OPEN THREAD: Moving A Discussion to Here…

I’m moving a discussion (aka starting a rumor) to this place because I promised to keep the candidate questionnaire posts specific to supporting that candidate.

Please remember to limit your comments on those questionnaire posts to support for the candidate.

  1. Ric7146, on October 7, 2010 at 12:41 pm Said:

    Thanks Kathy!
    I’ve heard that Mayor Erwin has instructed Chief Boyd to concentrate his officers on Murfreesboro Road in order to issue more citations (fines for the city purse). This policy of course keeps the officers out of the neighborhoods where auto & home break ins, theft from yards, vandalism, gang activity and other adverse situations go unaddressed. I know that we have lost tremendous commercial tax base, but is this the best economic policy the Mayor can come up with? No wonder he didn’t want to respond to the questionnaire. As for Alderman Green, I’m not sure she understands the questions or knows the answers.

    • michaelinLV, on October 7, 2010 at 2:00 pm Said:

      I think this is what we call “Starting a rumor.” I don’t think Senna would appreciate this being tagged to her profile.

      In other news I recently heard that Mayor Erwin instructed Chief Boyd to sell off all the police cars so we could buy one bat-mobile. The logic is we would have fewer cars patrolling, but one awesome car that would scare people out of committing crime. The decision on whether or not to buy a corresponding bat signal is currently tied up in commitee…

  2. Cee Dee, on October 7, 2010 at 1:48 pm Said:

    Guess we all need to watch our speed, turn signals, updated licenses, and stop signs when traveling on Murfreesboro Road!!!!!!!

12 Responses

  1. A Bat Mobile…cool! Think we can get Nashville to move the Batman Building to LaVergne? Now, who do we talk to about that bat signal? LOL

  2. I can not enlighten anyone on the truth of that rumor. But here are my two cents. We are short on police officers on the streets. Since I spend every third day on the ambulance in La Vergne for 24 hours I see the officers on every scene I go on. Chief Boyd has them respond to all ambulance and fire calls for our safety. That being said if they are being told to write tickets and stay out of neighborhoods it isn’t working because most all of my calls are in neighborhoods and there is at least one officer on the scene with me. On a lighter side I think the Bat light is on back order right now. It should be here the second wednesday of next week! Lol

  3. I would “Na na na na” the Batman song for you, but I like the Star Trek fight song better. Da da da da da da da da da da DAH – booo wheeee booo wheee!

    Go watch the Cable Guy for the Medieval Times fight between Jim Carrey and Matthew Broderick… he sings it there.

    My head hurts. :o)

  4. EDITOR’S NOTE: I moved this comment as well which was in Senna’s post. Again folks, please remember that if you want to write in support of a candidate on their post, you can. Save other discussions for this post or any other post.

    Steve Noe
    steve-noe@comcast.net
    67.177.169.224
    2010/10/07 at 10:59 pm

    WOW!!!!!!! Just kinda stumbled upon this site and I love it, I have LOTS of views,comments,statements and such but for now all I can say is DEBATE DEBATE DEBATE, put the candidates in line against each other and don’t hold back and see who has got what it takes, those that are scared or just wanna be in it for the limelight so to speak will say no and the ones they say YES lets get it going are sincere. PRETTY SIMPLE? I know all of them personally except 2 and I will not mix friendship over business for our city but I have a pretty good idea who is for Lavergne and who is not. I do know of 1 that will absolutely go through the books with both hands and feet and If they are not correct MMM MMM MMM LOOKOUT, and I hope it will wake folks up. SO, LETS-ER-DONE. DEBATE in open face to face FORUM!!!!!!

  5. I would like to take this opportunity to thank each candidate that answered the questions and say that I was very impressed with the anwers given. I think the citizens of La Vergne should be very excited about this election. Regardless of who you chose to support, it is important that you get out and vote. Thanks to this site for allowing the citizens to voice their opinion and freely express their desires for this great city. I know that sometimes emotions get a little high, but I really do think for the most part each person is only trying to relay their love for their community and want the very best for everyone. Early voting begins Wednesday at 10 a.m. at the Civic Auditorium. Good Luck to everyone and thank you for wanting to serve La Vergne.

  6. Something just struck me:

    We are electing a mayor and 2 alderman. Current Mayor is Erwin, and the two alderman’s seats up for election are Sherry Green and Jerry Gann (who is not seeking re-election), but here’s a thought…

    … what happens is Senna is elected mayor? Essentially that will create another opening for Alderman. What would be the procedure for filling this opening, special election? Or can the mayor (who would have to be Senna in this case) make an appointment to finish her old alderman term?

    Has anyone taken this into consideration when voting?

  7. Michael,
    This has never happened to my knowledge during an election. When Mike Webb resigned, Vice-Mayor Sherry Green stepped in as Mayor. It was an election year, but the election was not until that October, thus, the board choose to put a former Alderman in until the election.(2004). It is my opinion that the 3rd highest vote getter should be put into office because the voters would have made the choice. In the La Vergne Municipal Code 6-3-107, (b)(1) By affirmative vote of a majority of the remaining members, the board shall fill a vacancy in the office of alderman for the unexpired term, but any portion of an unexpired four-year term for alderman that remains beyond the next municipal election shall be filled by the voters at tht election, if the vacancy occurs at least (20) dasy before the latest time for filing nominating petions for candidates in that election. The third highest would be for two years and would have to run again in 2012. Of course, legal council and the election commission would be consulted and everything done by the book and above board and open to public. This is my opinion and assuming that I was lucky enough become mayor. The way my term runs I can only run for mayor during my aldermanic years.

