Waldron Road has started and is scheduled to be complete in 2011-2012. It probably wouldn’t have started yet if the city did not get stimulus money. Also, unless an elected official became a surveyor and went out with a survey rod the few days last year TDS decided to put their line in a city easement, not much else could be done about a private utility incorrectly relocating their line. If TDS refuses to cooperate, it could hold the project up, no matter who is mayor.

      TDOT is managing Waldron Road, but the city engineer has put a lot of time in it. The city is lucky to have kept an engineer around this long, considering the workload. Before this one, if memory serves me right, there was a new city engineer each year.

      Also, what’s wrong with people signing up to speak? It limits people from getting up and grandstanding just because Channel 4 is there. Whoever opens that door better be ready to stay at City Hall until 1am. Most of these issues people can just as easily speak to their Mayor and Aldermen about individually.

      I wish whoever gets Mayor the best of luck. I hope whoever it is makes informed decisions, and is not brash and hasty just to make a point.

      • Thank you Doug. It is very evident that you are someone close to the city or maybe even a city employee. In any case, I do appreciate your candid response; however, please understand that if there was an official master plan that the board was overseeing, TDS would have known when to drop their line in. Remember, the stimulus money was given to the city and those monies are the ultimate responsibility of the Mayor and the Board. Cities cannot let TDOT be the sole managers of the project and then city leaders take their eyes off the road (literally). Alot of taxpayers monies from all levels are involved in this one and thus the reason we elect our city leaders. The people in LaVergne have the right to expect accountability from our city leaders regardless who they get to “work” and “manage” the project.

        In regards to the citizens comments, also remember there will be a time limit given for these type of discussions therefore the 1am timeframe you suggest would not exist (and even if it did, it will be because we have alot of “junk” to clean up at City Hall — not because we allowed the citizens to express their concerns)!

        The Mayor’s job isn’t going to be easy….it’s not going to be glamorous…it’s going to be alot of work to get this City back in order, cut wasteful spending, utlilize tax payer money in an accountable way (just to name a few)…I could go on and on, but I will allow an opportunity for others to comment.

        PS: I would shocked to hear that this audience would want us to continue citizen comments the way they are today.

    18. Slinker:

      What is your vision really honestly? Dont go copying someone elses words and then repsating them. We dont want someone stealing ideas from others that have already posted about this and it seems to me that this was taken from mrs Senna Mosley. We want honesty and truthfulness so please dont sog Senna and then copy what she has stated online to make yourself look good. this will only hurt you int eh election!

    19. Slinker:

      also you were on the planning commision but you left after a week because you had to much going on. Will you leave after a week of being the mayor? we want someone that will be DEDICATED!!!

    20. In this case I am going to agree with Mike… the citizens should not have to make an appointment to speak. The mayor would have the right to set a time on how long people have to speak, and it could be managed well.

      I also agree that more effective management is needed in the city overall.

    21. Thank you Mr Slinker for answering my question about why you are waiting to announce if you are running for mayor. Again i still beleive that you are out for notification for just yourself and not really worried about the city. And as far as family goes i have 4 children and 4 grand children so you see family is very important to me as well. I want to see La Vergne make a change for the better so my childrens children will be able to say that they are proud to live in La Vergne. A city that has taken steps to improve it and make it safe to live in. La Vergne and Rutherford County in general has been in the news so much latlely that it is embarssing, i have friends from all over the US that e-mail or call me and say don’t you live there. And of course I have to say yes I do.We are getting plublicity for all the bad things and none of the good things. So again I say that it is time for a change, it is time for La Vergne citizens to stand up and vote for that change. If you were once in one of these positions and didn’t make a change, then what makes you think that you can get it done this time around?

      • we have a facebook group called Senna mosley for mayor 2010 and we are talking about how she is going to take La Vergne in a new direction. we think change is something that is just thrown around but new direction is what the city really needs. come on over and join the group if you support Senna and all her causes. thanks alot.

