Petey Wants a Lemon Cookie

On Sunday, an interesting call came in to the city.  A lost parrot was sitting in a tree.  The tropical bird had been loose for three days in some bone-chilling winter temperatures, so it needed help.  LaVergne police officer J.B. Kilmon was dispatched to the scene and soon Vice Mayor Chris Farmer and Nashville firefighter Ronnie Mosley (the mayor’s husband) joined him.  And then a tree service came to help.

There was blood.

During the efforts to capture the elusive bird, both Mosley and Farmer were injured.   However, even after the bird drew first blood in the fracas (name him Rambo, I say!), he found a champion in the vice mayor.  He and his wife took the green-feathered military macaw – a breed that is usually even tempered, but can also be difficult and cranky – to the veterinarian.  The poor thing need some TLC after its trauma and who better than an EMT?

After neighbors investigated, they found Petey’s owner.  She had already planned to give the 10-year old up for adoption, so graciously said the vice mayor could keep him.

So what do we know about Petey Farmer?  His favorite snack is a lemon cookie (where he eats the filling first).  He loves hot showers and then being blow-dried.  He does know some dirty words.  He loves dogs.  And he will try not to bite his Papa anymore.

Congratulations to the Farmer household on heir newest addition!

29 Responses

  1. It seems Perry is more popular than me. He has someone coming by about everynight to see him. Perry is very inquisitive and learns howbto open any cage very quick…..but we have already grown to love him!

  2. He’s beautiful, but I know they can be ornery at times. So glad he’s found a good home! :)

  3. So is Petey now called Perry?? Inquiring minds want to know!

  4. What a wonderful story for Petey & the Vice Mayor’s family.. Looks like a blessing to me, they had been planning on getting a baby bird in a few weeks.. Looks like Petey had a guardian angel..I think Petey should be the new mascot for the new direction LaVergne is trying to take :)

  5. “So what do we know about Petey Farmer? His favorite snack is a lemon cookie (where he eats the filling first). He loves hot showers and then being blow-dried. He does know some dirty words. He loves dogs. And he will try not to bite his Papa anymore.”

    What do we know? He will fit right into Captian Bligh.. I mean Chris’s house!! >:) Congrats!

  6. No its Petey… predictive text on my phone and didn’t pay attention to it… sorry

  7. Oh dear, I hope no one injured a finger!

  8. Congrats to the Farmer family! Petey, remember not to fight to first blood with your new family anymore… they have the thumbs that get the lemon cookies.

  9. Actually he got the palm of my hand. I watch those fingers!

  10. Large Bird Wanted- 3 years experience with big birds & own a huge macaw cage. (just need to fill it with bird)..
    I hope I catch a bird with this…. Chris is so lucky!!!!

  11. Who’da thunk it Petey loves to eat chicken…..Does anyone else see the irony here??

    • LOL…of course, And I will bet you one macaw egg that Petey likes eggs too!!
      They will eat just about any human food, it is best ot to feed them greasy foods…..Just an occasional piece of bacon as a special treat. :)

  12. He did have eggs for breakfast and a small piece of porkchop for dinner. I guess we are gonna have to get him a platebof his own. Lol

  13. Why would the Vice Mayor and the Mayors husband show up on a police call? Do they carry scanners? If so, who pays for them and why? If they are not emergency personnel for the city, why are they showing up? I am all for community involvement, but this seems like a little too much. If they get hurt while on a call that they should not be at, who pays? I know that they are a part of Box 100, but Box is really no different than the rescue squad; support staff not emergency response.
    Blast away but these are logical questions…

    • Well, what gender are you.
      I am a male and go with my wife on some of these calls.
      That is the only way that I get to spend time with her when she is out working.
      By the way she works all time.
      IF you are male, why wouldn’t you want to hang out with your wife, and if you are female, why wouldn’t you want to hang out your husband?
      No, I do not carry a radio or a pager I only carry a 9mm.
      And by the way, yes we have carry permits.
      If I get hurt its my ass, I pay my own insurance.
      You don’t sound like the volunteering type.
      You sound like the kind to sit back in your chair and bitch type.
      La Vergne Rescue is an emergency response unit.
      Box 100 is support staff for Rescue, Fire, Police Public Works, Parks and any other department in the city that might need us. They call and Box 100 will come.

      • I have nothing to do with this argument whatsoever, but I’d like to make sure everyone knows I’m a “sit back in my chair and bitch” type. Or maybe it’s “sit back in my chair and be a bitch” type. One or the other.

  14. Why….. Very good question. For starters I work for the ambulance service. Which was called to stand by because someone was going to climb a tree and wanted us there for safety. Now yes I do have a radio not a scanner. I am the paramedic for the cities Haz mat team. Voluntarily which was before I was elected. Next I am over Local Emergency Planning committee which means when there are any emergencies in the city I am usually there. Also the previous mayor and vice mayor had radios they just never used them. So this was all something that happened by previous board members. Trust me having a radio going twenty four hours a day seven days a week is not the most glorious thing. Subsequently I have friends who lived where the bird was and knew I was waiting on mine to be hatched so they called to see if I knew what to do with it.

