Social Networking Is Not So Hard… And Yet

Those of you who only know me through the convenience of online sites know that I’m a pretty laid back kinda person.  Heck, it didn’t even bother me when Justin Jason said I was naive to think we should keep party affiliation out of local elections… clearly *that* won’t happen but it doesn’t stop me from wishing it would!

But there are some things that bug me today and I’m here today to vent.  Buckle up, cowboys… this could get ugly.

  1. Let’s stop calling this site a blog.  Yes, it was set up using blog software (blog by the way is the marriage of two words: web and log.  Web log was shortened to “blog” and I hate whoever thought it was cute because blog is not an attractive word…).  Now, however, it’s more of an information-central kind of web site.  You can comment.  You can support one candidate or another.  You can tell us about your yard sale or missing pets.  Tell us when the high school choir is singing or having a bake sale.  Let us know if we need to support a student or teacher or school. Just keep it civil and we’re happy.
  2. If you ignore us, we won’t go away.  We’re here and there are plenty of people reading.  If you want to reach between 400 and 2000 residents of the city each day, this is a good place to do that … for FREE.  Businesses who want to tell us their meal deal, give us free auto repair quotes, have a job opening… No fancy signs are necessary.  You can chime in on any discussion.  Just keep it civil and we’re happy.
  3. Social networking sites like Facebook are extremely popular.  I heard today that there are 500 million users worldwide – and the U.S. population is about 300 million… talk about a global phenomenon!  So out of the 500 million people on facebook today, why would a middle aged man try to friend my 15-year old daughter?  Let me rephrase this…

Dear Two LaVergne Candidates for Office Who “Friended” My 15-Year Old Daughter,

That is just a bucket-load of disturbing you have filled up.  I know you’re doing it for name recognition, but the bottom line is you are a man (both of you), you are old (well, compared to the kiddo), you have never met my 15-year old daughter, and I think your feet are firmly planted in Creepyville which sits on the border of I’m-about-to-be-an-outraged-Mom-town.  Please do us all a favor and look who you’re friends with.  Be conscientious of who you have added because this is seriously very weird to me. That is all.

I’m done numbering because they start again at #1.

Today is September 28th.  Those who are running in our local elections have been snail mailed, given a copy of the questionnaire online and I even spoke to every single one of them (except Ms. Smith) in person at Oldtimers Day to encourage them to complete and return the survey by September 30th.  I know one person said he wouldn’t return it, another one or two said they’d think about it.  The thing is… we may have 10 or 20 people who regularly comment here, but there are another few hundred who read and do not comment.  This is your opportunity to make a FREE case for yourself on why we should ALL vote for you.  And you don’t care enough to answer the survey?  Is this how you will behave in office… picking and choosing who your constituents are?

Finally, This is LaVergne will be writing an endorsement of our picks for mayor and aldermen after all responses have been published.  This will be done through an editorial process by a committee of two:  Ivy and Me.   Readers will also have the opportunity to endorse the candidate(s) they support.

So Rah Rah Rah… Let’s Go Let’s Go

L

E

T

S

G

O

!

25 Responses

  1. It will be very interesting to me how the candidates respond to your questions. It is also very, very, very interesting to know that one candidate will not participate…anybody that doesn’t respond is killing votes…foolish if you ask me.

  2. No answers = no votes.
    I was friended by one of the candidates also, I declined the request because frankly I know nothing of him.

  3. Will we find out who refused to take the survey, etc. on the 30th then?

  4. I also was friended by one of the candidates and I already made my decison based on the meet and greet at old timers day. Not naming names but I’m sure I know who won’t be returning the survey based upon their attitude/personality shown toward the voters and other candidates on old timers day. I am looking forward to the reponses on the 30th to base the rest of my votes on.

  5. I answered all the questions! They were very good questions too.

  6. I, too, believe that men who don’t know who they are soliciting on FB & ask someone (especially children) to be their friend are CREEPY. I’ve heard there were more children asked to become friends of at least one of these guys. Pretty disturbing. Certainly let’s me know who not to vote for — evidently trying to get their message out on FB instead of this website. NOTE TO PARENTS: BEWARE!!!!

  7. I will not name any names but I know “someone” got into my friends and added as many of them as they could. I don’t quite understand the concept of doing this myself. I know they done it though because the people they were adding were very good friends of mine who are out of state. I had to post on my fb that it was happening so they would know. Now I have had to up the security setting on my fb to the point it is ridiculous. That being said if anyone has tried to add me as a friend and the request does not come through, feel free to email me at chris-farmer@comcast.net and I will add you.