    22. Mr Slinker I have a couple of questions for you. First you are acting as if you will be the “SAVIOR” of La Vergne. So my first question is a simple one. How much are you going to raise my taxes in order to make this budget of yours work? Second who was your biggest campaign contributor for last election. Please answer these two questions so I can see what kind of man you really are.

    23. Sorry gang for not posting much I have been working 6 nights a week and not been online very much.

      I want to say thank you to Senna Fan for pointing out our new facebook page for Senna.

      Also, The one that should be voted mayor is the one that will do the job and be there for the citizens of lavergne. Expeirence is what it takes to run an office for the city and when its all said and done the one with the most expience will come out on top. This election year is going to be one to watch and to be apart of.

      As a resident of Smyrna I know that our cities need to be together and work together to bring businesses to the area for we are all in the county as one!!

    24. I found some interesting conversation from this blog back in Jan of this year about the race coming up in Lavergne tn. very interesting to read……

      https://thisislavergne.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/special-meeting-to-follow-closed-session-of-board/#comments

      • Thanks for reposting this link Bear! I went back and looked. Wasn’t that the thread where someone named LC was posting using the same IP address as Mike Slinker? And then I think later on Mike said he didn’t know who this LC guy was, but he works at Slinker’s company?? Interesting… LC’s writing style seems awfully similar to Mike Slinker too. Maybe LC is to Mike Slinker as Billy Carter was to Jimmy Carter – Billy just made a better beer :)

        I don’t think the Mayor’s job will be as difficult as Slinker makes it out to be. In my opinion the job of the Mayor and Board is simple – how to increase my property values! Now before you say that’s selfish, understand that the things that make certain places desireable to live are the same things that make property values go up.

        So maybe I should say the mayors job is just to make La Vergne a more desireable place to live. But that’s not controversial enough, nor is it as much fun.

        There is no doubt in my mind that Senna is the hardest-working Alderman, and she’ll have my vote every time in that position. But the mayor is no different than an alderman when it comes time to vote in the monthly meetings – they each only have one vote. But one extra duty the mayor has is overseeing the city administrator, and currently also the department heads. I would like to hear more about Senna’s thoughts on that particular aspect of the job. I know she favored firing Moshea instead of suspending him. Also would Senna favor a full-time mayor?

        My view on politicians is that I prefer to vote for the politician who doesn’t seek out the job, the job seeks them out. George Washington didn’t want to be President, but his country needed him. I havn’t seen Senna campaigning for mayor since she lost in 2006, but I have constantly read people on this board pleading with her to run. So she needs to run and I’m glad she is running. I haven’t seen nor heard anything from Mike Slinker since he lost his alderman campaign. Maybe people on this board just don’t like him? I don’t know. I go to my beer board meetings each month and Senna and her husband are almost always there. I’ve seen the mayor there once, but never have I seen any of the other Alderman, nor Mike Slinker.

        I guess what it boils down to for me is this – I can see why Senna wants to run for mayor. She has invested her life into the betterment of this city, and she has people calling on her to captain this ship.

        I do not understand why Mike Slinker wants to be Mayor? The job pays what, $5,000 a year, he’s not on any boards, he’s not reguarly at city meetings (at least not the ones I am at). I’m not trying to discount any of the good the Mike Slinker has done around town, but lots of folks do lots of good things for our neighbors, it’s just the right thing to do.

        I have had friends and neighbors tell me I should run for alderman. I always tell them they are nuts! Why would I want to deal with people calling me at 3 am to tell me their neighbors dog is barking? There are much easier ways to make $3000!

        I am glad there are great people like Senna who aren’t just in it for the money. Mike Slinker may be a good guy too, but I think I would like to see him on a board before he runs the whole town.

        • MichealLv,

          your welcome and I posted the link for everyone to see.

          I am still waiting for Mike Slinker to answer some of the questions posted above about raising taxes and bringing in new businessess. Also why he didnt serve long on the planning commission and will he not want to serve long as the mayor? questions we all need answered before we go to the polls.

          I know in my heart that if Senna wins she will do her very best to make the city progress into something wonderful!

