Open Thread: Express Yourself

Maybe I’m a ding-a-ling for starting this, but I’m going to get the conversation going about the hubbub over some proposed mosques and/or community centers across the country (and in our neighbor’s backyard).

First, I can understand why people are a irate about the community center run by Muslims going in near the former World Trade Center site (aka ground zero).   The destruction of the towers on September 11, 2001 will always be heavy in our hearts… a day we’ll always remember.  However, I wonder why they aren’t also protesting the disrespect shown by having a “Gentlemen’s Club” located even closer? Or how about the souvenir shops selling American flags made in China? Doesn’t that strike you as a little cheesy too?  It makes me shake my head…

But why in the world would people be so upset about having a worship center located in Murfreesboro?  Yes, it’s Islam… 911… ground zero… etc.  BUT I don’t care what kind of propaganda is forwarded to me – all Muslims are not bad.  Recall how people felt about John F. Kennedy becoming President and people were afraid he’d be running the country on direct orders from the Pope.  There are good people, there are bad people in all walks of life.  You can be white, black, purple, Jewish, Catholic, Muslim, pretty, ugly, sarcastic, kind…. everyone has bad in them, everyone has good in them.  Don’t be making sweeping generalizations about anyone.

So Murfreesboro and their mosque.  It shouldn’t surprise us when you consider that Murfreesboro also kicked up a stink about having a Jesus theme park located there, maybe they’re just against all religions.  You can’t call it racism if everyone is equally discriminated against.  /rant about stuff I’m crazy to talk about here.

I wish some of these places would consider locating to LaVergne – especially where there is retail business to be had!  Unless we have to give them free water for 10 years, of course…  What’s on your mind, LaVergne?

12 Responses

  1. However, I wonder why they aren’t also protesting the disrespect shown by having a “Gentlemen’s Club” located even closer?

    If strippers kill 3,000 people in the name of pole-dancing, I guarantee you there will be protests.

  2. But my point is that you just can’t demonize an entire religion based on the evil committed by some… albeit some really really terrible people. And there is evil in every religion… throughout the history of civilization. I agree the radical Muslims are n.u.t.s. but there are a lot of good people, too. I do not agree with their religious views at all, yet we really need to be cognizant of our words and actions… it’s like the famous words of Martin Niemoller to Congress in 1968:

    From the Congressional Record,
    October 14, 1968, page 31636 is:

    “When Hitler attacked the Jews
    I was not a Jew, therefore I was not concerned.
    And when Hitler attacked the Catholics,
    I was not a Catholic, and therefore, I was not concerned.
    And when Hitler attacked the unions and the industrialists,
    I was not a member of the unions and I was not concerned.
    Then Hitler attacked me and the Protestant church —
    and there was nobody left to be concerned.”

    That’s all I’m saying. Careful with your thoughts and words. Don’t be afraid to speak up when you need to. It can apply to all aspects of life.

  3. that last part was funny…lol……free water for 10 yrs….OMG!!

    I guess it is all about who you know in the city if you will get free water. I just wonder how many others are getting free water? I would love to see if the elected officals got free water? I would love to see their bills posted online so we can make sure they arent using free water as well.

    Do a property tax search on the city’s website and you can see who lives in town that is elected and hasnt been chargerd for property taxes. its very very interesting to see they are not listed!

    • Mark,

      If you are concerned about the officals getting free water why not ask your mom since she has worked in the water dept.I am sure that she has looked up their info at one time or another and to confirm her info why not ask Senna if she pays for water every month. I know for a fact that the elected officals can go to the dept and request a copy of anyones account info.

      • Mike, yes I pay every month care to see my checking account? You can also check tax records on the La Vergne site and see that 149 Greewood Drive is in Ronnie(James R. just in case you do not know his legal name) my name(Senna L.) and our taxes are paid. Got proof on that as well if you want to see it. I have lived at the same address since 1987. Any more questions?

      • Ms.Mosley,

        If you read what I wrote I was defending you and the officals I was not the one that stated that we need to check the officals accounts to see if you are getting free water that was your freind Mark I simpley stated that mark needed to ask you and you would tell him what we all know that YES you pay just as I and any other person living in La Vergne. I have no need to see your bank statement but once again you friend Mark does

      • Ok MIke, you have my apology. I just take paying my bills very seriously election or no election. Honestly I do not know anything about the other elected official’s bills or how they pay them. I just want people to know that I do not hide anything and people are welcome to view my finances at any time.Thank you for writing me back. If you want a verbal apology I am more than willing to personally give one. 793-2469 Thanks again!!

      • There is no need for a apology I just wanted to make sure that you know that I amnot the one calling all officals to the mat on this comment. I to feel very strong about making sure that all my bills are meet at the end of each month so I do understand you taking defence to my comment. Once again no need to have a verbal apology . Enjoy the rest of your Labor Day

  4. I think that is one of the best, most intelligent responses I’ve ever seen by anyone on this blog. There is plenty of extremism even in Protestant religions, that I know…interpretations taken way too far that are preached over time and become the norm. I don’t personally know any Methodists or Baptists who want to “kill the infidel”, but it occurs on a smaller scale (alcohol is the devil’s drink, etc.).

    I’m very conflicted on this subject myself – our country was founded on freedom of religion, and right to worship. At the same time, the world is changing, and most everyone is concerned about what the intentions of these churches are. That’s why I like Kathy’s response, because it draws on history. If you look at Islam over the last 1,000 years, many sects have tried to force the religion on others by subjugation. While Protestant and Catholic countries have certainly had their share of violence, it seems to be the norm for predominantly Islamic countries.

    I wonder if looking back in history at this time, what will the effects be of our relatively complete religious freedoms? Will Muslims or some other religious group exploit that freedom to try to further instigate internal violence? Or will religious freedom continue to promote tolerance of other religions and cultures? Many times, if you look at history’s decisions, you find in retrospect that these decisions were the lesser or worse of two evils. It’s unfortunate that the win-wins don’t come by often.

  5. Fred you’re my new hero! :) Thanks for the kind words…

  6. While I’ve taken time away from the Smyrna blog and other sites I have followed the issues some. I have come to one conclusion. Most of the people on both sides are only hear their own voices and it is a futile act to try to speak with either side. Both sides are so busy saying “I’m right and you’re wrong” that they do not hear the majority of people saying “you all are acting like horses a$$es”.

  7. I seriously, totally believe in freedom of religion! As long as these people are law-abiding citizens, they should be free to build and visit whatever kind of religious establishment they want.

    EVERY religion has its kooks. People are people are people. It’s inevitable that the crazies make the rest of their group look bad, but haven’t we all had to deal with that? 9/11 was particularly horrendous but it’s no different than the Salem Witch trials or how Christians have killed each other over various bits of dogma over the last two millenia.

    I get this image in my head of Jesus and Mohammed sitting together, occassionally covering their eyes and groaning when people attribute yet another horror to their names. They both had SO much good to share with people, but some people will always look for the bad.

Leave a Reply