  15. Just fyi: rescue squad is completely different from Box 100. La Vergne Rescue is an emergency service NOT a support staff.

  16. Actually the previous Mayor and Vice Mayor did carry their radio. Especially during the floods and were out assisting were they could. Additionally the pervious mayor did offer assistance over the radio several times to many of the employees that carry radios. He just knew how to stand to stand back and let the employees do their jobs. And while on the topic, why does the mayor’s husband always seem to be a City Hall? The few times I have walked in and he has been outside. He always seems to be saying something that needs to be done – does this give the correct appearance? It’s almost like he is the one giving orders. He not on the City payroll is he?

    • As I sit here and read, I become very amused. The current Mayor is working very hard to clean up this city and city hall. If you actually were in city hall, you would know that it was filthy. Not a very good impression. First impressions are everything!! I have cleaned carpets, cleaned furniture, cleaned outside of building, washed windows, moved furniture , cleaned up storage rooms, spread salt, cleaned snow off sidewalks. Do I need to go on. I do this because I love my city and am willing to do my part and NO I do not get paid, but Senna and I are use to not getting paid for our volunteer service!!! Yes, the former council members had radios, but did not have a clue about incident command nor how to run a command post. During the flood, command was giving out assignments and the former mayor and vice-mayor and city administrator were changing them. Clueless is a good word to use here. I have never told anybody what to do at city hall I just do it myself. Maybe, you should volunteer your services more often and see what really goes on before you sit here and condemn people for what they do. And just for the record, I am taking up for me here , not Senna. She is perfectly capable of taking up for herself and PERFECT:Y capable of running a city or command center. For your information Senna was and still is the only elected official with IS 300 and IS 400, which is advanced IC command. I stay at city hall because I want to be a part of all the positive changes taking place. If you think you see me a lot now wait until the weather changes. La Vergne is going to be cleaned up so that folks are once again proud to say I live in La Vergne. City Hall is just the start of the change in and around La Vergne. If you don’t want to help clean, stay out of our way.

  17. John I think I have justified enough already. When you have a good board who is willing to work as we are you are going to catch some flack. When you have some complaints that are truly valid I will answer them, but as far as having a radio and why I helped catch and rescue a very expensive exotic bird I do not feel that needs to be justified any further.

  18. I just want to know how such a beautiful story about the rescue of one of God’s creatures is something that can be considered wrong in any way… Knowing Ronnie Mosley & Chris Farmer to be the caring human beings that they are, I cannot imagine either one not giving a helping hand. They would have done this whether on a personal level or professional level.. I think it is a fabulous reflection on what LaVergne is becoming.. A small town where neighbors help neighbors… I am very familiar with tropical birds & this bird (Petey) was very fortunate to have survived the freezing temperatures…
    As for the mayor’s husband being at City Hall, that is a public bldg. & there is a lot of work that needs to be done there & the people of the city should be grateful for all the volunteers.. As far as any citizen being involved in the goings on at City Hall, please remember that even the city government is of the people, for the people, & by the people.. The old administration frowned upon citizen involvement, be grateful this is changing…
    And by the way, when I had a terrible kitchen fire in 2006, the fire dept. responded very quickly to save my house & leave it livable.. It was on a weekend & I was devastated by the mess the fire & smoke made…It wasn’t more than a matter of minutes before Senna Mosley & Ronnie Mosley showed up at my house with work clothes & cleaning supplies & started to work…Out of the goodness of their hearts..They stayed most all night & made my home livable again.. How many people would do that on their weekend off?
    So wake up LaVergne…You finally have people running the city that care to make a positive difference.. Show your support & reap the benefits..
    And again, Thank you guys for saving Petey!!!

  19. I agree, Debbie. The changes are positive — for a change!

  20. Thank you Debbie but that is what friends and neighbors do. You and Cee Dee would have done the same for anyone.

  21. Don’t look now, but Debbie Heughan is back! Rally at City Hall!

    That’s my only comment, I’m not touching the other comments with a 10 foot pole.

    • LOL, Don’t look to hard, I am not back yet..Still recovering, but I am anxious to come back to my home in LaVergne.. I am a little older & wiser, but still have a blond sense of humor… Do we still need a rally at city hall, didn’t the last one work just fine. Seems like it did:) Hope o see you son.

  22. La vergne is going to get back to the small town way of living and people helping each other when needed….this John is upset I guess but when things are changing there will be those that don’t like change or they will do them darndest to fight something new. I myself is very happy with the positive things already going on in my neightbor town. Kepp up the GREAT WORK Senna, Kathy, and all employees that wortk hard everyday in the city! You all will make a huge difference if everyone works together!!

Leave a Reply

