Candidate for Alderman: Kandace “Kandy” Pierce

QUESTION 1:  Rank in the number of importance- 1 being most urgent for the city, 6 being least important.

To me the order of importance of this list would be first tax reform, then increase the public safety numbers, then work with county to get another High School. Once these three have been accomplished the other three will become much easier to fix. So, to finish the list, next would come economic development, that will bring job growth, and thus allowing for property values to rise once again. Now the tax reform must include an extensive audit of all current departments and other costs to the city. The new Board will need to educate themselves on how to allow the Seniors the same option of opting to a freeze at current rate, as the county has allowed, prior to any talk of raising taxes – if more funds are needed to accomplish the a lower ISO. The second item above needs to happen with in two years or we will not be able to get large retail to even consider our city and property insurance for all home owners will go up, if we are unable to at least maintain a ISO of 5.  In my opinion this is a common sense order if we really want the type of change that will allow us to compete with the surrounding cities.

QUESTION 2:  Do you believe property taxes should be increased in La Vergne?

If after close examination of current budget does not allow funds for increase in public safety numbers and other items dealing with our city’s infrastructure to get a 2 or 3 ISO rating, then yes I am not opposed to a property tax increase that will allow our city to grow in a positive way. As an owner of property in both La Vergne and Nashville, we have a little wiggle room as long as we protect our Senior citizens. I empathize with those citizens out of work, I have been unemployed since April, but this new Board will have to make some tough decisions if La Vergne is to ever compete with other cities for revenue taxes.

QUESTION 3. What is the highest level of education you have completed?

I graduated with Honors in May of this year earning an Associates of Applied Science Degree for Paralegal Studies .

QUESTION 4. Many of La Vergne’s Problems have been caused by decisions made by past elected officials and poor administration. While we can’t change the past, we can address past mistakes in order to build a better future. What would you do to restore La Vergne’s good reputation as a desirable place to buy homes, raise families, and entice more jobs?

As for way’s to restore La Vergne’s good reputation as the place to live in addition to the above steps, I feel over all that each elected official, city employee, and volunteer board member need to know, understand, and enforce the appropriate ordinances that pertain to their position with the utmost honesty and pride.  This would  make citizens feel more understood and better cooperated with each time they have an issue.  I realize we have a City Recorder and Attorney for guidance, but if everyone took ownership of their job responsibilities, some of the problems facing this city could be handled more efficiently and hopefully keep our city’s bad publicity to a minimum.  Past broken promises should be accomplished too, such as the Senior Center just to name one.  We also need to follow the county’s lead in all meetings being aired live on Channel 3. Make the citizen forum cut off to speak on Monday before the Mayor/Alderman meeting rather than before the workshop.  Something else I would like to see done is a city division into four wards or districts for future elections so that each part of the city feels that they have representation for that area by an Alderperson and the Mayor still just has to live in La Vergne.  I realize many of you maybe thinking these changes seem trivial, considering the problems this city is facing, but I have learned during my ten years on the La Vergne Beer Board that small steady steps make a consistently big impression and accomplishes a great deal.

QUESTION 5. Why should I vote for you?

The reason I feel you should vote for me is so together we can make La Vergne the place to be, rather than the city before Smyrna. I plan to, if given the opportunity, do my very best to prove my determination, desire, love, and abilities for this city that will bring about a change for the better in La Vergne over the next four years.

Thank you for this chance to put some of my thoughts and ideas out there.  I hope come November that I am one of the two newly elected, but if I am not I hope some of my ideas are considered so that we can move La Vergne in a positive direction toward a better future for all of our citizens.

9 Responses

  1. As an owner of property in both La Vergne and Nashville, we have a little wiggle room as long as we protect our Senior citizens

    • Can you exand on that? It reads like you want to have a property tax system that is as high as Davidson County.

      • I have no desire to have taxes that high here at all, but I am willing to make the difficult decisions this city needs to improve! I honestly feel the needed funds to complete the needed work to lower our ISO number can be found from close examination of current funds, grants, currently written off amounts, and community involvement. I am saying that I am willing to do what it takes with my one vote (if elected) to make this city a better place to live for everyone.

  2. Thanks Kandy. I’m really enjoying hearing the new ideas from candidates…

  3. Like your comments and hope to hear more from you in this election….

    • Thank you Elizabeth. I will be at the park Friday the 8th (4 to 8) for Chris Framer’s BBQ. He has invited all candidates to attend. I intend to be there from 5:15 or so until I have answered the last question from all concerned citizens. I hope to see you there.

  4. I wanted to thank everyone that attended the Chris Farmer BBQ last night. There were many great topics discussed and I meet a lot of wonderful citizens.

  5. Sorry I didn’t get to the Chris Farmer BBQ this past week but was out of town. Hope to get to meet ALL the candiates at a “possible debate”….or another function before election.

    • Elizabeth,
      I have not heard of any debates or other functions just yet, but I will be at the Civic Center after work every week day from 4 to 5pm on the 13th thru the 28th, 8am to Noon on the 16th (Sat.), and 8am to 4pm on the 23rd (Sat.). Also if you scroll up all of my contact information is listed and I would enjoy the opportunity to talk with you.

Leave a Reply

