Power Outage, Power Line Spark/Fire

Sorry but I just have to whine.

We lost our power today in the big, brief storm when a gigantic tree fell over on a power line. It just came back on about 30 minutes ago and for that I am oh-so-grateful.  However, because there was no power, we had to venture out to find some dinner (more about that later).

The picture over there… that was taken in the Kroger parking lot on Sam Ridley about 4:00’ish this afternoon.  Pretty sure it was just a cloud, but nosirree I didn’t like it one bit.

Anyway on our way back from picking up dinner in LaVergne, my daughter saw a spark and then flames on a power line on M’boro Road next to one of those temporary fireworks tents.  Nosirree I don’t like that either.

The first call responders (firetrucks, police) were on their way and we just got out of their way.  My thanks to them for their quick response.

Also my thanks to the inventor of braces wax… without it my mouth would continue to suffer from a broken tooth.  I’m pretty sure my old mercury filling is probably filling my brain with poison as it seeps out and flows into the cut on my tongue from where the sharp filling has sliced it.

That’s all for tonight… and aren’t we all lucky for that?  TMI.

4 Responses

  1. LOL…what a great idea, that mercury.

  2. I just wanted to take a minute and let everyone what an awesome Fire Department we have here in La Vergne. They had a pretty large fire last night and worked very hard to get it under control. I think these guys need a special thank you for all they do for our city. They are understaffed and do the best with what they get from the city. By the way these guys answer a lot of absurd calls they technically do not even need to go on example: snakes in driveways. That all being said I want to personally thank you guys and challenge everyone who visits this site to do the same when you see these guys on the street.

    Chris Farmer
    615-403-0941
    Chris-farmer@comcast.net

  3. Speaking of fire and sparks. What is the city’s policy on fireworks. Are people allowed to set off fireworks even if it’s not July 4th? Also, as for safety…is it safe to set off fireworks close to houses, trees and powerlines? My common sense says no but, maybe I’m bias because it’ll give me a reason to make a complaint.

  4. The city website has the municipal code in regards to disturbing the peace on it.

    But fireworks are legal any time of the year.

    The problem for police is enforcing what one person sees as fun and another sees as a problem.

    Lets all just have fun and realize the stands are only open a couple of times a year.

Leave a Reply

