Depends… or Other Options

Last Friday, the Rutherford County Election Commission came to LaVergne’s polling site at the Civic Auditorium on Old Nashville Highway and changed a long-standing rule.  Candidates and their supporters are no longer allowed inside the building for their … let’s say … private time.   The bathrooms inside have long been available, as long as all campaign items are covered (for example, jackets must be worn over shirts if shirts have a candidate’s name, no buttons, etc.).

With the new rules, the candidates and their fans had two choices:  wear Depends or drive somewhere else (even the port-a-potty is inside the “no campaigning past this line” line).

Realizing that relief was readily available, Mayor Erwin requested that the Box 100 Rehab Units park at the polls because inside each one is … a bathroom!

Therefore if you see one of these vehicles – our knights in yellow armor – rest assured there are no major emergencies (depending on who you ask).  And the armor is yellow because of the paint and for no other reason.

Meanwhile, back in Gotham City at the DNJ, the questionnaires they requested from the candidates were finally returned.  Click here to read but the first question and answers,

Q: Why are you running?

Broeker: I am running for Alderman because this city needs leadership and direction. La Vergne needs a vision for the future and officials that will work hard for all its residents. I will bring this type of leadership to city hall and will work with great passion to solve La Vergne’s existing problems and shape La Vergne into a city we all can take pride in.

Farmer: To be a voice for the citizens of La Vergne and show more transparency in our City Government.

Gammon: I have lived in La Vergne for over 40 years.

Green: I have lived in La Vergne since 1970 and care about my community and it’s growth. In addition, I have always been involved in projects of helping my neighbors, friends, and the general public by presenting their concerns to the City Board.

Smith: I am trying to show if you get involved you can make a difference. This town has gone through a lot of changes over the years and not all bad but not all good either. I would like the opportunity to see if I can make a difference.

Wilson: As a father and former city employee, I want the best for my city and my sons. I have seen a lack of leadership lead to La Vergne not moving forward and maybe even backwards. I say no more excuses the best La Vergne now. We can not continue to accept minimums. We must chose are we going to become more like Smyrna and Mt Juliet or are we going to allow ourself to become a city where no wants to call home?

I also learned the next campaign finance disclosure period is October 1 – October 23.  Those disclosures must be turned in by October 28th.  I will again loosen the strings of my coin purse to get copies and hopefully this round, all of the candidates will be completely forthcoming.

9 Responses

  1. Okay, I am not one to nitpick grammar and spelling unless asked. But, if I knew my words would be published in ANY public manner, I would have someone double check and triple check my writing so I present myself in the best manner…especially if I am running for public office. Please note, I am not picking on any particular person, but it does say something to me about a candidate if they do not grammar and spell-check their submission. (The above opinion is based on the entire DNJ article, not just the excerpt above.)

    • I noticed the same thing and just shook my head. Things like that are enough to dissuade me from voting for someone!

  2. After reading the DNJ article and the comments from the Aldermen, I want to add a few things to this:

    1.

  3. After reading the DNJ article and the comments from the Aldermen, I want to add a few things to this:

    1. Someone stated something about having a Grants Coordinator so we don’t lose grant money. We DO have a Grants Coordinator and she is located in the City Hall.

    2. Another one stated sales tax and property taxes are the major revenue sources for the city. What about the revenue from the water payments….that is a BIG revenue. Not all monies are collected.in a timely manner though. While I was working in that department and beginning in 2007, I started ON MY OWN the process of checking each person(s) name as they come in for new service on the computer for delinquent monies (written off or otherwise) and found and collected many thousands of dollars that was outstanding. (This was not done in the past.) But should be continued after I left, but probably wasn’t.

    3. This last comment is a continuation to the 2nd one…water department billing fiasco must be addressed before the city is bankrupt. If I were running for office for the City of La Vergne, this would be ONE of the departments that I would clean up immediately. This is where alot of money is lost.

    That’s my 2 cents for now….

    • Elizabeth,

      Yes, water billing collects a lot of money, but those funds cannot be used for anything except for things in the water and sewer fund. You can’t pay for police officers or firefighters with water money. That’s why the main focus is on property taxes and sales taxes.

      Due to the increase in sewer fees from Metro, I expect the sewer rates to go up too. You can’t keep paying out more than you take in and expect to survive. The state has already warned the city about the water and sewer fund being in the red for the last year or two. With the way things are currently being operated, the state could come in and force the city to increase the rates to cover the expenses. Thank you for collecting those funds that were never collected and written off. I hope they are continuing that same policy, but I doubt it.

      Okay – I’ve double and triple checked this posting – I don’t think I’ve slighted anyone in anyway, so please don’t rape me for this post. ;-) I’m a little gun shy! If I have offended anyone by what I have asked or said in the past – Get over it! LOL

      • BLAH BLAH,

        You didnt offend anyone with your comment. Elizabeth is telling exactly what is going on with the dept and there is so much more that can be said but without documentaion to back it up she is keeeping her mouth shut so she doesnt get sued for slander. There is a much bigger problem with the dept and it will fixed out after the election.

        There is money being spent on payroll for people that need to get off of the cell phones and start doing their jobs. I consider that stealing from your employer. If your not working but playing and getting paid then your stealing.

        This election is going to bring a new direction for the city and things are going to be better for all.

        Senna 2010

  4. All the spelling and grammar issues are bothering me, too. Some of the time I can’t even figure out what it is they are actually trying to say.

    Where are Kandy’s answers? I thought I read on her Facebook that she had filled this out.

    • I did fill these out and sent them in on time and was later contacted (late on 15th) that he needed it in another format to open, but he went to print before I could resend in 3 other ways. I will copy and paste my answers to my Kandy Pierce Alderman Candidate face book page for all interested.

  5. Ok Alderman election person named Sherry Green I’m upset. You have your rally with food & meeting you but to advertise it you don’t mail a flyer, no! You hit my entire subdivision with tapped flyers to mailboxes. Three of my neighbors have had paint taken off their mailboxes with this cheap & rude advertising method. You will be remembered during the election just not the way you want to be.

    Sorry for being a bit hot but eh that’s me right now. Please continue with your regular broadcast

Leave a Reply