  8. Just wondering if anyone has noticed that there is only ONE campaign sign located at City Hall. Why? The signs seem to be everywhere else but City Hall. Can someone explain this?

  9. SideNote, not only is there a sign at city hall that should not be there , there is also, one of the ALREADY elected officials sign attached to a city sign coming into La Vergne from Smyrna, is that legal? And how about that sign that is next to Sonic, that one is still blocking the view of on coming traffic, should it not be moved or removed?

  10. I have answered my questions too and can not wait for everyone’s to be posted. One question will they all be on here by the 8th for Chris Farmer’s meet and greet BBQ?
    Now as for the sign in front of city hall how can that candidate expect to get respect from people when he shows no respect for anyone else? All candidates were asked to remove their signs from city hall a week or so ago and I pulled my three from car wash to Auto zone for the safety of citizens.

  11. I have heard that all candidates were asked to move the election signs from City Hall. Mr. Slinker do you feel above the rules, If this is how you respond to rules now. You are as bad as what we have had. Above the rules now, above the Law later. NO THANK YOU.
    You were told to move the sign at City Hall, I am asking you to move the sign In the center of the round about, and at Sonic because we can’t see around them.

  12. all I can say to all of this is….it’s getting interesting…..lol

  13. I don’t know that I consider the facebook-friending to be “creepy.” I mean, it’s not like these are just random adults friending little kids for “creepy” reasons. They are running for office. And let’s face it, social media has been proven as a good way to share your campaign message. Kathy, do either of your kids happen to be facebook friends with Senna? If not, would that bother you if they were? I know you have a friendship with Senna outside of politics, but Senna is a couple of years older than your daughter and is running for office. Let me add that I have no idea who the candidates are who friended Kathy’s daughter, I’m just saying I don’t see it being a “creepy” thing, and simply un-friending them would be acceptable.

    I also would like to log my opposition to this site’s endorsement of any candidates. Here’s why:

    1 – I would be willing to bet that this site will endorse Senna for Mayor.

    2 – I think by endorsing specific candidates, you will set yourself up in opposition to any candidates who win their election but were not endorsed on this site. It just presents the potential to discourage our elected officials from coming here and sharing their views with us.

    3 – I don’t agree with any media sources (Newspapers, TV Stations, etc..) who say they are un-biased and yet endorse candidates. I just don’t see the value.

    I like the idea of gathering questionnaires and publishing those on every candidate. And I agree, if a candidate is unwilling to respond then they are unlikely to get my vote. But let me look at what each candidate has to say and make up my own mind. My hot button issue (cars parked in the yard!!?!) may be different than someone else’s (lack of retail in the city). Just my two cents.

  14. Well helloooo Michael! You always have such thought-provoking comments and I always listen to your opinions. I don’t always agree, though, but you never fail to give food for thought! So let’s get started…

    First, neither of my daughters are friends with Senna Mosley on Facebook.

    We have written endorsements in the past and have already said we will for this election as well. While MY mayoral endorsement may be obvious, Ivy will also write the endorsement this year. I would welcome you to join the committee of two, Michael, and make it a committee of three. Because again, I respect your insight and opinions. Is anyone else interested in joining us?

    Your 2nd point is a good one that endorsing one candidate over another will just alienate the others. However, in the bigger picture I hope a real examination of how our community can benefit from the ideas, skills, and experience offered by the candidates can help move the election beyond just a popularity contest. I am hoping that looking at the merits of each candidate will hold more value than how long someone has lived here or just plain name recognition. Again, discussion is good.

    And to take this answer in another possibly unexpected direction… Michael, some of the candidates are already “alienated” if that’s the right word. Their condemnation of this site started long before any endorsements were ever given. It was made very clear to me several years ago that this site was not welcome. When comments like “She’d better watch her back” came back to me, it reaffirmed that free and open grass roots discussions were very necessary here.

    That said, I greatly admire all people seeking public office because of their confidence to put themselves out there!! Each and every person running has earned my admiration just for having the courage to run!

    Finally I absolutely agree with you that newspapers, etc. have a bias with their endorsements. Hopefully, though, the biases are being formed based on qualifications and not “popularity”… Ms. Mosley has to answer the same hard questions that Mr. Slinker and Mayor Erwin have been asked to answer…and all the people running for Alderman have been offered the opportunity.

    My vote has yet to be cast… and let me tell you while I’m registered with one party, I’ve voted both sides of the aisle.