    • Thanks for the explanation, Senna . . . even though I had to read it three times before I understood it. I should know better than to try and comprehend things like this before I’ve had my second cup of coffee!

  8. Moved from another thread on Tom Broeker’s questionnaire page.

    #
    kyle mcpherson, on October 11, 2010 at 3:46 pm Said:

    i read your reply about the parks department, but i have learned that 40% of smyrnas park players used to be in lavergne and now are in smyrna. When asked why they went to smyrna, all answered with they couldnt stand the way you ran the leagues, unfair teams,and no concerns about the decrease in teams each year..Would like to know your response on this,and what are you doing to change this practice?

    *
    tracey higginbotham, on October 11, 2010 at 6:03 pm Said:

    my daughter has been playing ball in lavergne for 8 years and my son for 5, and those statements are completely untrue. in the eight years i have been going to the lavergne parks, there has been much improvement. not only have the numbers continued to increase, the fields have improved tremendously, and tom has continued to do more and more for all the kids in that league, as well as the city, with the numerous tournaments that are hosted there each year. there are NO unfair teams, and i have seen an increase in teams every year. he gives everyone a chance to play, regardless of circumstances , and goes out of his way to help anyone who needs it. i am not sure what these comments are about, but it is clear that this is a personal attack, because anyone who knows tom, or who has children in this league, knows these allegations are ridiculous! if tom broeker is elected as alderman for lavergne, people will be able to see the positive things he can and will do for the city, just as he has done for lavergne baseball and softball.

    #
    Tom Broeker, on October 11, 2010 at 5:18 pm Said:

    Mr. Mcpherson as has been pointed out to you, very respectfully, on so many occasions your numbers are just wrong. Sir, when, myself, and the current board at LBSA took over we had 218 children participating now we have over 1,000. Of those 1,000 we have children playing from 16 different cities ,including Smyrna. We have, as a board, donated over $200,000 dollars back into LaVergne Parks and Recreation and Veteran’s Memorial Park. Currently our fall league has more participants than ever by over 100. I am not now or never will be in competition with Smyrna or any other municipality to draw their children to La Vergne. You may not like me or the board at LBSA but there is no arguing with the success of our league which benifits the youth of La Vergne. I respect your right to have an opinion however your facts are just wrong and quite honestly I view this as another attempt of yours to smear my name in a public forum and from this point further will not answer your posts or e-mails.

    #
    Master Drill Sargent, on October 11, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Kyle, i have heard the same thing that you have. I have heard how he is unfair and I have friends that have taken three of their children to play in Smyrna as well, so what seems to be the problem, the PARENTS or MR SLINKER?????????????????????

    #
    Master Drill Sargent, on October 11, 2010 at 7:58 pm Said:

    Oops I am sorry I meant to say Mr. Broeker….. guess I had a brainfart! lol

  9. I have coached and been involved with the La Vergne Baseball & Softball Association (LBSA) for over 8 years now and have worked with, and gotten to know Tom Broeker, pretty well. Both of my boys have played or are playing in the league. Each year the league and the facilities have improved. Over the last 3 to 4 years, the spring and fall leagues have averaged over 1,000 kids each season. Mine included. Each of those children have had an equal opportunity to participate in a team sport in safe environment, regardless of their economic background, city of residence, or physical ability. Even special needs children have been given the chance to enjoy the game of baseball and softball. I know because I have coached some of them. All of that made possible by the fine folks at LBSA under the guidance of Tom Broeker. Sure, some parents may choose to switch to Smyrna or Murfreesboro or some other league but at the same time, LBSA has received enrollment FROM those cities as well. Some may have left due to logistics or other reasons and, yes, some may have left because they weren’t happy. LBSA is no different than any company, organization, or even your own family. You can’t please everyone all of the time but must concentrate on the greater good. Assuming that Smyrna has an average enrollment of 1,000 kids, to say that 400 of them left LBSA because they couldn’t stand Tom Broeker or the way the league is ran, is WAY off base (pund intended)! I would like to see those surveys. Some may not always agree with him but I would dare anyone to say they have never had the opportunity to approach Tom with their concerns or suggestions. I have always known him to consider all aspects of a situation before making a decision that he felt would benefit everyone involved. I have NO doubt that Tom Broeker will use the same approach that has made the La Vergne Baseball & Softball Association a success when serving as alderman for the city of La Vergne. You will always have an opportunity to voice your concerns and offer suggestions to help solve the tough issues that face the city in the months and years to come. You can also trust Tom Broeker to make the right decisions that will benefit the greater good for the city of La Vergne. Vote Tom Broeker for alderman!

  10. Moved from another thread:

    Elizabeth
    2010/10/12 at 8:43 pm

    Regarding the baseball in La Vergne, there are several people who work for the city of La Vergne who take their kids to Smyrna for little league baseball….

Leave a Reply

