Good Morning, LaV! (Snowpocalypse edition, 2/7/2011)

Clearly it’s another slow news day. I’m still waiting on you guys to make some news up for me. Well, let’s see what’s happening around the mid-state.

Electric bills are higher because it’s been colder lately. In other news, water is wet, and bears poo in the woods. On a more serious note, I’m kinda tired of NES raising my rates. I’d quit and go somewhere cheaper, but yeah. I can’t. I suppose I could get some of these dogs around my house to start running on treadmills to power the place. Hmm.

Some guy jumped out of a moving car while it was driving on the I-24 near the Davidson/Rutherford County line. Sadly, it killed him. I’d make some smart-alecky comment about being shocked traffic was actually moving that fast on 24, but since the guy died, I won’t.

Schools are closing early in other counties because of the impending snow, which nobody can decide if it’s going to actually be serious or not. Who cares. I’m having chili and cornbread at Chez Ivy tonight. Dinner will be served at 6.

Alright, LaVergne, it’s your turn. What’s on your mind today? Are you tired of the snow? Have a good chili recipe? (I do!) Let’s hear it!

Edited to add: Oh yeah, here’s something that’s on my mind. I’m irritated that the trash dumps are closed on Mondays. I’m off on Mondays. That would be a good day to take my trash to the dump. Yeah, I know, the dump workers deserve some days off, but do ALL the dumps in Rutherford County have to be closed Mondays? I’d drive to Smyrna to haul trash if they were open there. Grr.

8 Responses

  1. What’s on my mind? My Steelers played badly and lost.. I am sad. Today is my Tuesday at work.. I am sad…lol I’ve been teaching a class about weather for the past couple of weeks and I have students that are interested and wanting to learn so that makes me very happy. That’s about all I got :)

    • That’s cool about your class! I have an uncle who is a weather aficionado so I’ve become a bit of a weather geek by default. Sorry to hear your Steelers lost. I forgot all about the Super Bowl until this morning when everyone on Facebook was talking about it, heh.

    • yes my team lost in the Super Bowl too….but when you have alot of turnovers, you can’t expect to come out the winner….well there is always next year…just saying

  2. On MY mind is my Pack winning last night (sorry Richard) and spending a ridiculous amount of money on Super Bowl XLV paraphernalia.

    Also hoping that we’re in school on Friday because of the LLE Daddy-Daughter dance and my daughter is soooo excited.

    But I’m a cold-weather fan so I love the snow. Fact is, it’s winter. So regardless of what that groundhog said it’s not going to be spring until March. Why not enjoy some snow until then :-) And, to be totally honest, I have friends in Milwaukee that have 3 feet of snow. THREE FEET. Now THAT is snow.

  3. Hey Richard, what is the snow scenario really looking like this week? I am a tad worried about our salt supplies if we get what I am hearing.

    • As things stand so far, there is a low pressure center in the utah area that will come south east. The big question is how far south it comes. The last model run (This morning) puts it out in the Gulf of Mexico farther then was previously thought. If this hold true then we are looking at about 1-2″ starting Wednesday night and Thursday morning. If the storm is farther north by 50 miles or so we get another inch so we need to see what the exact track will be. The storm hitting clarksville area right now is moving northeast and shouldn’t affect us much. Mabye an inch today but like I said the roads are warm so betting on more rain and not much snow on the roads tonight. I’m keeping the box 100 weather blog (address above) up to date so feel free to check in. Also, if the green light is on you can chat directly with me if you need anything.

Leave a Reply