    25. im so tired of lavergne and smyrna I can not go through either town without getting pulled over i got my last ticket there they said i didnt stop long enough at a stop sign i was turn left i had to stop to make the turn.I want to fight it but i was told it would not matter.So instead im not buying the home i plaid to im no longer shopping there of buying my gas or anything else .and i encourge anyone else out there to do the same.

    26. One thing is for sure…. you sure have to have thick skin to run for public office!

    27. Michael,
      Thank you! I very much respect your opinion even when we don’t agree. lol You want to know what I think about a full-time Mayor. Here it goes. I personally think right now the politics have gotten La Vergne in the mess it is in at the present. As strange as it sounds, politics should not run a city. You need rules and regulations in place for all to follow. We need someone in the administrative end that lives in this city; therefore, living with the decisions they help to make. I do not want to be disrespectful, but it is time for a fresh face in that position with NO POLITICIAL TIES!!! I feel that a Mayor is a leader not a dictator. You must lead by example. A good leader surrounds themself with the very best people in their respected field or area and then allows these people to do their job and expect the very best job to be done. We have some really good employees they need to be left alone and allowed to do their job. (trust me a lot goes on behind the scene with employees being told who and what to leave alone) All I ask, is that you do your job to the very best of your ability and take care of our citizens. If you don’t want to do that well you know my answer. Play time will be over. Guidelines set up for each department and a comperhensive handbook outlining policy and procedure. Yes, I would be there all the time, but would not vote at this time for a full time Mayor. We must get rid of the politics first and possibly look at this again in the future.

    28. Well stated Senna. I too feel those making the decisions for our city should live there. If you have to live with the decsions made, one would think you would put more thought into those decisions . . .

    29. Mr. Slinker is waiting for his money man to return from Israel.
      If He gives again he can run, if not well you guessed it. Mr. Slinker would you be for keeping Mr. Moshea or letting him go if elected Mayor.
      This is a yes or no answer .

    30. TEMA has sent in more relief supplies!!!!!!! PLEASE let me know if you need anything.
      food Boxes
      cleaning supplies
      water

      Call 405-1571 The supplies are located at 670 Old Nashville Hwy. (EASY TOWING)

    31. Michael,
      Unfortunately that article is only available to subscribers.

      I will definitely be interested in learning more about this “developer” being sued in Lavergne.

    32. I am new to this and I am so excited about “This is La Vergne” I just read through this thread; very intersting a lot of opinions. At this point the one thing I do think La Vergne needs is a full time Mayor ….our population (civilian and business) calls for it; to really as some have mentioned lead and oversee adequately…

      Non Profit Contributions- what is the ROI on these has anyone reviewed that?? Box 100 I have made attempts to get informaiion on this group and no one really has been able to tell me the origin- who oversess it and how to become involved..anyone know?

    33. Connie I am the assistant chief of Box 100. You can email me at chris-farmer@comcast.net. Email me your phone number and I will call and give you any information you want on the organization and how to join. We are always looking for new members and would enjoy talking to you. You can call me at 615-568-8158 if you want I may not answer but will call you back I usually get emails quicker. Thanks Chris Farmer

    34. the article in the DNJ.COM

      http://www.dnj.com/article/20100609/NEWS01/100609038/Bank+sues+La+Vergne+developer

      I bet Amnon wont be back now. I bet he took all his money and left our country. any thoughts?

      • I stumbled across this a few minutes ago. Interesting, to say the least. I agree that he’s undoubtedly going to default on the rest of the loan and has probably skipped the country by now. Did you catch the fact that he had a whopping $35 in the bank when they hit him up for the $42,800 payment?!

        I don’t know Lake Forest all that well, but I wonder how much of a mess he’s left over there and how many homeowners he’s left high and dry.

    35. Wow, I leave for a family surgery and everything breaks loose with a handful of people who want to talk trash in a very unproductive way. I’m not sure where to begin, so out of courtesy, can each of you re-ask your question.

      I am open to share my direction for the City; however, I will not be put in a corner to defend stupidity nor slander.

