LaVergne Chooses New Mayor

In an historic election for the city, LaVergne citizens today voted on who will lead them and represent them in the city.

From the Rutherford County Election Commission, here are the official results (and our congratulations):

Mayor

Ronnie Erwin  1777
Senna Mosley  2364
Mike Slinker  1606
Write-In   11

Alderman

Tom Broeker  1642
Chris Farmer  1915
David Gammon  1555
Sherry Green 2517
Kandy Pierce  1131
Teresa Bess Smith  422
Earl Wilson  377
Write In (Total)  36

One interesting thing to note is that as Ms. Mosley is now Mayor-Elect, her seat as Alderman will now become vacant.  The question that begs to be answered is:  Will there be a special election to fill the seat.  This seems like a waste of taxpayer money since the elections were just held.  Therefore, will the seat go to the third highest vote-getter?

The new mayor and board members will be sworn in on November 18th.  It will surely be an interesting agenda the city will now be looking at under a new administration.  Talking with Mayor-Elect Mosley, I think accountability and transparency are going to be the cornerstones of her administration.

Meanwhile, congratulations to all the candidates for their hard work these last few months.  Many thanks to Mayor Ronnie Erwin for his service through the years, as well as Vice Mayor Jerry Gann who did not seek re-election.

27 Responses

  1. I am actually weeping…

  2. im weeping for joy,,,,

  3. I’m sure nothing will change in the results, but they are not official until certified by the election commission.

    There will not be a special election, the city council will appoint someone to take mosely’s place. They don’t have to go with the 3rd highest vote getter, they could appoint anyone who is qualified to be a council member. I would be shocked if they did not appoint #3.

  4. btw – I meant to say congrats to Mosely, Green and Farmer.

  5. I agree blah blah, I don’t see how there could be any other fair way to do the 3rd seat but to put in the next highest vote.

  6. Based upon the total vote tallies for the Mayoral and Alderman races, it is interesting how more people voted in the Alderman race than the Mayoral.

    It would be interesting to know why some considered one more important than the other. Maybe those people didn’t like anyone running in the Mayoral race.

    Congratulations to Senna Mosley, Sherry Green, and Chris Farmer for their victories.

  7. I am sooooo HAPPY for Senna. I know that she will turn the city around and make things so much better for all. It will take time which we all have to wait some for the city didnt get like this overnight. This has sent out the message that people are tired of the same ole stuff!

    WAY TO GO MRS MOSLEY!!

  8. It was a great day for this city. The people of Lavergne have spoken loud and clear. Congratulations again to all of our winners.

  9. Might I ask, what made this election”historic?” Was this the first time in La Vergne history that an incumbent mayor lost a bid for re-election?

  10. Congratulations, Senna! So proud of your hard work & dedication to your city. “Good ‘Ol Boys”, there’s a new MAYOR in town . . .

  11. Congrats to all the winners . . . now remember all the folks on this blog that supported you. :)

    I know it won’t happen overnight, but I can’t wait to see some long-standing issues resolved and progress made!

  12. It becomes historic because of what happens to the board at this point. With an alderman seat vacated due to election as mayor, as I understand it, there is no bylaw that states how to fill a seat in that event. However, the bylaw does state that should someone step down, the mayor will appoint with board approval a replacement. (*I think*) So does the city go with just appointing anyone mamby-pamby or do they appoint based on the vote of the people.

    Again, that’s how I understand it… let me know if your views are different.

    • First, thanks to michaelinLV for pointing out that there is nothing of historical significance about this local election. Next, as to the vacant seat, it does not matter what anyone ‘thinks’ of how to fill it, this is a question answered not by the DNJ, but by the city charter [ which is noticably absent from the LaVergne.org website ].

  13. Probably a dumb question, but I can’t find an answer anywhere. How is the vice mayor chosen?!

  14. The board members elect the vice mayor.

  15. WOW…what a victory for La Vergne!!!

    Congratulations to all the winners, especially Senna and Chris. I, too, am very proud to let people know I live in LA VERGNE. I know it will take time to turn this city around but girl, you can do it. Many of us in the city are behind you and will help anyway we can….just call us.

  16. All elections are historic, by definition. It becomes part of the history of the town (state, country).

  17. Congratz to the winners. Hopefully, La Vergne can be taken to the next level in growth

  18. No new posts from “Mayor-Elect Senna Mosley?” Now that you’re big time, don’t forget us little people :)

    And if I haven’t said it, congrats on the win. I am excited about the change in the national landscape, but what’s most important is our home town and I feel like this election is the first step in forging together new-LV and old-LV.

  19. Sorry friends, I have been very busy on the phone(s) the last several days. Don’t worry I will never forget the people that believed enough in me to put me in as Mayor. Thanks to all of you for your help and support during this election. The ones of you that have gotten to know me realize I am here to work for you. I hope that every citizen of La Vergne will take the time to know me even if they do not like me I am here for all of us. Thank you for giving me this opportunity to serve you and I will continue to email, write on this site, answer my phone calls, and come out when asked to inverstigate situations;however, PLEASE give me reasonable time to get back with you as I have 3 phones and 2 emails to cover. My husband has been wonderful in helping anwer phones while I am on one of the 3. MichaelinLv go easy on me the first month!!!!!!!!

  20. Ms. Mayor, I will bring your campaign sign back to your house, unless you need me to hang on to it…

    Congrats and best wishes!!!

    Cricket

Leave a Reply