    Now I’m running late…

    • for one and elcetion is for 18years and older,not for 10 and 11 years olds,,and this is just what the person did,to my kids,he ask them to b his friends,he also asked one of my 18year old kids and thats fine,but he is in to music,so he will have him as a friend, and thats why the little ones put him as a friend,i watch there fb like i dont no what.,,,if someone want to get friends just to get office they should do it that way,its just wrong,,he didnt ask me cuz of ms. mosley,he knows me very well,now thats wrong to go on there fb and do that,for me i have been at city meeting to where ms.mosley has done her homework and had everything in black and white,and and get voted down,most of the time im very blunt about what i say,but this a page for all ages and i have repect for all,

      Far as me my vote for mator is will be ms.senna molsey,REASONS
      I HAVE KNOW HER FOR MORE THAN 6YEARS
      in 6years this lady has done more for this city than i can tell you,and see alot of people dont know what she does,WHY cuz its from the heart,if you call her and she needs to b there ,well she is there,but plz dont think she is going to show up all pretty up,it going to be what she has on,,if she has to get her hand dirty well her hands get dirty,we are a small growing city,but in 6years had to do the homework for all of the ones one the mayor and alderman board,i cant tell you hours she has spent .looking thing up,trying to find anwser for people,take the right answer to the board.and they vote it down again,,but what i love about senna molsey,they got her mess up with someone else,,,SHE WILL NOT GIVE UP..SHE WILL GO AGAIN,,,

      • ONE OF MY ALDERMAN,I WILL VOTE FOR IS
        CHRIS FARMER
        ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,WHY………………………
        I haven’t known chris long but i can tell you that just being around him that he is a caring person,he a paramedic,its his job,but to be a paramedic you have to have a heart to take care of people,and doing thing right,cuz in his job,doing something wrong is someone life,and to be a alderman is like a paramedic,you taking care of people ,a city is people ,and for us to live in a city the people need caring understand mayor and alderman,people thats for the people,its going to b a long raod for the city of lavergne to get back on the right track,,but he want give up on us,or give in to the wrong ether,,thanks mr.farmer for all you do for us,,,tony vanatta,,

    • Now I can’t exactly log my opposition to endorsements and then join in with you in endorsing candidates!

      I hope whoever wins will come join our conversation here. And whoever wins, just know that I voted for you :)

      • Tee hee…

        I am seriously thinking about setting up a place for readers and writers to meet after the first week of October (maybe October 12th or 14th?)… then having people pick who to endorse as a “This is LaVergne” group.

        Love,
        Captain Obvious
        :)

  15. THE OTHER ALDERMAN IS KANDY PIERCE
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,WHY,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    I HAVE KNOWN HER FOR WELL HECK ALONG TIME,
    she also is a very caring person,about people and knows what is like to work hard for what you have and what to get in life,she already knows it will b hard work getting us back on track,,she has watched it go down,hill,,but she is strong and she will help push us back to the top,,,,,,,,and my three isn’t saying everthing will change over nite,, but i believe the three will work together on what is right for the people of lavergne,,,it will b a great team,,,,,cuz its going to take a great team to do so,,,,not someone sayiny im going to do this and that,,,one person cant do nothing on that board,,senna has already tryed so lets get a good team in there LAVERGNE,,,,,,,THANKS FOR HEARING ME OUT,,,.

  16. I find it almost appalling that a candidate that is running for public office would not answer questions about what they stand for, if this is the case. We, as registered voters, have the right to know who and why we are voting for someone. We are past a popularity contest from high school. La Vergne is a town that is a little behind in the times and needs someone that is going to step up to the plate to better this community. I need to know who this candidate will be. We use debates and articles in different newspapers and websites to choose our president, why shouldn’t we be this informed to choose our mayor?

    • Melanie,
      I totally agree with you…La Vergne is WAY behind in the times. Having worked for the city for 4 years and just recently retired, I know alot of things that is very wrong. Hopefully with a new Mayor and 2 new aldermen/alderwomen will turn this city around, in time. I don’t expect it to be overnight.

      I, too, would like to know who does not send back their questionnaire. It will be interesting to see the comments/views of those that do and I personally will eliminate those that do not respond. That’s my 2cents.

  17. Hello everyone,
    Interesting conversation going on here!!! I have been asked do I have a Web site? The answer is yes. Please visit http://www.sennamosley.wordpress.com. I also have a Face Book Senna Mosley for Mayor. Hopefully, I have answered some of your questons, if not please email me or write on this site.

    • just went to this website and really enjoyed what I read and saw….great job…..keep up the good work and you WILL be elected mayor in November….

Leave a Reply