      Senna’s husband recently went to the Election Commission requesting my campaign fundraising documentation and was able to retrieve the file. Everyone in LaVergne is free to do the same as well. My financial records are open to the public; however, since Senna’s family is anxious to see how many people gave to my campaign in 2008 as well as the expenses taken out of the account, maybe she can shed some light to everyone on this site in regards to the date they gave as well as the time in which I declared my candidancy. You will find that the latter was much earlier in the process.

      I’m open to see what others on this site may be feeling or any concerns you have in making the CIty of La Vergne the best it can be!

      • Mike, I have a few questions –

        – Someone posted on here that you joined the planning commission but resigned shortly thereafter. Why?

        – What, if any, relationship do you have with Mr. Amnon Shriebman?

        – Would you be willing to post your fundraising document on this site (or on your campaign site if applicable) for all to view?

        I’m not sure why Ronnie Erwin wanted to see this info, but it has me intrigued too. I will ask the same thing of Senna too pending your response. Thanks!

        • Thanks Michael. Just a quick point of clarification — Ronnie Mosley is Senna’s husband that requested to see the financial statements from the Rutherford County Election Commission located in Murfreesboro(not Ronnie Erwin).

          In regards to your questions, see answers below:

          * I have never served on the planning commission. There was confusion surrounding this information and when I learned that the board approved my name as a member years ago, I immediately called Bruce Richardson to confirm otherwise and end the miscommunication.

          *My relationship with Mr. Amnon Shriebman — we are neighbors. He lives just down the road at the cul-de-sac.

          *Senna’s husband (Ronnie) has eagerly posted the information from the Mike Slinker 2008 campaign below. (Notice that the largest individual donor was not Amnon Shriebman. It was actually Mr. James Gafford — who happens to be the Fire Chief for the LaVergne Fire Department).

      • Mike Slinker,

        Dude not to be mean or anything but I really wouldnt waste my time running this year. People have been talking and some even laughing at you in La Vergne and now that 2 of your money people have skipped town I wouldnt even run. We have asked the questions many times and you havent said anything back and we are not going to ask them again. You go reread the comments and then answer them. Anyone can go get financial records on anyone running a race. It’s public record just like the tax records are on the city website!

    36. Mike Slinker
      Senna’s husband has a name!
      If I wanted to talk trash about you I would have an endless heap. Mike since you brought this up.
      James Gafford…Chief La Vergne Fire Department……$1,000….8/18/08
      Amnon Shriebman…Developer …..$989.95……..9/19/08
      Ruth Shriebman….Homemaker…….$886.56……..9/19/08
      Mike Slinker……Loan……$400.00…. 5/28/08…. Loan
      Mike if you would like to see Senna’s go to her site.
      Neither Senna nor I have made remarks regarding you. I have not read one post that would supposedly back you in a corner unless you just could not or would answer a question. It is common practice to view financial disclosures prior to a race. Had you posted yours as Senna did you would not be so upset. Why are you upset anyway it is public record? All I know is that your mouth and arrogance is what you in trouble on this site not me and certainly not my wife. I suggest you think twice before drawing us into your mess!

      • If Shreibman gave $989.95, but the wife gave an additional $886.56 then the total from the Shreibmans would be $1,876.51 (based on the figures above). That makes the Shreibman contribution LARGER than Mr. Gafford’s according to today’s math — correct?? “Individual donor” or not, I’m sure the $$ came from the same pot (of gold)!!

    37. I visit this site once in a while and actually through my business I have met or know of several of the posters and several of the names mentioned that serve us at City Hall. I would hope each one of us would have the cities best interest at heart. You may or may not agree with the Mayor, however I believe he is trying. You may agree with Mr. Slinker or Mrs. Mosley or disagree with them but I believe they both want the best for our community. There are so many negatives in this world. Stay positive, speak from your heart, speak truth, run a race with honor and dignity. Does that mean that those elected officials are perfect, or those wanting office are? No. Are the posters and mud slingers perfect? No. Win or lose with integrity, write or speak your vision make it plain, be positive, be honorable and let us all strive to make LaVergne a better place

    38. For reference, Here is Senna’s financial disclosure on her website as Ronnie mentioned – http://sennamosley.wordpress.com/financial-disclosure/

      I should also disclose that a fellow beer board member offered my a $.10 campaign contribution when my term was about to expire. When Bruce informed me that it just took a simple majority vote of the M/A board for me to retain my seat and that I would not need to purchase hundreds of small signs to canvas the city, I promptly returned the $.10 :)

    39. If everyone is interested go back to the last election yr and read alot of the comments. I found some interesting comments made by Slinker and its funny to see. back in 2008 month of may, june and nov. do a search for this gang.

    40. Will someone tell me if it is true or not, the rumor has it that Mr. Slinker picked up papers to run for Mayor?

    41. According to the Rutherford County Election Commission, it is true. Here’s a link!
      http://www.rutherfordcountytn.gov/election/documents/2010Novcandidates_016.pdf

    42. I found this about the big church addition that Slinker was apart of and it looks like to me that he tired to not answer the questions about this but had to when asked several times. this is a portable building.. go here to read more about it….

      http://pubrec.lavergne.org/WebLink8/DocView.aspx?id=102595&page=3&dbid=0

    43. I have to jump in and be devil’s advocate as this election season starts to spring toward November.

      The Supreme Court believes the need exists for balancing an individual’s right to be protected from false and defamatory accusations with the country’s right to be informed via a free marketplace of ideas. The good news is that “Truth is an absolute defense.”

      That said, I caution everyone who comments to be careful about what you say. Do not cross the line between expressing your opinion based on facts vs. making disparaging remarks. This is not an attack-people-running-for-office site.

      Somehow I doubt that people plan to play nice this election, but DO NOT use this site for anything other than the truth. If you say it, be prepared to back it up. Keep your emotions in check, think about repercussions before you hit submit.

      I want to give every candidate the EQUAL opportunity to share where they stand on the issues of the city before I endorse one over the other. Regarding the mayor’s race, I have met and talked with both candidates. I have gotten to know both Senna and Mike and have formed opinions. But whatever endorsement I make will be based on their track record, potential to help the city, and how I perceive they conduct themselves (character counts) rather than raw emotion.

      I’m thinking at some point about opening a “thread” where readers can also write their endorsements for different people running and why. But if I do – again – we aren’t after attacks, but facts.

    44. This is for Mike Slinker, i attended the luau at the Grace Church on Saturday, and was enjoying myself when you come up out of nowhere grabbed my hand and said hello. When you walked away I had to ask some of my friends who in the world was that man! That’s when I found out who you are, just a bit of advice, next time maybe try introducing yourself before or when you shake someones hand. I just assumed that you were a member of that church and was greeting everyone.

    45. There are now three official candidates for the LaVergne’s Novermber election: Senna Mosley for Mayor and Chris Farmer & Kandy Pierce for Alderman. We all have the desire and ability to change this city for the better as long as the voters give us that opportunity! I wonder how many of the other petitioners are close to qualifing? Good Luck Everyone!

    46. BOXING SEASON BEGINS FOR 2011

      The LaVergne Boxing Club: A-Team will be starting the new 2011 boxing season on Monday, August 16th. All boxers will need to provide their own set of hand wraps and a mouthpiece. These items can be purchased from a sporting goods store for less than $10 for both. All boxers need to wear comfortable work out clothing and running shoes. Do not wear any type of jewelry to the gym. There will be no bling in my ring! If you are over 21 then you will be subject to a background check before you can begin working out. If you are under 18 you will need a parents signature. The program starts at 5:00 P.M. and ends at 7:00 P.M. Monday through Friday. Parents please do not be late picking your children up from the gym.

      Regards,
      Coach Mike Rodgers

      The LaVergne Boxing Club: A-Team
      5499 Murfreesboro Rd. Ste. I
      LaVergne, TN 37086
      615-478-7067

    Leave a Reply

